We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #42 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The quiet luxury of the setting and the convenience of a full service spa make this an excellent place to escape.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janek1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
There are newer reviews for River's Edge Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

My wife and 10-month-old came with me to Portland when I was working there for a few days. We extended the trip so that we could have a bit of a vacation together, too. We asked for a junior suite and they upgraded us to a much larger suite, which for the three of us was perfect. I travel with lots of gear for work, and the baby... has lots of gear, too. We asked for a high chair and they mangaged to snag one from the restaurant downstairs, which was lovely. But aside from us, I don't thing there were any families around at all. It was all business travelers. My wife and baby took the streetcar into downtown each day I was working. It was easy and straightforward. Location was beautiful - right next to the river. But there was a 20-minute walk to the nearest convenience store, which was a bit of a problem because the hotel didn't have any snacks or drinks to buy unless you went through room service. We had a great trip, and the room was really impressive. But if I were only vacationing in Portland, I would have chosen a hotel closer to downtown that had seen more families in its past.

Room Tip: It was expensive, but a corner overlooking the river was huge, had a gas fireplace, and an enormous...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonsammy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Moonsammy4,

You are right, we do not have too many babies in our frequent guest list but we love babies at The Avalon Hotel and Spa and we will do our best to accommodate their needs.

We are glad to know that you and your family had a good stay. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We live outside of the city but just wanted to escape life for a night. The hotel and staff were wonderful. I was disappointed that I couldn't get a spa appointment for the entire evening we were there nor the next day but will have to remember to book that before we get there next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Kathi B,

We are also disappointed we were not able to have you as our guest at Spa at the Avalon. You can always contact us directly at spadesk@avalonhotelandspa.com and we will be very glad to assist you with your spa reservations.

Sincerely,
Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The staff is courteous, enthusiastic, and professional. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The location is spectacular. Take a walk along the river. There is lots to enjoy. Thanks, Avalon.

Room Tip: A river view room is a treat! Very peaceful.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear CDS Green,

Your review of your experience at The Avalon Hotel and Spa is truly appreciated and it has been shared with the staff.

Please continue to return to our facilities and enjoy the many services we offer in our Hotel, Spa, and Aquariva Italian Kitchen.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Ana Maret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times. It's not downtown, but it's pretty close. Moderatly priced, even for the 'river view' rooms. I really like the river view rooms; they have a patio that looks out over a nice walking path along the river. There are lots of trees and it's very peaceful. Rooms are clean and quiet. No charge for internet. Continental breakfast included, but no breakfast room service. Room service for lunch and dinner though. It's really central to everthing; we were here on business and it was pretty quick to get anywhere in the Portland area. While we were walking along the river we saw what we thought was a bald eagle. Pretty cooll! The river is beautiful! When we come back to Portland, we'll stay again.

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Continental breakfast in every floor, nice rooms and very nice staff. The hotel's restaurant is excelent. Would certainly stay there in my next visit to Portland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSPENHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalonHotelSpa, Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear SSpenha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay, it is wonderful to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to the Avalon Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Ana Maret
amaret@avalonhotelandspa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Very clean and wonderful river view. My only complaints are valet parking (annoying!!) get new tv's and refrigerator. Great walking trails!! Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMCPortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 144 in Portland
1,965 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £137 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing