We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Plano, TX, United States
2 reviews
“A Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a comfortable and friendly hotel with well-furnished rooms and public areas. We stayed twice, coming through Portland in each direction. Both stays were totally pleasing. The staff is friendly and helpful and we felt like we were truly welcomed here as guests. We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Courtland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review! We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    190
    106
    54
    16
See reviews for
117
141
50
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night but were quite happy with the experience.
Pro: clean, modern-looking room with great coffee maker, a mini-refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast buffet was great and cheap ($8.95 each). Sound isolation was good...we hardly heard the airplane noise.

Con: almost none.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian5900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We will see you next time that you are in Portland1

liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
537 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here the first and last nights of our Portland visit. We arrived late on Friday evening and caught the shuttle from the airport. It was already on the way when I called so it arrived minutes later! The lady who was driving warned us about the “boil water” directive that Portland was under. When we arrived at the hotel, they were very generous with the bottled water. We were given a room on the 4th floor. I wondered why we weren’t given a suite as HiltonHonors Diamond and was told by Kaitlin (sp?) at the 2nd check-in that all of the suites were on the 1st floor. If this information is accurate, I am glad we weren’t in one! Breakfast was fantastic and a very friendly, always smiling, young man took great care of everyone. I had 4 eggs over medium plus lots of bacon and sausage patties (great protein breakfast). I really enjoy HGI’s breakfasts; they are as good as Embassy Suites without the crowd since they aren’t included for everyone. You pay about $10 for it, book it with your room, or get it as a Gold/Diamond benefit so it’s not the circus environment of ES. The shuttle took us to the Red Line tram where we headed towards Portland for our next stay at the Doubletree for 2 nights before returning here on Monday. The shuttle picked us up at the airport by the tram station. It was the 3rd different driver. At check-in where we received a different room on the 4th floor, I found out that breakfast doesn’t start until 6 am, but we had to leave before then for our 6:50 am flight. Airport hotels, especially on the west coast where so many flights leave early for the east, should start their breakfast at 5 am. Also, they never gave us any coupons for the bar which we usually receive at HGI, but I didn’t see one plus the restaurant was closed the second and we arrived too late the first time. Since the restaurant also was closed that Memorial Day Monday evening, we had to go elsewhere to eat. One of the best attributes of this hotel is its proximity to the Jack in the Box 100-200 yards down the street. It was my first Jack in the Box! We got sandwiches, fries, and drinks plus breakfast sandwiches to reheat the next morning. The room had a comfortable king sized bed with decent tv, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The hotel looked like a “cookie cutter” Hampton Inn (without suites), but they said it was built as a HGI. The views from both rooms were of trees so it was quiet. They did offer to give us 750 points on the second stay since we could not do breakfast. We DID NOT receive the Amex booking bonus nor the 2nd quarter HH double bonus so I felt cheated on points. Prices were very good at $89 and $94, respectively, before taxes for the 2 stays. The shuttle driver who took us to the tram was there on Tuesday morning to take us to the airport. He had gone to school in Florida and was very attentive and friendly, a great asset to this hotel. Wifi worked fine, but I was disappointed that they didn’t have HGTV. I know that’s Home and Garden but it’s one channel I enjoy watching when I stay at HGI! I am giving a 3 because of the issues with the breakfast, the lack of points awarded, the restaurant not being available on a weeknight, the lack of any real extras such as coupons for the restaurant/bar, or room upgrades for Diamond status, and more. The best assets of this hotel are the shuttle, the microwave/fridge, the breakfast when convenient, and, most of all, the Jack in the Box close by!

Room Tip: get one on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for the time you took to submit your review. I am gald that you were generally happy with your stay with us and I am glad that Jack In the Box was a hit with you. We do have many restaurants in the area, which makes it convenient for our guests.
Thank you again for your reveiw and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is a fine example of why paying the extra money for a Hilton room is worth it. Quality above many other Hilton properties. The room was actually very clean including the corners and edges of the carpet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Love this review! Thank you so much..See you next time!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This continues to be our favorite place to stay in Portland. So convenient to SFO, IKEA, and near the Met. Love the staff at the HGI. Very accommodating. The amenities are great -- Keurigs in every room, fantastic AYCE hot breakfast with excellent made-to-order omelettes, bacon, sausage, eggs, fresh fruit, etc. The pool / Jacuzzi was very well kept. it's a top shelf place for a great price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fooj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! I am happy that you find our hotel accomoodating and convenient for your stay here. Of course, it doesn't hurt that we are down the street from Ikea and other fun stores to shop at!
See you next time!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This property exceeded all expectations - fast friendly and great staff. From the 4am staff to the Check in and Dinner Waitress. All were pleasant I will come back when in Portland Area and when I need to stay near Airport. Great Group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jerome A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you, thank you for the nice reveiw about our staff. I think that we have a wonderful staff here also and we are constantly trying to go the extra mile for our guests. I feel it is the best way to win the loyalty of our guests.
We will see you next time that you travel to Portland!

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We would definitely stay at a Hilton Garden Inn in the future. The service was great and we were surprised and happy to learn there was an in house restaurant and bar. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI01, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our on-site restaurant and bar Although dinner is only served Monday through Friday we find that our guests really enjoy it. Of course we do have breakfast seven days a week. Thank you again and please come back next time you travel to Portland.

Sincerely,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#49 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Address: 12048 Northeast Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Portland
#43 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#49 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing