We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous concierge”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a pretty, centrally located, and nicely furnished hotel with pleasant customer service. The restaurant was closed and there is no on site parking. Maid service was dreadful -- our maid left our used coffee pod in the pot, which wrecked our tea, failed to refill the coffee supply, took away all our cups, and took our soap without leaving any new. But all was redeemed by the amazing, incredible Ed, the concierge. Don't miss talking to him about restaurants and things to do -- he knows Portland backwards and is a restaurant whisperer who will make your meals transcendental.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bearwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice The Paramount Hotel was. It isn't managed by a big chain, but still offers all the elegance and amenities you would enjoy at one, only with super Oregon-friendly and personable staff, from the kind folks at the reception desk to the happy doorman. Upon our arrival we were told we'd been upgraded to a corner room on the 11th floor, as I had hoped for, with windows on two sides which looked out over Pioneer Square/Director Park, and beyond to a beautiful city-scape. It was outfitted in tasteful contemporary decor, and was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Since their restaurant was being renovated when we were there (the end of April 2014) we can't comment on that. Our first day it took quite a while for the shower water to get hot, but after that there was never a problem, so maybe it had simply been a while since it had been used.
The lobby is elegant and artistically decorated. The concierge was very helpful in getting us a rental car, as we had to continue south where we had friends and relatives to visit. We love to walk so never did take the MAX light rail, but it was nearby. You can't ask for a better location with shops, restaurants, concert halls and museums all either right there or a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. You may just get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and our trip started in Portland. We chose Paramount after seeing the reviews on here and were NOT disappointed. Our flight got in around 10:30 and the hotel accommodated our early arrival, something I wasn't expecting. I made a request through my booking for a room on an upper floor and we received exactly that, a nice room on the 14th floor. Throughout our stay we asked the front desk several questions on transportion and places to eat and they were more then helpful and polite. We even had a small note saying "Happy First Anniversary" and box of chocolates placed in our room while we stepped out during our first day. We really appreciated that.

A hotel that pays attention to detail and provides great service, yes please! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the upper floors, it will drown out any street noise. Excellent view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for the great review and happy to see that we were able to get you into your room in the morning. Love to have you back for your second Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We're just wrapping up a 3 night stay at this wonderful centrally located hotel. Staff has been so warm and friendly, recommending a great open late frozen yogurt place on the first night and places to watch the basketball playoffs last night. All recommendations have been perfect. The hotel is super comfortable with well appointed large rooms, many with great views. There is free wifi throughout. Prices are competitive, but this is a high value for the money. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnelson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

bnelson88, thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have always had decent service and enjoyed the rooms. This time, however, was quite different. We arrived a few hours before check-in, which has never been a problem and the staff seemed put off that we were there early. The front desk girl did not help us check in or give us a status of the room, the valet was missing in action, the bellman was not available to take our bags, so we were left wondering "do we just drive around for a couple hours and wait? Or….???" After about 10 minutes, the valet returned from lunch and we had to ask him to take our car and get the bellman to help with our bags. I called the hotel two hours later to check the status of our room and the girl at the front desk still said the maids hadn't gotten to it yet. Finally at 4pm, check-in time, I called and the girl said "Oh look at that! Your room just became available!" Shocking….

Anyway, the staff was ridiculous during that time. When we did go back to get our room, the bellman, Ed, was working and he was great. Literally the only good employee at the entire hotel, so if you do end up staying here, make sure to deal with him exclusively as he helped with our bags, got me more pillows and a different comforter and offered to set up any reservations we needed.

I emailed the manager of the hotel about this experience and his response was that I should've called the hotel when we were about an hour away to let them know we were coming. Is that a joke? Even if we did, we had to wait almost 4 hours for our room to be ready, so it wouldn't have made a difference. How about you work with your staff and if your hotel is booked for the weekend, hire more staff so rooms can be cleaned quickly and you won't lose loyal customers?

Needless to say, I won't ever stay here again or recommend this hotel. It's a total joke. If you are traveling to Portland and want somewhere nice to stay with great staff and nice rooms, stay at The Heathman a couple blocks over.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Not much to say on the location that hasn't already been said. It is a great location and easy to get around the central part of Portland on foot. The light rail is just a block up so getting to further parts is easy and inexpensive. The hotel itself is very clean and nicely decorated similar to other nice hotels no surprises good or bad. What stands out for us is their service. Always a smile and ready to answer questions, give directions, and suggestions for places to eat. We have stayed there several times and will gladly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park. They have rooms with balconies facing the park and rooms without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed in Portland for my annual shopping, PAM, foodie birthday weekend. Got a corner room and valet service at a good price because the Hotel donated the stay to a local school for a silent auction. I appreciate their philanthropy. Very friendly service at the front desk and we were able to check in early which was unexpected and appreciated. Room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable and loved the 2 windows and great views in 2 directions. There were a couple of minor fixes needed in the bathroom but it didn't take away from my relaxing soak in the jetted tub. Was surprised we couldn't check out from the TV. Location was the best! Close to PAM (Portland Art Museum), the Schnitz, downtown shopping, lots of restaurants (Ringside Fish House!!). Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I liked my corner room...more light and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 144 in Portland
2,201 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,441 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £114 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing