We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Spring Break”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is not an extravagant place but is clean and well suited for families traveling. We have 3 children, including 2 teenage/tween girls and the suites are the perfect solution for us. Moreover, you can't beat the breakfast that is included, as well as the kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear David M,
Thank you for choosing Residence Inn RiverPlace to host your family during Spring Break! We're thankful that you found the hotel accommodations clean and comfortable. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    243
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
258
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel April 2 - 6. The first night we did not sleep much at all as the room was directly under a freeway. The noise became truly unbearable with the early rush hour traffic. The front desk did find us a similar room across the hall and further from the noise. But please be warned! The hotel will not mention this to you when you book...
Also, compared to Embassy Suites, the "suite" rooms were small and the sofa bed very uncomfortable for our child...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickieBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear RickieBeau,
Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback - we are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woods Cross, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Found this hotel to be a very wonderful place to stay on a vacation! Although my wife was sick for most of our stay, and I ended up watching a crocidile show on the history cannel for about 8 hours. However other than that we really enjoyed our other day that we stayed at the hotel. On the second day we found the riverfront and its local shops and restruants to be very enjoyable. The only issue I could have found was the breakfast buffet which wasn't bad just like an average buffet.

Room Tip: If you want high quality food skip the free meals and go to a local resturaunt, I did not find the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mark A,
So glad that you enjoyed your stay (despite your wife's illness). It's nice to know you were able to get out of your room to enjoy the river front and local shopping too. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I reviewed this property in 2009 and commended them on their pet-friendly policies and reasonable $10/night pet fee. Well, the per night pet fee is now $25/night. This might be okay for one night, but it definitely deters longer stays. The rooms are well laid out, service is good and it is located right on a trolley line so you can easily get to downtown. Breakfast has a good selection.

If you have a pet and are staying more than one night check out the Kimpton Hotels in downtown Portland (the Vintage Plaza and the Monaco). They do not charge a fee for pets!

Room Tip: Windows are sound proofed, but rooms facing the freeway next door still notice some noise when heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear SeattleKarl,
Thank you for being our guest. We want you to know that our daily pet fee now has a cap so the $25/night does have a maximum after a few days. Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Marriot Residence Inn's are located in most major cities. We love staying there because they have a kitchen, pool, hot tub, and a free hot breakfast. If you stay Monday to Thursday, you also receive a Manager's Reception at 4pm. Great food. Also, you collect points for a free night. Great prices too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the opposite side of the freeway. Less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelaugh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear thelaugh5,
Thank you for being a repeat Residence Inn customer! We appreciate your feedback and loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband I stayed here on a recent weekend getaway. We were very happy with the room. The breakfast was awesome. We took the MAX from the airport and then walked the rest of the way to the hotel. It was a little farther then we had expected but still doable. The mass transit in Portland is great and we were able to catch the trolley right out in front of the hotel. We walked along the river every day and there are some cute shops and restaurants close by. It is not a hotel you want to sit out on your patio and enjoy the view though, but that is not why we were there. At first we were disappointed with how far it was from downtown but it turned out we were very happy with the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfpllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Wfpllc,
Thank you for being a fan of our hotel and for commenting on the quality of the breakfast buffet and our location along the riverfront. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Location of this hotel is great, I agree the parking fee is a bit much but we got around it by parking on the street 2 of the night we stayed. We got up early every morning and we for a jog along the river - lots of people out it was a little cold but worth it!! The rooms are clean and it was nice to have the refrigerator and kitchen area. It was plenty of room fro our family of four with a daughter who likes to spread herself out. Staff was very friendly. The only down side for us was the breakfast was soooo crowded every morning - not enough sliverware/plates and nowhere to sit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famtravl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Famtrav14,
We are glad we had the opportunity to serve you and equally pleased to know that your room was clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing