We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great location and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed here on several occasions, most recently with several friends, and I am continually impressed with this hotel. The staff is friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable. The rooms are clean and very spacious, and the breakfast selection is outstanding and free! The location could not be better, with a streetcar stop directly in front of the hotel (it's free to ride into downtown). I've stayed here when travelling for work, with my family, as well as when visiting with friends, and it has been perfect for every type of trip. I strongly recommend this hotel when travelling to Portland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Brooks M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted our hotel is in the perfect spot for your stays for business and leisure. We thrive on delivering the best service possible, and it seems we hit that mark every visit for you, so we hope you keep coming! See you next trip.

Warm Regards,
Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    252
    71
    15
    10
See reviews for
267
162
30
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I travel weekly to Portland for work and always stay at the Marriott Residence Riverfront. The location is convenient, the hotel is clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Having my own kitchen is great as I much prefer to cook and not eat out. WiFi is complimentary as are the frequent evening social gatherings where food, beer, and wine are provided gratis. Breakfast is served daily, also gratis. The gym and pool are also great. Why would I stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: I have found every room they have put me in over the past year to be clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage recycling and also re-use of towels to reduce water consumption.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Doctor Z,
We are so thankful for you and we wouldn't want you to stay anywhere else! Thank you for your praise on the cleanliness of our hotel, the amenities we offer and the service you receive. Loyal guests like yourself make coming to work every day a joy. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place is like a home, where the hospitality is humble and excellent!! The place is right because, river walk that will keep you fresh and rejuvenated. Also the spread in the breakfast is quite fits for all. To make your evening great, they have snacks to make your day complete.
Without thinking further...go for this place.

Room Tip: Room facing Columbia river
See more room tips
Green Features: The place is very quiet and happening as there is park, fountain, open place, where all the activities happen during summer time.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mohan R,

Thank you for the most excellent review! You highlighted the areas we are most proud of, and I am glad you enjoy staying with us. With summer coming the river walk is going to be a popular spot! We hope to see you again soon!

Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My stay here lasted only one night, but it was a great night. From the nice and friendly staff, to the walk near the river (and to a small sports bar for some drinks), to the spacious room with a cozy bed...it was the perfect hotel stay. The breakfast the next morning was top notch too. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richhuryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Richhuryn,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your quick trip from Seattle. We hope you can stay longer your next visit and appreciate knowing that you rated our hotel "top notch"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here the weekend of May 16-18 and very much enjoyed it! The rooms were clean and decorated nicely. The location along Willamette River and adjacent to the Tom McCall Waterfront Park is great for an early morning run or afternoon stroll. Conveniently located to downtown with great restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. Morning complimentary breakfast is very good and the morning breakfast setup crew are friendly, helpful, and jovial. The hotel would benefit by having a lounge with a full bar. The staff were friendly, courteous, and prompt in their service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and west sides are the quietest as are away from the elevated I-5 Freeway nearby...
See more room tips
Green Features: Smoking only permitted outside and away from the immediate premise. Recycling containers available in all rooms.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Rod W,
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate that you took time to mention our green practices as we strive to be a leader in running an environmentally conscious hotel. Even with the things we implement it takes everyone doing their part! Our breakfast crew is certainly jovial - they are the stars of our hotel and work hard to make sure our guests start their day with a smile. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just happened to drive by this hotel when looking for a place to stay in downtown Portland. The parking was easy and convenient. A young man named Logan at the front desk was inviting and personable. His friendly welcome and attention to detail when helping me with directions was fantastic. During our stay the hotel staff was extremely helpful. Room was extremely comfortable and view of the city was nice. Breakfasts were excellent. Made our visit worry free!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Julie V,
We appreciate your time writing a review of your stay. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed the downtown and river front view from your suite! It's also a pleasure to read that Logan contributed to the excellent customer service you received. We hope to see you again at Residence Inn RiverPlace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a work trip, only one night. I am a Marriott platinum, so I was able to get a pretty good room...

Best feature is that my room faced North, and had an awesome view of the river. Try to avoid the east facing rooms, up high, as you are looking right at the I-5 bridge.

As usual, included breakfast and an evening happy hour with some food. Now that I have chosen to do the gluten free thing, there was not a lot to eat. Oatmeal and fruit, but I guess that is ok, when it's included for no additional charge.

Rooms was again very small for the suite style of room. I thought that with my Marriott Platinum status I would get a nice sized room, but it was the same as the rest of them.

Parking was a bit pricey, but I assume it's the going rate for downtown Portland. $28 per night, in a secure lot.

Hotel staff was very friendly, and accommodating, as they should be.

I will most likely stay here again, if I can't get the Courtyard at 5th and Oak.

Thanks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank km24800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Km24800,
Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards member. As a Platinum guest your feedback is priceless! Glad to know you had a nice river view suite and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. We are listening and your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing