We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Local, RIght in the Heart of the City - A Great Place”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
307 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Quiet, Local, RIght in the Heart of the City - A Great Place”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

The hotel is just superb, with only a couple of minor issues that would make it one of the better hotels I have stayed with. The rooms are a very large size and very comfortable and the amenities in the bathroom are appreciated. Great soap, shampoo, conditioner, cotton balls, Q-Tips, and more.

The few issues I have are that a double double room is considered an upgrade from a king room, which makes no sense - especially since they were far below 50% occupancy while I was there. The TV is old and needs to be replaced and even though it is the going rate for valet service in the city $28.00 is steep considering there is a lot right across the street for $10 per day.

All in all a good stay and would recommend The Paramount to all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConVivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    377
    69
    33
    11
See reviews for
203
478
63
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

I travel 5 month per year and maintain status with Marriott and Starwood. Average 4 trips a year to Portland alone. This last one was for 12 nights, trust my review...

The good stuff first:
Got a super deal from Priceline for $85.00. Great location for all downtown Portland activities. Hotel is 10 years old, but looks new; design is modern and timeless. Lobby and all public areas are well maintained and clean. Free internet in rooms and free use of small office downstairs where you can print from. Quality beds and linens. Large updated bathroom with good lighting and counter space. Fridge in room.

The bad stuff:
With the exception of check in I was never greeted by any staff member. Doorman/valet seem to work from 8am to 7pm only, no 24 hour doorman and/or valet. Many times later in the evening there was no one at the front desk either. No visable security anywhere and elevators are accessible by anyone 24/7. Downtown Portland has a homeless person problem, I did not feel safe...
Room service food options are limited by time of day with no 24/7 service. Food is provided by the asian restaurant downstairs; not that good with very little american food.

Christmas day there was no housekeeping or room service provided. I travel over many holidays and have always been informed of this by other properties, not the Paramount.

My room was an "upgraded" corner king. Pealing wall paper; 1 old- lop sided scratched up chair; no udjustable office chair at desk: Small-dark tube TV: poor TV reception with few pay per view options: 7 minute average for hot water in shower (any time of day).

At $85.00 this is a good value but on no level exceeds 3 stars...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We still can't believe we got such a wonderful place on Priceline. This hotel is clearly worth two to three times what we paid. I have been in hotels about 125 nights this year, this is one of the two or three best.
Room is large, comfortable, and up to date. Lobby is fabulous, restaurant and bar were great.
Staff is friendly and helpful. This is a can't-miss property!
And yes, contrary to other reviewers, the Internet is free in your room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on-the-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goteed1
Level Contributor
145 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Spent a weekend here after getting this hotel from a Priceline bid. This is really a great choice for staying downtown. Location is excellent, right on Pioneer Square, 2 minutes from the Max stop, 2 minutes from the Art Museum (you can skip the museum though, major disappointment). You can walk anywhere downtown in a few minutes from here,

The room was HUGE and had great views of downtown. Everything was in great shape, bathroom also very nice. Room has a fridge, a desk and a sitting area with plenty of space to spare. Was very nice to chill in the room for a little bit during Portland's downpours.

They claim free internet, but I connected free anyway through AT&T, worked very well. They have a small fitness room in the basement and you can get a decent workout there if you are determined.

MAJOR KUDOS for the room service menu. Breakfast prices were really resonable if not downright cheap. $12 for an omelette, and a good one at that. Room service was quick and very friendly. Especially nice not to have to run out in the rain and find a reasonable breakfast before starting my day.

Parking was $28 a day, but I didn;t have a car. Max goes straight from the airport to the hotel for a couple of bucks.

Service - The front desk staff answered my questions when asked. Nothing great, nothing bad.

I think because Portland's downtown is trying so very hard to be trendy and sexy, that good solid choices for hotels like The Paramount can get overlooked, but if you can get a decent rate here this place is a really good choice. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

we got a great deal on priceline, the hotel is a little old, but the service is good and room is clean. Dragon fish restaurant offers great happy hour for late dinners. great location for shopping. they gave us free internet!!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidtwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKMillerInc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Paramount and drove away glad that it was only one night. While the location was nice and the lobby quite posh, the room was dismal to say the least. The carpet was dirty and the armchair looked like an angry cat had had its way with it. The sushi restaurant downstairs had 'happy hour' with half priced rolls that turned out to be terrible, pre-made monstrosities.
I booked this hotel via priceline, thinking it was a four-star, but it's really only three star at best. Caveat emptor!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKMillerInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Best neighborhood, best deal. Walk to everything, nice jacuzzi tub and balcony, internet and small workout machines in basement, Starbucks next door, park (under construction across street, not too noisy). Staff are the worst by far, snotty, numb to customer service, left my luggage in lobby, good thing i went back to get my sunglasses because my luggage was left unattended. No car required in this town, walk everywhere, light rail to airport. This city rocks.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityParkMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing