We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for value in downtown Portland?”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Looking for value in downtown Portland?”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I am in Portland about 6-10 times a year on business and I have stayed at all of the better downtown boutique Hotels except the large national chains - which I avoid everywhere I go.

My favorite has always been The Hotel deLuxe! But, I recently discovered The Paramount Hotel Portland and while it's not "quite" as cool as the deLuxe it is a significant value and it is better located. Service is excellent, especially the doorman Ed who recommended the South Park restaurant - I'll review that in a minute! They also have an attractive and attentive young lady door person/valet...something much needed in this lively and liberal town. I actually, suggested it to the Hotel Monaco management a year ago...they've not acted on my idea.

So, I don't think you can go wrong with any of my favoites, the Nines to the the Vintage - but, you'll love the price point and location of the Paramount. Try it!

Room Tip: I like the corner rooms facing south the rooms facing north offer entertaining viewing of the Park a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuretyPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you Rich C! True, we aren’t the coolest hotel around, but we got over that years ago. We prefer to be known for value and location, so you nailed it. Hope to welcome you back again for one of your future trips.

Safe travels -
Norm Hwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    383
    70
    33
    12
See reviews for
212
497
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The staff was really incredible. Every time we had a question or request they went above and beyond to try to accommodate us, instead of just trying to pass us off or take the easy way out. This was the case from the time we checked in trough to after we checked out, including a personal email from the manager to follow up on a specific request we had. Very impressed and we will definitely stay here again.

Green Features: We were visiting from Florida and it was just refreshing to see the environmental awareness the Paramount practices. I think this is pretty wide-spread in Portland, but good to see first hand and good to see the Paramount is front and center with it.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPAtoPDX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
TPAtoPDX2014, thank you for your review and recognizing our incredible staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty, centrally located, and nicely furnished hotel with pleasant customer service. The restaurant was closed and there is no on site parking. Maid service was dreadful -- our maid left our used coffee pod in the pot, which wrecked our tea, failed to refill the coffee supply, took away all our cups, and took our soap without leaving any new. But all was redeemed by the amazing, incredible Ed, the concierge. Don't miss talking to him about restaurants and things to do -- he knows Portland backwards and is a restaurant whisperer who will make your meals transcendental.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bearwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice The Paramount Hotel was. It isn't managed by a big chain, but still offers all the elegance and amenities you would enjoy at one, only with super Oregon-friendly and personable staff, from the kind folks at the reception desk to the happy doorman. Upon our arrival we were told we'd been upgraded to a corner room on the 11th floor, as I had hoped for, with windows on two sides which looked out over Pioneer Square/Director Park, and beyond to a beautiful city-scape. It was outfitted in tasteful contemporary decor, and was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Since their restaurant was being renovated when we were there (the end of April 2014) we can't comment on that. Our first day it took quite a while for the shower water to get hot, but after that there was never a problem, so maybe it had simply been a while since it had been used.
The lobby is elegant and artistically decorated. The concierge was very helpful in getting us a rental car, as we had to continue south where we had friends and relatives to visit. We love to walk so never did take the MAX light rail, but it was nearby. You can't ask for a better location with shops, restaurants, concert halls and museums all either right there or a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. You may just get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and our trip started in Portland. We chose Paramount after seeing the reviews on here and were NOT disappointed. Our flight got in around 10:30 and the hotel accommodated our early arrival, something I wasn't expecting. I made a request through my booking for a room on an upper floor and we received exactly that, a nice room on the 14th floor. Throughout our stay we asked the front desk several questions on transportion and places to eat and they were more then helpful and polite. We even had a small note saying "Happy First Anniversary" and box of chocolates placed in our room while we stepped out during our first day. We really appreciated that.

A hotel that pays attention to detail and provides great service, yes please! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the upper floors, it will drown out any street noise. Excellent view, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the great review and happy to see that we were able to get you into your room in the morning. Love to have you back for your second Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We're just wrapping up a 3 night stay at this wonderful centrally located hotel. Staff has been so warm and friendly, recommending a great open late frozen yogurt place on the first night and places to watch the basketball playoffs last night. All recommendations have been perfect. The hotel is super comfortable with well appointed large rooms, many with great views. There is free wifi throughout. Prices are competitive, but this is a high value for the money. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciated all of the little touches designed towards efficiency. Portland is a city that cares, and the Paramount is no exception.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnelson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
bnelson88, thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have always had decent service and enjoyed the rooms. This time, however, was quite different. We arrived a few hours before check-in, which has never been a problem and the staff seemed put off that we were there early. The front desk girl did not help us check in or give us a status of the room, the valet was missing in action, the bellman was not available to take our bags, so we were left wondering "do we just drive around for a couple hours and wait? Or….???" After about 10 minutes, the valet returned from lunch and we had to ask him to take our car and get the bellman to help with our bags. I called the hotel two hours later to check the status of our room and the girl at the front desk still said the maids hadn't gotten to it yet. Finally at 4pm, check-in time, I called and the girl said "Oh look at that! Your room just became available!" Shocking….

Anyway, the staff was ridiculous during that time. When we did go back to get our room, the bellman, Ed, was working and he was great. Literally the only good employee at the entire hotel, so if you do end up staying here, make sure to deal with him exclusively as he helped with our bags, got me more pillows and a different comforter and offered to set up any reservations we needed.

I emailed the manager of the hotel about this experience and his response was that I should've called the hotel when we were about an hour away to let them know we were coming. Is that a joke? Even if we did, we had to wait almost 4 hours for our room to be ready, so it wouldn't have made a difference. How about you work with your staff and if your hotel is booked for the weekend, hire more staff so rooms can be cleaned quickly and you won't lose loyal customers?

Needless to say, I won't ever stay here again or recommend this hotel. It's a total joke. If you are traveling to Portland and want somewhere nice to stay with great staff and nice rooms, stay at The Heathman a couple blocks over.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,795 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing