We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paramount Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$112
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$172
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$216
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$236
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sentinel(Portland)
US$402
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier(Portland)
US$354
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$348
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
767
401
80
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
401
80
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirector parkdirector's parkgreat locationwhiskey barjetted tubthe portland art museumcorner roomwithin walking distancevalet parkingpioneer squarelight railfarmers marketmovie theatertwo blocksthe hotel staffdowntown locationthe pearl
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We celebrate my birthday and wedding anniversary (day after my BDay) every year outside of our home town. Instead of travelling by plane we decided to load up our RAV (Recreational Assault Vehicle) and mosey down to Portland OR from Seattle with our mountain bikes on rack.
My wife ran the Portland marathon last year, saw the Paramount and thought it was cute. She was right.
The Paramount was very well appointed and we had a corner room (highly recommended) with a jetted tub for $170.00 a night. Some may think this rate is high, but given this location in downtown at the edge of the Pearl District, it can't be beat.
The hotel was totally OK with us lugging our bikes through the lobby and storing them in our room. While the $31 a night parking was steep, the in and out privileges (with our bikes in tow) was well worth it.
Note to everyone: I headed out one evening to buy a bottle of wine. The Bell captain directed me to the Safeway which was 4 blocks away. It was raining very hard and the 4 block trek was out of the question. One block away is the 10th Ave. Liquor store between Taylor and Salmon...They sell wine.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking the plaza is well worth the upgrade
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLeinSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Been traveling forty years and all over the world. Stayed in hundreds of hotels. This is not a five, not even a four star hotel. Overpriced for what you get.

It has three plusses: downtown location, good bed and quiet floors.

Negatives: expensive parking, weak room amenities, ridiculously bad fitness center (which was closed for renovations all but one day were there. Took hot water about 4 minutes to heat to full temp in shower and the bathroom shampoo and shower gel smell like lemon Pledge. Seriously. They sucked! Ice machines on every 3rd floor so you may have to travel for ice. Major downside: no breakfast option in hotel and old school coffee machine, not a Keurig. Worst amenity or lack thereof, NO ROOM SAFE.

Paying 200+ per night and another 30 to park, the amenities were embarrassing. Probably would not stay here again because of it.

Lobby personnel were quite friendly however.

No way was this the 14th best hotel in Portland...no way.

Room Tip: anything above the 6th floor costs more.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimmJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I traveled by train with 10 lady friends and had the good fortune of staying at the Paramount Hotel. It is located downtown within a block or two from Nordstrom's and other stores and restaurants. We could easily walk to the river and access public transportation to anywhere we wished to go. It is only a couple of blocks from the Portland Art Museum which was featuring the Art and Music of Venice. The hotel rooms are clean, spacious, and well-appointed. Special recognition must go to the friendly and hard-working concierges. Ed was able to get last minute reservations for our large group at excellent restaurants (Southpark Seafood and Andina's). Chris went out of his way to deliver a camera to the train station after a member of our group left it behind at the hotel. The staff at the Paramount really aims to please.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanI297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Susan1297, thank you for your review and for recognizing our great staff – both Chris & Ed are fine examples! It was a pleasure having your group stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The price was reasonable for being in downtown. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Check in and out was quick. Adequate staff. Premises, just nice. Restaurant closes for remodel, but room service bkfst. available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freckles1339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed two nights this past weekend. Chose the hotel due to others comments on trip advisor Great location, large room , clean and very friendly front desk. Very convenient parking garage across the street with big savings on valet parking. Would definitely stay again! Very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callaway14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review Callaway14! Hope to have you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews