We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and value ...”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Location and value ...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This property is so easy to get from the airport on the MAX (light rail) - $2.50 fare and a stop barely two (very short) blocks from the stop - and only a block to the stop to return to the airport. The Paramount fronts a public square and is a classically built and refurbished property in the heart of downtown Portland on the edge of the arts district. A block from Portland's largest theatre and walking distance to a plethora of bars, restaurants and coffee spots this hotel is in an excellent location.

The property is clean and extremely well maintained. The rooms are large and the furniture extremely comfortable.

The staff are lovely - from the moment of walking to the door to departure all the staff are most helpful and accommodating.

The on site restaurant and bar are well above the cut of most hotel in house facilities.

We will definitely use The Paramount again.

Room Tip: Overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks ADJ57 and happy to see that you had enjoyed Swank & Swine!

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    385
    72
    33
    12
See reviews for
213
500
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Paramount Hotel is a great value. Rooms are updated and very clean, including a mini refrigerator and coffee maker. We had a balcony room overlooking the park which was very nice, we could see all the activities of the city right outside our window.

The location is perfect, great local bars and restaurants within 2 blocks and the newly opened restaurant and bar, Swank & Swine, were nice spots with an upscale menu. You'll be within a 10 min walk to the Pearl District and Old Town Portland, no need for transportation. But if you need to get around the hotel is very close to public transportation.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. Benjamin gave great tips for local spots, he nailed it!

Next trip to Portland we're staying at the Paramount Hotel for its location and value.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have options for small balconies to balconies with patio furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pskalsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
pskalsky, thank you for the review and see on your next trip to Portland!

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a quality, upscale hotel...from the front door to the rooms. I would stay here again. The reception was very pleasant and we were able to check in 3 hours earlier. We had a lovely corner room on the 5th floor....very nice light and views. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arvada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Arvada D, thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in June - staff were all very friendly. Location is great - easily can walk to most places in downtown Portland. Valet is expensive (>$20/night), but I think that was about what every other hotel charged too. Accommodations were clean and decent, just not flashy at all. All the hotels in downtown were very pricey, this was the most reasonably-priced one. The club/bar attached to the lobby was VERY popular with younger and mature crowd. They were rockin every night. All-in-all, a good place. Just be ready to pay $$$ to stay in Portland.

Room Tip: I'd say stay away from lower floors because the club/hangout on 1st floor is very loud. We were...
See more room tips
Green Features: pumps in shower for soap/shampoo/conditioner was nice touch and not as wasteful as the little bottles.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were so pleased with this hotel! My husband and I visited Portland for the long weekend over the 4th of July. The Paramount is located right in downtown - you really can walk almost anywhere you need to and if there's somewhere farther out you'd like to access, Portland's streetcar/MAX system is very close to the hotel, as well, and the staff are more than willing to assist with regards to traveling on the streetcar/MAX.

The hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and most important to me and my husband everything was very clean during our stay! We were on the 5th floor and really didn't hear a whole lot of extraneous noise - just a little bit of regular city noise, which is expected. We also thoroughly enjoyed the staff, their friendly demeanor and all their helpful city tips. We would absolutely stay here again next time we're back in Portland. A great hotel option for downtown Portland - in the heart of it all!

Room Tip: There is construction taking place across the street. We didn't have a room facing that directio...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems like the hotel is very environmentally friendly, from what we read/heard. Especially loved their eco-friendly toiletry options in our bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KJTravelBug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks KJTravelBug33, we would love to have you back!

Norm Hwa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring downtown Portland. It was an easy walk (even with a heavy roller bag) from the near-by Max station. The staff was outstanding. There are restaurants downstairs and in the park across from the front doors of the hotel. There is a construction project across the street, but the noise was minimal and started after we woke up.

Room Tip: The building across the park will probably be under construction for at least the next 6-8 months...
See more room tips
Green Features: The rooms had separate trash and recycling containers. Towels and bedding were cleaned by request. The hotel did not have individual bottles for shampoo and conditioner - but rather large bottles as part of the shower fixture.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for almost a week in corner room 1208.

Was nice to open windows for a bit of cross breeze. Room is good size including space to do yoga in the entry area. Bathroom good size tho a spot to place the towel for the shower would be helpful.

We did hear the construction noise, skateboarders in the park after hours and some adjacent plumbing noise along with voices in hallway. Tweaking the insulation and updating windows might help with those items. What was most annoying was the entry door had about 1/2" gap allowing light to come into the room. Lights in the hallways are close to the level of the peep hole and also entered the room. This provided more than enough light to walk to the bathroom without turning on a hallway light in the wee hours.

Chose hotel because of location which is great. Easy walk to PAM, the Square, transit and even across the river. Transit helped make exploring the East side and getting to the Tram easy. And having someone open the door after a long day of walking and exploring was nice!

Hotel is nicely decorated with some great art and it was nice that my favorite Portland Bridge, the Steel was the 12th Floor theme.

Had no problems with housekeeping. They were very good about waiting till we left and not rearranging our items on the bathroom counter.

Felt staff did a great job with helping and keeping an eye on who was there. Would definitely recommend hotel for SFT to stay at.

Would stay again with good rate tho will probably wait till after construction is over.

Room Tip: Rooms on SW Taylor or across from the Park have great views but are impacted by noise from the Const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earth_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing