We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were in town for a family celebration and our stay at the Residence Inn was a lovely addition to a perfect weekend. From the ease of our large, quiet, comfortable room, we were able to view the river, city lights, and Mt. Saint Helens. The front staff and breakfast staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect with easy access to many restaurants a few steps away and downtown shopping using very convenient public transportation. We will return soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxing476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Relaxing476,
I'm glad to hear that our hotel provided excellent accommodations and service for your family celebration. Sounds like you had a memorable weekend in Portland and we were glad to be part of it! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    244
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
259
155
30
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Quite rooms even though it is close the the freeway. Hotel is located next to trolley stop for easy access to anywhere downtown and next to the Riverwalk. The Rverwalk area is very nice and has restaurants and upscale bars.

The room was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend at least a 1 bedroom. Bed as comfortable.

The breakfast was good and breakfast staff does an excellent job.

They do charge for parking and pets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocko2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Jocko2009,
Thank you for your feedback and for mentioning the A+ service you received from our breakfast staff. All of them have worked at our hotel for 10+ years and truly love their jobs! We're glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable as well - something you can always expect when you stay with Marriott. See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Typical residence inn, I've stayed in many around the country. Good rooms. King beds which is nice. Clean. Friendly staff. However, will never stay again rooms facing freeway are impossible to sleep in. Too noisy. Asked for alternative room, was not available. Considering the amount of stays I have with residence inn can't understand why I wasn't put away from freeway to begin with. Next year will stay some where quieter.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maki135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi maki135 ,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important to us. I am delighted you found the staff to be friendly and the hotel clean. I do apologize we did not have a room in a different location to fit your needs. It can be difficult with room assignments when we are at capacity like this weekend. Typically with the three pane glass the noise is muted, but for you that did not seem to be the case. We would love the chance to change your mind about the noise setting of the hotel, if you travel to Portland again soon please do not hesitate to contact me directly to help with a quieter room choice. Everything we do is aimed at the best experience for our guests, and we want to make that happen for you.

Warm regards,
Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My overall experience was wonderful - great room service by attendant. Breakfast was ok, but would have loved more fruits in the morning. Maps provided of the city were confusing, which was also noted by a local, when asked for directions.

Room Tip: My room was near the freeway, which was kind of ok, but had to get use to the noise after a day or s...
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved,the recycle bins in the guest rooms. This would have been helpful during morning breakfast
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Trudie J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay. I am delighted your stay was wonderful and the room service attendant did an outstanding job, I will definitely pass those comments along to that department. I appreciate your feedback regarding offering more fresh fruit during breakfast. It is the type of constructive feedback that we can learn and grown from. We work our best to stay "green" offering recycling bins in the room, and coincidentally we compost or recycle everything we can at breakfast. When you place your dishes in the bins, they are sorted accordingly by the breakfast staff. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again for your next trip to Portland!

Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELK GROVE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and was so impressed with everything. Staff was very friendly from the moment we checked in. Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the riverfront area, which also includes looking at the bridge. Not the best view from your window, but I have seen worse. There was complimentary beer and a light dinner from 6-7:30pm on the day we checked in. This was very good and everyone seemed to be having a great time. On the next morning, we enjoyed the free breakfast buffet and was very satisfied with the variety and quality (there is information in your room telling you what is served each day). The location of the hotel is away from the main part of downtown Portland, but is easily accessible by streetcar which connects to MAX light rail. We also used the swimming pool and hot tub on the 2nd floor and it was very nice. Keep in mind that there is a self-parking fee of $28 per night if you have a car. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel for either business professionals or leisure travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRYAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Bryan T,
Thank you for rating our hotel five stars for cleanliness and service! We aim to please and we're glad to know that you had an excellent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed for a week at the Residence Inn. It is a very nice hotel with spacious rooms along the waterfront area. Great breakfast each day which is included with room stay. Streetcar is within walking distance, so very easy to get to the downtown area. Staff was always friendly and very helpful with directions to the various sites in Portland. We have stayed previously at the Riverplace hotel, but loved the Residence Inn and would definitely stay there again.
T Henderson/Rockville Md

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower level or facing the street....very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twyla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Twyla H,
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to know that you and your daughter enjoyed your week-long stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful breakfast buffet, spacious rooms and helpful staff. Customer satisfaction is the cornerstone of our business and we're glad to hear that you will choose our hotel when you come back to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here on an overnight layover when headed to Alaska. The hotel's location is both good and not so good. It is only a block from the Riverfront and a number of restaurants. However, it is located next to an interstate and construction area, and surrounded by taller buildings that are actually on the river. If you are looking for a river view, I think you should forget it. However, one block to a ton of restaurants and a great walking path along the river, in our opinion, far outweighed any missing view.....

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded upon arrival, and ended up with a two room suite. Far too much room for the two of us, but it was a really nice gesture. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Breakfast in the morning was good, and typical of almost any Residence Inn. The room was spotless.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room with a view of the mountain/city and away from the river which y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 354Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear 354Bubba,
Thank you for your comments - we are listening! Our location is river front but some rooms do have better views than others. I'm glad that we were able to upgrade you - our two-bedroom suites also have two bathrooms and are very spacious indeed. The word "spotless" is music to my ears! We pride ourselves on having a very clean hotel so thank you! We hope to see you again when you visit Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing