We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here on an overnight layover when headed to Alaska. The hotel's location is both good and not so good. It is only a block from the Riverfront and a number of restaurants. However, it is located next to an interstate and construction area, and surrounded by taller buildings that are actually on the river. If you are looking for a river view, I think you should forget it. However, one block to a ton of restaurants and a great walking path along the river, in our opinion, far outweighed any missing view.....

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded upon arrival, and ended up with a two room suite. Far too much room for the two of us, but it was a really nice gesture. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Breakfast in the morning was good, and typical of almost any Residence Inn. The room was spotless.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room with a view of the mountain/city and away from the river which y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 354Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear 354Bubba,
Thank you for your comments - we are listening! Our location is river front but some rooms do have better views than others. I'm glad that we were able to upgrade you - our two-bedroom suites also have two bathrooms and are very spacious indeed. The word "spotless" is music to my ears! We pride ourselves on having a very clean hotel so thank you! We hope to see you again when you visit Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The mini suite is a Simple hotel room with a wall that divides it in two Smaller rooms - uncomfortably so. They put us in a handicap room so the shower toilet area are all one with a shower curtain that is so close to the shower head that it is worthless - no room to turn around. Really they should at least ask if you mind being in a handicapped room before assigning it to you. Minimally equipped. Clean but well worn. Breakfast buffet was the worst of any Residence Inn I have stayed at. Inconvenient parking - unload before you go park or suffer stairs to haul luggage. Nice area but this hotel is not worth the inflated brand price. Right next to I-5 bridge so some noise from that - but much worse was a building vent fan in the bathroom that is very loud (can't turn it off). Select a room on a lower level if you want any water pressure. Some poorly maintained ceiling patches that looked like a 4 year old was in charge of maintenance.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Karl S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. From your description I am guessing you were in one of our one bedroom suites, and I apologize if you felt like it was too small. I usually suggest the studio suite, as it is the same square footage, but without the wall it seems a bit bigger. We usually get such great comments about the size of our rooms. Being exceptionally full during the summer months all of our rooms must be used, including the accessible rooms and it seems it was disappointing to have received one such room.

I'd really like to learn what made your breakfast experience the "worst" of any Residence Inn. As you can see from our previous reviews our breakfast is usually the praise of the hotel, offering multiple options including gluten free items, and great service. If you would be willing to call or email me I would like to discuss it more with you. I will share your other comments with our operations manager so that they may be addressed on the maintenance side. We strive to provide every guest with an excellent experience, and it seems we fell short on this expectation. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, we would love the chance to earn your trust back with an outstanding stay.

Warm regards,

Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've stayed here on several occasions, most recently with several friends, and I am continually impressed with this hotel. The staff is friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable. The rooms are clean and very spacious, and the breakfast selection is outstanding and free! The location could not be better, with a streetcar stop directly in front of the hotel (it's free to ride into downtown). I've stayed here when travelling for work, with my family, as well as when visiting with friends, and it has been perfect for every type of trip. I strongly recommend this hotel when travelling to Portland!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Brooks M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted our hotel is in the perfect spot for your stays for business and leisure. We thrive on delivering the best service possible, and it seems we hit that mark every visit for you, so we hope you keep coming! See you next trip.

Warm Regards,
Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I travel weekly to Portland for work and always stay at the Marriott Residence Riverfront. The location is convenient, the hotel is clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Having my own kitchen is great as I much prefer to cook and not eat out. WiFi is complimentary as are the frequent evening social gatherings where food, beer, and wine are provided gratis. Breakfast is served daily, also gratis. The gym and pool are also great. Why would I stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: I have found every room they have put me in over the past year to be clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Doctor Z,
We are so thankful for you and we wouldn't want you to stay anywhere else! Thank you for your praise on the cleanliness of our hotel, the amenities we offer and the service you receive. Loyal guests like yourself make coming to work every day a joy. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place is like a home, where the hospitality is humble and excellent!! The place is right because, river walk that will keep you fresh and rejuvenated. Also the spread in the breakfast is quite fits for all. To make your evening great, they have snacks to make your day complete.
Without thinking further...go for this place.

Room Tip: Room facing Columbia river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mohan R,

Thank you for the most excellent review! You highlighted the areas we are most proud of, and I am glad you enjoy staying with us. With summer coming the river walk is going to be a popular spot! We hope to see you again soon!

Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My stay here lasted only one night, but it was a great night. From the nice and friendly staff, to the walk near the river (and to a small sports bar for some drinks), to the spacious room with a cozy bed...it was the perfect hotel stay. The breakfast the next morning was top notch too. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Portland.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richhuryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Richhuryn,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your quick trip from Seattle. We hope you can stay longer your next visit and appreciate knowing that you rated our hotel "top notch"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here the weekend of May 16-18 and very much enjoyed it! The rooms were clean and decorated nicely. The location along Willamette River and adjacent to the Tom McCall Waterfront Park is great for an early morning run or afternoon stroll. Conveniently located to downtown with great restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. Morning complimentary breakfast is very good and the morning breakfast setup crew are friendly, helpful, and jovial. The hotel would benefit by having a lounge with a full bar. The staff were friendly, courteous, and prompt in their service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and west sides are the quietest as are away from the elevated I-5 Freeway nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Rod W,
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate that you took time to mention our green practices as we strive to be a leader in running an environmentally conscious hotel. Even with the things we implement it takes everyone doing their part! Our breakfast crew is certainly jovial - they are the stars of our hotel and work hard to make sure our guests start their day with a smile. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#25 of 146 in Portland
304 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#18 Family Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £106 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing