We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place! Dog friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Place! Dog friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I am a dog lover, but don't have a dog. I got my "doggie lovin'" at this place. Lots of dogs. If you are allergic, look at one of their other properties. But the place is very very clean, even with all the dogs around. Great breakfast (dogs not in the breakfast area), very comfortable room. A short cab ride from downtown or hop on the streetcar. I stayed there on Thanksgiving, and the staff that was there were very friendly and nice. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, and plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: They have rooms with either a river view or a city view. I was on the 9th floor and my city view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Seattleann,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the dogs at the hotel but many will be pleased to know that we do have an entire section of rooms that are pet-free so even those with allergies can rest easy and have peace of mind. We hope to see you back in the future. Until then, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    243
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
258
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I always look for 'Residence inn' when I am travelling with families as they have full kitchen and I have a three year old kid who refuse to eat out. I have been stayed at Marriott on the river front earlier I was looking for an alternative and found this hotel being very near to Down town Portland. It also has excellent connectivity using "Street Car" (Portland's version of light tram) if you don't want to take your car.
Room were spacious and clean but the age was showing on carpets. Got a good view of river from the room. As usual Marriott's excellent bedding and firm bed (One of the top reasons I prefer Marriott chains of Hotels) and clean linens.

The room was pretty spacious but I didn't liked the placing of the wash basin. The mirrors would reflect lot of light on the bed which is not good if you want to get ready without disturbing your partner or family. There should be a curtain atleast.

I really liked the B'fast served at this place. I would rate it much higher than then one served at other similar places. Even though the hotel was crowded due to being thanksgiving weekend the hotel staff was keeping up the pace.

Didn't like hotel charging 26$ per day for parking. Even downtown Marriott or Hilton charges the same being in middle of downtown.

Overall, good stay with no complaints. Would recommend to others but keep in mind the parking charges.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear TarunS,
Thank you taking time to share your comments. I agree that RiverPlace has one of the best Residence Inn breakfasts! We hope that we will see you again this Thanksgiving holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

OK, my hotel experience was wonderful at this beautiful hotel, great location, wonderful breakfast, quiet room. Traveling with my father in law, I requested handicap room or room with hand held shower, for walking person with mobility issues for him. He got off on his floor and I went to another, should have walked him to his door and would have seen it was the farthest room from the elevator in a long and large hotel. Staff took time to change his room, no offer to help him with his rolling luggage on his 2nd trip down hallways, no acknowledgement of the stress this put on him. Very disappointed with reservations and check in staff for lack of care for an obviously elder man with mobility issues. Did not return to this hotel for our next trip in Feb 2013.

Room Tip: If you require a handicap room be sure to verify before you make the trip to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron W, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Dianne,

I am very sorry that your father in laws experience was less than enjoyable during your recent stay with us. I really appreciate your feedback and taking the time to complete the TripAdvisor survey. I have shared your experience with our staff to ensure that we learn from our mistakes and hopefully next time you are in Portland, you will give us another try. Please feel free to contact me if there is anything I can do for you.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Aaron Watne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

it's a great discovery . The place provided hearty breakfasts as great day starters; warm ambience for the evening discussions; and a very convenient place to start touring the entire city- its sites like the cable car, Japanese garden, the Rose Test garden, zoo, malls and shopping places,Monera steak dinner,etc. It's the second time we have visited the city but still we want more...wish I brought my kids

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 717Diwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you 717Diwata for the great review! I am delighted this was the perfect place for you. We appreicate you sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community, we hope to see you in the future!

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Clean and quiet place. Had business a few miles away and was easy access. Staff kind and courteous. There is a fee for parking which is a bit hefty. Breakfast it ok but included in cost of room and better than other places I have stayed. Nice size rooms with kitchen makes it feel like home.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi Nicki F,

I am ecstatic you felt at home with us! We strive to bring that experience to every guest. We'll see you next trip!

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We got a great price on spacious room with a kitchenette through Priceline.com. We arrived a bit early, but the staff were polite and able to check us in immediately. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet. After a night on the town, we returned to our room to find a hand written card from the staff and a gift bag which included 2 local craft beers - nice touch! The buffet breakfast was good and included in the price of the room. The hotel is well situated within walking distance to downtown, and there is a tram stop directly beside the hotel which takes you right downtown. The hotel also offers a 12 pm check out time and express checkout. The only thing that was a little pricey was the parking at $26/night, but I guess that's pretty standard. We would definitely stay there again. Good value!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAlisonKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi MsAlisonKenny,

Thank you for such a great review! I am glad we were able to get you in early, and enjoyed the gift from the front desk. Microbrews are defintely a Portland thing! We hope to see you again soon!

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is better than most Residence Inns. You can walk downtown in ten minutes and catch the streetcar right outside the hotel. River Place area has grown alot; places to eat, drink, and grab coffee abound! Gym is very spacious and is also well-equipped, with free weights ranging from 3 lbs to more than I will ever attempt, four exercise balls, a BOSU ball, and weight and cardio machines. If you want exercise classes, you can walk over to the River Place Athletic Club and use their facility for $10. Pool is nice and large, too. Breakfast options are plentiful (again, more than most Residence Inns), and hotel offers free Wall Street Journal (a real plus!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you auntashlee for the review. The gym is also my favorite place in our hotel! Having options is important, and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the equpment. See you next time!

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing