We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"My go to place in Portland"”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
HB
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"My go to place in Portland"”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Two years ago I stayed at the Paramount and when I decided to visit Portland again this year, I couldn't think of a better place to stay. The staff, from the doorman/doorwoman, to the concierge, to the front desk, to the housekeeping staff, were all exceptional. Friendly, smiling, and always there to help, if needed. Great location, reasonable rates, large rooms...what more could one ask for? Free WiFi, small fridge, and a coffee/tea maker in the room, too. Director's Park is right across the street and it's a great spot to relax and enjoy a drink or bite to eat at Elephants in the Park. Around the corner is Maya's Taqueria, where we had a good breakfast and they also have a great beer selection. Just a block away from the TriMet station that took us to and from PDX and within walking distance from many many Portland sites. We shall return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Director's Park or a corner room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Shower wash, shampoo, and conditioner in larger dispensers, rather than small, throw away plastic. Just refill when empty.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pasqwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Pasqwal, thank you so much! See you next time, hopefully sooner than two years :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    385
    71
    33
    12
See reviews for
213
499
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you like walking then you can walk all over Portland from here-- walk to the river walk, walk to Powell's, walk to the International Rose Test Garden (yes it's uphill).

The public space out front is only a few years old and is a great center of gravity-- you can play giant chess, enjoy Elephant's In the Park for a quick lunch, cool off in the open fountain, or if you're lucky catch an outdoor weekend performance.

We heard no noises, including flushing toilets, inside the hotel during our stay. We did hear some outside noise and they are building a skyscraper across the park, so if you need silence to sleep in on weekdays this (or any!) hotel may not work well.

The desk staff was superb, friendly and efficient and the concierge guided us to two fabulous meals.

Having a room facing the park is a definite bonus.

Room Tip: Having a room facing the park is a definite bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks Visitall50 – love the photos! We sure are lucky to have Director Park out our front door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We again stayed at the at the Paramount as our son was graduating at the Schnitzer, 2 blocks away. This worked out great. We parked in the Smart park just up from the hotel and payed half what the hotel charged. They upgraded us to a corner room on a high floor with a beautiful view of the city. Bring ear plugs though, the garbage trucks come early and the sound of breaking glass woke us up. (We live in the country so are not used to those sounds.) We had one unfortunate thing happen during our stay, we ordered room service for breakfast and signed the bill to our room. A few minutes later we got a call from someone wanting our charge card number for our room service. We refused and offered to come to the desk...... It was a scam, whoever called had our charges, name, room number, etc but not our credit card. The manager offered us dinner next time we stay. Be careful!

Room Tip: The corner, upper rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flosser201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This 15-story luxury hotel is in the perfect location from which to explore Portland by rail or on foot. The streetcar is one block away in one direction and the light rail (only $2.50 directly to/from the airport) one block in the other. There are lots of restaurants of all kinds within only a few blocks, and walkers can set off in any direction to tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping. The Flying Elephants coffee shop around the corner facing the park is the next best thing to a complimentary breakfast, and we enjoyed it every morning of our three night stay.

The lobby is beautifully decorated, and the unique art on each floor and in the rooms is outstanding. Each floor features a different one of the city's moveable bridges, with photographs by Portland photographer Gary Wilson displayed in the hall and in the rooms. A glass etching of the bridge and its history hangs facing the elevator doors, and below it stands a specially-commissioned hand-crafted table inspired by the bridge. I know this is lot of space to devote to a hotel's art, but it is truly extraordinary. We made it a point to visit every floor during our stay.

The hotel's restaurant and bar reopened during our stay after being closed for a renovation. We did not visit either, so cannot comment on the food, but the spaces appeared to be as lovely as the rest of the hotel.

Our corner room, on the sixth floor facing Director Park, was quiet and had panoramic views of the park and the city. The room was tastefully decorated (those photographs!), with a comfortable bed and luxurious linens. The spacious bathroom had a jetted spa tub (which we did not use) and a large walk-in shower. In a gesture towards sustainability, the hotel features refillable Gilchrist & Soames Busy Bee dispensers in the shower, yet uses completely disposable paper coffee cups, filters, and individually wrapped coffee packets. A card in the bathroom indicated that we could reuse our towels to conserve water, but housekeeping replaced them every day despite our hanging them carefully on the racks as suggested.

Housekeeping was spotty in other ways: a service cart and vacuum stood in the hall our entire first day, and a glass of water mysteriously sat on the floor outside a neighboring room for almost two days before it was picked up. On the second day, our bed was made but the decorative pillows were left strewn on the floor and chairs where we had placed them. These are not big complaints, and should be easy for management to fix, but they are surprising in a hotel otherwise so attentive to detail, and keep it from getting a five star rating despite its outstanding location, lovely rooms, and beautiful art.

Room Tip: If you opt for a park view, which is lovely, ask to be on a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlesAndTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

First time in Portland, and hope to return soon. We parked 2 blocks away at the Smart Park Garage, paying less than half. The valet wasn't phased when he realized we weren't handing him the car keys. He pleasantly gave instructions to the garage. Delighted they could give us a corner room on a higher floor with great views. Rooms were clean & comfortable. Even went barefoot in the room, unusual behavior for me. We were there for the opening of their hotel bar. The restaurant was still being remodeled, but there are good food options in the bar and plenty of great places to eat in the area. Location is excellent, near Portland's amazing transportation system. Midwest traveler from St Louis, MO

Room Tip: Found these tips from other tripadvisor reviews: Corner rooms tend to be larger. Also ask for a ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly practices are not a deal breaker for me. I maybe converted at a later date.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Eileen B, thank you for the review! See you on your next visit to Portland.

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Paramount. Very nice room and comfortable bed. We are so glad we chose a room with a balcony. We highly recommend one.
The location couldn't be better. Great access to public transit and surrounded by great restaurants and lots of shopping.We would stay again. Norm and Marie SF BAY AREA

Room Tip: Balcony a must.
See more room tips
Green Features: Front Desk was great could not asked for any better. Room maid was exceptial
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you Norm and Marie! I would agree, our balcony and patio rooms are quite special.

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We loved the location and quality of this hotel. We happened to go during the Rose Parade, so reaching the hotel by car was a challenge. But overall, very satisfied with our stay and the great service we received from the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks Aaron C and hopefully you had a chance to experience more of the Rose Parade other than the traffic!

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing