We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, walking or for the street car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, walking or for the street car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed here while visiting PSU and to spend a little time in Portland. The public transportation was right outside the door, easy access to everything. About a 10 minute walk up the river to the Portland Beer Festival and the parks. Rooms were nice and clean, with multiple choices to eat, the kitchen was not necessary. The provided breakfast was meh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the river or the city, we didn't and end up with a view of the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explore_often
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Explore_often,
We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in downtown Portland and hope your daughter's visit to PSU was a success! Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    241
    70
    15
    9
See reviews for
256
155
29
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for one night so we didn't have to deal with the 3 hour drive back to Seattle, our main vacation destination. I wasn't a big fan of Portland but the room made up for it. They upgraded us to a 2 room suite which excited my 8 year old son. The suite was clean and comfortable. The only "con" to the room was that it seemed plain and outdated. We stay exclusively in Marriotts when we vacation, oftentimes Residence Inns, and most of the other ones are decorated much better. This room was sparse and had a very old oven/stove. None of that made the stay any less enjoyable though since that stuff is only for aesthetics. The hotel is out of the way of any loud hustle and bustle yet close enough if you want to get to it. Parking is $28 a night but we parked on the street to offset that cost. If you stay here definitely look for street parking. You will only have to pay the meters until 7pm and then start up again at 8am.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monchichi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Monchichi80,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. We hope we helped change your mind about Portland! Our suite furnishings and kitchens will be upgraded this fall so please come see us again next time. Hope you are enjoying Seattle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a night on May 19. The upgrade to a balcony room based on loyalty was appreciated. I had booked one of the open studio type rooms but this one was one with the wall separating the bedroom from the living room which gave it a tight feel. Unfortunately the room had a stale smoke smell. I don't think smoking is supposed to be permitted here but I could be wrong. For a night we could handle it. There was also a large pink stain on the carpet beside the foot of the bed. I didn't like thinking about how it may have gotten there.

We had a street view from a low floor away from the very loud overpass but most of the sound was muffled by the windows. I'm a heavy sleeper but I did hear the train pass by from somewhere during the night. Our friends who were in a room on a high floor very close to the overpass said they could hear the cars through the windows.

The evening reception food was weak but they did offer free beer and sangria. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable selection.

There was a nice area to walk right along the river beside the hotel. There were plenty of dining options there. It was pretty and would be good for a morning run. Streetcar access to the Pearl district and other areas was conveniently located across the street.

If I were in the area again, I wouldn't feel drawn to stay here. I'd likely try another area and a different Marriott brand. But the price was right this time at the time of booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Mommabean,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted to hear we were able to upgrade you to a balcony suite, those are hard to come by! However, the gesture seemed down played by the smoke smell and stain, for that I apologize. We are a smoke free hotel, and do charge a smoking penalty if you are caught smoking in the room or on the balcony, I will have our houeskeeping department check those balcony rooms.

I apologize you thought our evening reception food was "weak", we are a test hotel for the Residence Inn brand. Focusing our efforts on the quality of food served, creating happy hour events designed to get guests to mingle along with serving small bites, and delicious local beers. I will submit your feedback to our brand team, they are looking for specific comments about the night.

It's great to see you were able to walk around the area and enjoy Portland while you were here. We hope to see you again soon!

Christine
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is located on the waterfront of downtown Portland. If you don't mind walking uphill you can take a nice stroll into downtown from the hotel or alternatively take the tram which is right outside the hotel. The hotel is very good to use as a base to explore the local area. We had a car but left it at the hotel for the 3 days we were there and took the trams or walked mostly. There is a nice promenade along the waterfront to go for a walk or run that goes pretty far all around to the other side of the water. There are quite a few food truck pods in the downtown area. Make sure to try them out!

The hotel offers free wifi and a simple free breakfast in the mornings. The rooms are spacious and large but are starting to get a bit dated. The hotel had a notice that mentioned that they were about to start some renos of the rooms.

Overall a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Gort_mtl,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our riverfront location and also took advantage of the streetcar - we sponsor our own stop on the streetcar line right in front of the hotel! You mentioned the food carts that are prominent in Portland and I'm glad you were able to experience these gems! As part of our new evening program we now have food carts come to the hotel twice a month. Thank you again for staying with us - we hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I chose the hotel for the separate bedroom and laundry facilities since my husband, teenage daughter and I were staying there in the middle of a fairly long vacation on the West Coast. The room, location, facilities (pool, breakfast, laundry) were all great. The staff was very professional and easily offered helpful suggestions on transportation, sights to see, and restaurants. Our only complaint was the pull out sofa for my daughter. The mattress was thin and she could feel the metal joints. Unfortunately, she did not sleep well there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Sharon,
I'm glad to know your family had a pleasant stay. Our suites are very spacious and the kitchen facilities allow for our guests to have all the comforts of home. It sounds like you enjoyed all the amenities we offer as well. Thank you for your feedback - we are listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'm not one to typically stay at a Residence Inn, however we selected this property based on point redemption through our Marriott reward program. Arrival was smooth, our room was beautiful, overlooking the river (freeway as well, but the noise was minimal) property is somewhat showing its age, but nothing too concerning, complimentary breakfast was typical of moderate property, but nice with a large variety. The crown jewel of RiverPlace is the great access to the Street Car. Step outside the front door, hop on the Street Car and within minutes you are anywhere in the heart of downtown Portland. Location is amazing :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kywahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda A, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Kywahine,
Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member! I'm so glad to know that you enjoyed convenient access to everything downtown using the Streetcar stop in front of the hotel. The public transportation system in downtown Portland is wonderful but our location just can't be beat. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at this premises twice before and were pleased with both the location and the hotel quality and staff. Unfortunately, this stay was unsatisfactory, probably due to hotel policy changes.
Positive feedback:
We love this location along the waterfront park, with a generous selection of good restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.
While located literally under a freeway bridge, the rooms are very quiet.
The complimentary breakfast is varied enough that there should be something almost anyone would like. There is not a "cooked to order" option, but the eggs, meat, and everything else is kept fresh. The kitchen staff is welcoming and helpful. They deserve kudos.
We stayed in a King Suite, which was well designed and adequately sized.
On the other hand:
The furniture was uncomfortable. The bed was too soft and I chose to sleep on the sofa the second night to avoid the backache I suffered the first night. Interestingly, the sofa and chair were quite hard, which wasn't too comfortable for sitting, but helped with sleeping.
The hotel claims to be pet-friendly, which is mandatory for our travel style. In the past, this was true and it is still listed as pet-friendly. When we arrived we were told by the front desk clerk that there is a $25 pet fee, which is reasonable and we agreed. When we checked out, we were charged $25 per dog (we have two), per night. We were also charged all the taxes and fees for the pet fee. So, what we thought was a reasonable $25 pet fee (I consider anything up to $25 as reasonable), turned out to be $116 extra for a two night stay. Note that we opted out of room service for the first night we were there, so there was no extra cleaning for the pets that night. Also, our dogs do not shed and are extremely well mannered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine G, Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Mona M,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear such wonderful comments about our breakfast; both about the staff's excellent service but also that you enjoyed our selection. Regarding your pet fees, I apologize if you felt misled in the price. It is never our intention to "hide" fees. The pet policy you signed when you checked in stated the fee was $25 per pet, per night plus taxes. It is the City of Portland that imposes taxes, and in addition to charging tax on pets, they charge tax on roll-a-way beds and have mentioned wanting to charge on the parking fee too! We are right there with you on the tax portion, but are required to charge them nonetheless. I would be happy to discuss some compensation, please contact me directly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel, we hope to see you next trip!

Christine Gottschalk
cgottschalk@innventures.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Address: 2115 SW River Pkwy, Portland, OR 97201-8024
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Portland
#19 Green Hotel in Portland
#25 Family Hotel in Portland
#45 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Marriott Residence Inn - Portland Downtown RiverPlace hotel is in downtown Portland near the Tom McCall Waterfront Park in the South Waterfront District. This all-suite hotel is the closest hotel to Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and is also near Portland State University. The Marriott Residence Inn Portland Downtown at RiverPlace is near downtown Portland's shopping and entertainment district and the hotel features their own stop on the Portland Streetcar line for convenient access everywhere. The Portland Aerial Tram is a short distance on foot as well. This downtown Portland hotel is minutes from the Oregon Convention Center and the Moda Center, home of the Portland Trail Blazers. This extended stay Marriott hotel is located less than 10 miles from the Portland International Airport and is adjacent to the Willamette River featuring accessible walking and jogging paths along the downtown Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Riverplace Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing