We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Ranked #51 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frustrated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I'm sure this hotel is just fine, but my recent interaction with the manager and front desk has left a bad taste for all Holiday Inns moving forward. My husband and I had planned to spend our anniversary in Portland next week, but he recently was injured and had surgery which requires him to be fairly immobile for the next 6-8 weeks, so we plan on coming to portland when he is back on his feet. Long story short I called to cancel/reschedule our hotel room and was informed that since I booked online and got "such a great rate" I cannot cancel or change my reservation. There goes $400, might as well have thrown it out the window. When I spoke with the manager he even told me he would never book online bc of the policy! Ugh! We had planned to stay here when we are able to make the trip, but now? No way! I have never in all my traveling ever not gotten a refund or credit, especially for a medical reason!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Courney O

I remember your situation very well, and I am so sorry to hear about your husbands accident. When booking the type of reservation that you did, unfortunately it does not allow for refunds. As I recall my manager Leo was able to work something out for you folks for the next time you were in Portland. I do apologize that you still were not happy with the out come of that conversation. I hope your husband has a speedy recovery and your guys are able to enjoy the remainder of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    152
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
80
108
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent location, just off the highway, and at one end of Nob Hill. The service is consistent and meets expectations that I expect at a Holiday inn express location.
The only concern I have is the cleanliness of the pool. You can tell that it needs a good scrubbing and that it is probably because the disinfectant level dropped below safe levels In order to form algae. I just recently stayed at the jantzen location and their pool looked fantastic . Very inviting due to the cleanliness. I would like to feel comfortable and safe having my kids go swimming in your pool the next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank island-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello island-rider

Thank you for your review. Although we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, we are sorry to hear that you didn't find our pool to be up to your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your concerns to our maintenance department to be sure that all of our levels are safe. We hope you will stay with us again in the future to enjoy our pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great location - easy access to downtown and Nob Hill area. Immediate surrounding area is a little noisy and rough around the edges, but the rooms are very quiet. Nothing exceptional about the desk staff, but the housekeeping and breakfast staff were great.

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room (4th floor) that provided a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi JHawn

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our housekeeping and breakfast staff. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The HIE was well near the airport, in a good and bad way my room i did not have any noise other than my sister next door. But the location was well worth the cost and the great room. Like i said HIE has not let me down in the last 3 years and is still at the top next to Days Inn for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommandrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi there CommandrJ

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately though I think you may have written it for the wrong hotel as we are not near the airport, we are downtown. We do hope that the next time you are in Portland you visit us here downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Holiday Inn Express is centrally located to the trendy little shopping area but just off the main artery so the price isn't boutique hotel price. It is a great value; clean, good staff, and most of the amenities you expected in a Holiday Inn Express. Great beds and pillows and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BranchOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello there BranchOffice

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we truly appreciate it. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. I do hope that you will choose us again during your next visit to Portland, OR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here three nights while on business near downtown Portland. This is a good hotel choice if you want to be in NW Portland but it can be somewhat noisy since it's on NW Vaughn Street on the edge of the NW industrial area and it's close to the off ramp of the I-405 freeway. It's within walking distance of NW 23rd Street where there are a lot of shops and restaurants. The hotel has a large pool and jacuzzi on the lower level along with a small fitness center. There is a free continental breakfast with a decent selection of breakfast items. There is only one elevator in the lobby that is really slow. The stairwells at the end of each floor are narrow. Parking is free. Ask for a room on the side of the hotel that doesn't face the freeway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi T J

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location, amazing staff, clean and comfortable rooms and welcoming breakfast.

Hats off to the person who does the hiring at your hotel, you have some of the nicest staff I have ever experienced especially the staff on duty late afternoon/evening on the 21st June.

Love your recycling program especially in the restaurant however I would suggest that your sign at the top matches the signs at the bottom in the restaurant,. There was lots of confusion as to where some things went and many things made it to the garbage that should have been recycled.

Will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany P, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Carrie A

Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our staff and recycling program! We do hope that you will choose our hotel during your next visit to Portland, OR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#10 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#5 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Address: 2333 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#40 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#47 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests enjoy a great location and amenities including complimentary parking, deluxe Continental breakfast, high-speed Internet, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland NW Downtown is located in the Historic Nob Hill Shopping District and Northwest Industrial Area of downtown Portland. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to the Portland Streetcar and bus lines. We are a short commute to the Rose Garden Arena, Oregon Convention Center, Montgomery Park Building, Roseland Theatre, Crystal Ballroom, PGE Park, Good Samaritan Hospital, Emmanuel Hospital, Oregon Health Sciences University, University of Portland, Portland State University, Washington Park, Multnomah Athletic Club, and many Portland landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing