We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay at the Paramount”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay at the Paramount”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I traveled by train with 10 lady friends and had the good fortune of staying at the Paramount Hotel. It is located downtown within a block or two from Nordstrom's and other stores and restaurants. We could easily walk to the river and access public transportation to anywhere we wished to go. It is only a couple of blocks from the Portland Art Museum which was featuring the Art and Music of Venice. The hotel rooms are clean, spacious, and well-appointed. Special recognition must go to the friendly and hard-working concierges. Ed was able to get last minute reservations for our large group at excellent restaurants (Southpark Seafood and Andina's). Chris went out of his way to deliver a camera to the train station after a member of our group left it behind at the hotel. The staff at the Paramount really aims to please.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: It's Portland...they are all about the environment!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanI297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Susan1297, thank you for your review and for recognizing our great staff – both Chris & Ed are fine examples! It was a pleasure having your group stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    374
    68
    32
    11
See reviews for
202
472
61
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The price was reasonable for being in downtown. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Check in and out was quick. Adequate staff. Premises, just nice. Restaurant closes for remodel, but room service bkfst. available.

Green Features: Happy to see separate cans for trash or recylables. Option of using towels and less bottles to throw away.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freckles1339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed two nights this past weekend. Chose the hotel due to others comments on trip advisor Great location, large room , clean and very friendly front desk. Very convenient parking garage across the street with big savings on valet parking. Would definitely stay again! Very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Callaway14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review Callaway14! Hope to have you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is my general review of the Paramount Hotel:

Location: At less than a half a mile from the river and just steps from the stree-train stops, restaurants, shops, cultural venues, the fabulous Powell Books, etc., I don't think our location could have been anymore strategically located for convenience.

Price: During the time we booked our stay, they were advertising a special rate. At the time it was very good; however, their normal prices are higher than comfortable paying. However, the location, the beautiful rooms, and the view really made up for the price.

Amenities: The hotel came equipped with a small library for reading, which we didn't really use. The rooms were very nice, bed was incredibly comfortable, and the windows (corner room) let gobs of sunshine in and made the view of downtown Portland quite spectacular.

Overall, a great place to sleep and centrally located in fabulous downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room, it seems a bit larger and has more windows with more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Kcaltman, thank you for your thorough review! It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wonderful location, excellent hotel staff who made you feel welcome from beginning to end. Quiet and easy to get around the town with the metro or to go shopping or the art museum. I will recommend this hotel to others planning to travel to Portland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Janeen K, thank you for the great review and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The best feature about this hotel is it's location. It is in a very centrally located part of Portland and certainly a safe and walk-able part of town. There are multiple light rail stations a couple of blocks away which was great for me since I do not drive. It wasn't a bad walk to the Riverfront Park, Chinatown or other parts of town either. My room was clean and nice. On the negative however, the shower water was either really hot or really cold, there is no microwave, oven, plates, or silverware provided, and the refrigerator provided is tiny. Other negatives are the ice machines and vending machines are not located on every floor of the hotel. When I ordered delivery, 2 of the 3 times I had to go down to the lobby to get my food rather than getting it delivered to my room. I couldn't sleep that well. I'm still unsure if it was due to the noise other hotel guests were making or the bed not being that comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipknot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel personnel were all very helpful, friendly and competent. They helped use directions, getting a cab and restaurant recommendations. Great location--basically in the Pearl District an and a short cab ride to the cool neighborhoods across the river. Walking distance to Powell's book store, galleries and art spaces. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing