We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointing, great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never disappointing, great staff and location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location, amazing staff, clean and comfortable rooms and welcoming breakfast.

Hats off to the person who does the hiring at your hotel, you have some of the nicest staff I have ever experienced especially the staff on duty late afternoon/evening on the 21st June.

Love your recycling program especially in the restaurant however I would suggest that your sign at the top matches the signs at the bottom in the restaurant,. There was lots of confusion as to where some things went and many things made it to the garbage that should have been recycled.

Will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Carrie A

Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our staff and recycling program! We do hope that you will choose our hotel during your next visit to Portland, OR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    153
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
81
110
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I respect the Holiday Inn Express brand, and this hotel exceeded my expectations. I arrived much earlier then the normal check-in time, but the front desk was very helpful to get me in my room without any issues.
My room review is just as good as the friendliness of the staff.
The room was spotless, bathroom is larger then most hotel rooms, bed felt brand new, and a good selection of pillows. The bathroom was a huge plus. I would normally have trouble with having hot water in other hotels, but here it was not an issue.
The TV was in HI-Def. with a full selection of channels provided by Directv, which included a few choices of movie networks,
My only issue was the same with most hotels. The sink was slow to drain.
Overall, I am very pleased with this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi MikeR

Thanks so much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. We do hope that you will choose us during your next visit in Portland, Or!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, MS
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My stay here was a very pleasant one. The desk clerks ask me about setting up wake up calls before I had a chance to mention it. I was able to have a nice breakfast before I walked to work up the street. Also, it's close to 23rd where you can safely walk to eat, shop or just have a relaxing stroll. My room was very clean, up to date and the WI FI was faster than most I've stayed in. The view from the upstairs room that I had was nice to see the surroundings. My taxi for Friday morning was scheduled several days in advance and it was there as I asked. The employees there at the desk and the breakfast area always greeted you with a smile. I had a problem and the desk clerks went out of their way to help me and it wasn't hotel related issue. I will continue to stay here each time I travel to this area for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the streets could be noisy from street traffic if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi there Karen H

Thanks so much for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Portland, OR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Had a large suite which was quiet and very comfortable. The hotel is immediately accessible to the highway system, but is also on the edge of an upscale neighborhood with several, good local restaurants a short walk down NW 23rd Ave. The breakfast was very good and the hotel staff were very accommodating. The parking area is a two story garage and there was ample available spaces. The hotel is clean and I believe the location is very safe. The only criticism is the elevator; it's very, very slow. By comparison to downtown hotels, this is an exceptional value. If you want to use public transportation, bus service is nearby. I found that driving downtown and parking was a simple task, and only about 15 mins. away. Probably the best value for a hotel in the vicinity of downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi John S

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Nob Hill district is definitely a wonderful neighborhood to be in, and we're happy to know that you think so as well! I do hope that you will choose us again during your next visit to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about our stay. The room was wonderful, breakfast was good, free wifi. The best part is that this hotel is in the best location for everything in Portland. Walk up 2 blocks and you are in Nob Hill, a beautiful place where stores are in old heritage houses, great restaurants. The best part is you are within a 15 minute drive to the Zoo. You are within walking distance to the street car which will take you everywhere. I don't usually give recommendations, but had to this time hotel, staff and location is the best. Will recommend this to everyone who asks and will return to stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello Nancy M

Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, and amenities. We are glad to know that you will stay with us again in the future. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Quiet - Clean - Good breakfast - Wonderful bed - Staff was very kind - Great location that is close to lots of great restaurants and sights. FREE PARKING! I was there for a one-night business trip and will definately stay there next month when I return to Portland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Todd G

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here May 10 11 12 2014, the hotel is on Vaughn street and is in the NW district of Portland. The hotel is what you would expect, clean, quiet, and near the part of town you would like to be. There is a Marriott down closer to the action but it might be noisier down there. The breakfast is what you get in most US hotels some eggs sausages and " pancakes in a minute" we would stay here again with no issue.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south east side of the building. Heard a siren a couple of times and that was about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrobson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hello mrobson52

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will stay with us again in the future. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 141 in Portland
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing