We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprise, but not anice one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Suprise, but not anice one”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice new place. They call it River Place... They should call it Highway Place. Our room overlooked not a river, but a freeway entrance about 60 feet away. Asked to change rooms. No luck.

If you are choosing to stay here, first be aware that you are not downtown and second be aware that it is not on a scenic riverfront location. Not much within walking distance.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear B C,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts about your stay. I apologize you did not have a great view of the river, but Portland is known as the bridge city, and we do get our fill of that being close to the river. Although some of the rooms do not have the best view, there is a great walk-way that leads toward the river that many people enjoy, particularly during the summer. You can walk down and enjoy some locally roasted coffee and hand scooped ice cream sundaes. Hopefully if you visit again you would give us a chance to show you what a great area we are in.

Christine Gottschalk
Front Office Manager
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    251
    71
    15
    10
See reviews for
264
159
30
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Pros: Location, room size, breakfast
Cons: Location, older facilities

Read on for more:

Any relatively experienced traveler knows that hotels like to stick "upgrading" words on their names- in this case, "Downtown". The hotel is certainly within what could technically be called "downtown" but that doesn't mean it's anywhere near the high-rises, 1st Street, etc.
But that also isn't a bad thing! You're about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute trolley ride from what most would consider downtown. The trolley stops right outside the hotel, is affordable and reliable, and walking around the area does give you nice views of the river (on the banks) and downtown area, so there's something to be said for its location.
The Residence Inn brand always does well for groups that need sectioned rooms, and a lot of families were clearly taking advantage of that while we were here. We enjoyed our one-bedroom: it was perfectly spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast was great, very large, and even included miso soup and rice, which I have never seen before in a hotel breakfast buffet.
Unfortunately, the hotel is also next to several highway overpasses, and some electricity generation plant, and while these don't provide audible disturbances, they are an eyesore, especially in rooms on that side. In fact, the ice maker and other older appliances that randomly turned on at night were much more infuriating.

Bottom Line: If you aren't too picky about just the immediate surroundings, and aren't a super light sleeper, this place is great for access to Portland's downtown and riverfront, especially for larger groups.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudobuntu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Sudobuntu,
Thank for your review! Being right on the river front means we are away from the high rise buildings in downtown but since our hotel is nine stories high we have excellent views of both the city or the river. We also sponsor our own stop in front of the hotel for convenient access via the Portland Streetcar. Residence Inn is always a favorite for families and we're glad to hear that you had a good stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 2 of my friends for a conference in July of 2013. The facility was nice, the rooms were as expected, but the location was much further from "downtown Portland" than we were led to believe from the description. While the area around the riverfront was lovely it was not very close to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear tmill1,
Thank you for being our guest. Our location on the waterfront is at the south end of downtown referred to as South Waterfront. With easy access using the Portland Streetcar, many find our location more quiet and relaxing than being in the middle of the downtown bustle. I hope you enjoyed a stroll along the river walk to Tom McCall Waterfront Park while you were with us? Thank you again for your review - we are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel was close to the river and a great river walk. The hotel provided a complimentary hot breakfast each morning with many choices. Complimentary dinners were available several days a week, too. My only objection was the location of the hotel. It sits at the convergence of several elevated highway systems and I found the noise level was higher than I would have liked at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 907-Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear 907-Jeanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am glad you were able to enjoy our renowned hot breakfast, and enjoyed the events in the evening. They call Portland the "Bridge City", and we get to share part of that here. It's unfortunate our best views of the river are also facing the Marquam bridge, but those triple pane windows usually do their job blocking out the noise. My suggestion for your next visit would be to request a room facing the city. Although not guaranteed, it is a nice option for our light sleepers. Thank you again for the great review, we hope to see you again!

Christine Gottschalk
Front Office Manager
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this Residence Inn during a weekend visit to the great city of Portland. We had two rooms for our family. Each room was actually two rooms, with a living room/kitchenette in one room and a king size bed/bathroom in the second room. The full size fridge/microwave kitchen area is great when you have children along. The rooms were clean, bed very comfortable. Although you are close to a busy highway, I couldn't hear the traffic noise and I am sensitive to that kind of noise. There is a flat screen TV in each room.

Reception folks were very nice, helpful with questions about how to get around on Portland's amazing mass transit. We arrived by Amtrack and spent the entire weekend on mass transit, no need for a car! The lobby has a transit cam and it gives you the times when the streetcar will arrive. The streetcar is 1 block away and you can use that light rail to transfer to the MAX light rail station. Everything in the inner city of Portland is easily accessible from this hotel. Right outside the hotel is a lovely boulevard walk along the river with shops and restaurants.

The breakfast at this hotel is better than most. It was nice eat off of real plates with real silverware. There were many options, including eggs, french toast, and potatoes. There was also the usual waffle station. There was dry cereal and good oatmeal with many toppings. Lots of fresh fruit, too! There was plenty of breakfast seating for this large hotel. The staff was very helpful in the buffet area, helped us get a highchair for the little one, also gave us an option for a booster seat. When they ran out of spoons, they were immediately replaced.

Our room was cleaned early, which was a nice treat when we returned from breakfast. They have a nice pool area with hot tub and provide plenty of towels. There were also pool toys, which the kids loved. We didn't use the exercise facility, but it looked very nice. They also had a good size laundry area.

We were very pleased with our stay at this Residence Inn and would recommend it highly, especially for those with children.

Green Features: Recycle bins in each room, love that they use "real" dishes
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear KathiM17,

Thank you for the excellent review. I am very delighted our hotel was the perfect fit for your family. We love the streetcar system, and how easy it is to get around without a car. Thank you for letting our staff know they did a great job meeting your needs, I will share your feedback with them! We hope to see you next trip!

Christine Gottschalk
Front Office Manager
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Checking in the staff was wonderful and helpful with questions about finding a lounge for appetizers and drinks, a restaurant we wanted to go to, and a wine shop
Breakfast Buffett the next morning was just right with offerings
( breakfast sandwich was really quite good )

Room was very nice with full kitchen
Ask for ground floor if you don't wast to carry your luggage up steps!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hhunter15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Hhunter15,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Overall I had a good experience at this hotel. My suite was a little dated, and some of the furnishings were very scuffed. Windows don't open, but my guess is that is to keep down the noise from the highway which is just outside. The location is sort of on the river, but really next to an elevated highway system, which made for a cinematic, but not particularly beautiful, view. However, it's steps away from the Portland Streetcar, which will take you right into Downtown or the Pearl District, and to other areas by changing to the MAX line which is very easy. The room had a bit of a stuffy odor. I wonder if this is an old hotel recently acquired by Marriott and converted into a Residence Inn? It could use some renovation. The front desk staff and staff working the breakfast room were uniformly professional and very friendly. I don't know that I would stay here again given the slightly odd location, but as I was here for business, as long as I could get where I needed to go (which I could), it was fine. Apparently the pool is large and nice.

Room Tip: One of my colleagues moved to the side of the hotel away from the multi-level expressway as it was t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I choose not to do so as I do not really know what these policies consist of.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear FrancesAmbler,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We want a renovation just as much as you! We will be starting to redo our lobby and public space in the next couple months, then all the rooms will get a full make over. I sincerely hope you come check it out when we're all done.

Thank you for highlighting the front desk and breakfast bar staff, they strive to deliver the best service possible and will be happy to hear your valuable feedback. We'll see you next time!

Christine Gottschalk
Front Office Manager
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing