We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So dissappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #36 of 141 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So dissappointed.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The area is nice. It is close to many downtown sites. The beds are HORRIBLE. I never have back issues and I woke each day with terrible low back pain (a good reason to seek the spa/massage services.) Valet service is NOT optional as stated unless you want to park and walk a mile or park illegally. The information on the site leads you to believe that you have a choice. NO, you don't unless you don't have an auto. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Not all rooms have balconies...mine (4th floor) had a pleasant view of the aircondtioning units and business buildings/parking lot. Noisy. The hotel itself was nice, and seemed updated. The bathroom was large and well lit. The room itself was clean but something was not quite right witht he A/C unit...the sheets and air seemed VERY humid and damp. Apparently there is complimentary fruit - never saw it. The coffee provided in the rooms is good. I am well traveled and have stayed in hostels that are more pleasureable than this hotel. This should be rated more or less like a motel & never as 4 star Spa. So disappointed. On a positive note. There are bikes available in the lobby. That is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside to avoid noise from huge AC units on street side. Ask for balcony room. Make sure...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins located in room (plastics/cans,paper.) They ask you to recycle your towels. I feel they try to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trave1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Trave1411: My apologies for not meeting your expectations on your recent visit. Unfortunately the parking areas are not owned by the hotel so that valet parking is required similar to a downtown hotel with parking lot, we have attempted to keep the rate as low as possible and way below downtown. We do provide shuttle service and are two blocks from the Portland Streetcar station for those guests without vehicles. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments regarding the hotel. Best regards, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    388
    148
    91
    51
See reviews for
260
462
87
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were in Portland for a wedding and my wife had been sent a travelzoo promotion the day before we left for the River's Edge, just south of downtown along the river. We canceled our other hotel reservation to take a chance - and it was a great choice! River's Edge has valet parking (our promotion had in included in the cost) and were warmly greeted upon our arrival. The staff at the front desk were very attentive and helpful throughout our stay (two nights). The rooms were large and well appointed. A prior review noted the old cathode ray televisions, but it should be noted that they were installed flat screens in all rooms while we were there. Baths were large - with a separate shower and a large soaking bathtub. There also is a balcony, which on the warm days we were there was wonderful for sitting outside and reading (complimentary newspapers available in the lobby - The Oregonian and USA Today).

The hotel has a spa connected to it and guests can use the sauna, jacuzzi and steam rooms - however as they have a clothing optional policy (very nice), there were separate facilities for men and women. (Might make it more attractive for same sex couples, although didn't note any using the facilities while we were there...)

There also is a large area with lots of exercise equipment and even a small dance/yoga studio. there are a few classes offered , but our wedding activities precluded our attending.

While there is no food service in the building, there is a connection with the restaurant next door - Aquariva. The package we purchased included a continental breakfast, listed for $8 on the menu. We took the $8 as credit towards other items, and I must say that the bagel with cream cheese, capers, pickled onion and especially the house cured lox was amazing. I grew up in NY and the lox is perhaps the best I've ever had. Texture was buttery, and it tasted great. We chose the same option the second morning as well. Also had lunch there one time - I had a burger that was exactly as I ordered (I always ask for meat to be cooked as rare as they will let it out of the kitchen). Wonderful flavors, and the fries were fantastic. By the way, we had our meals outdoors on the deck overlooking the river. Very idyllic.

Should also mention that the hotel provides complimentary rental of bicycles and there is a river trail just outside the hotel, so easy riding to downtown.

We were very pampered, and the price was less than we would have paid at the Marriott Residence Inn near the Pearl District. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the river side and was worth it as we had time to sit on the balcony and relax. If you...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling in each room, allow you the choice to hang your towels and re-use, or to throw on floor and be replaced. They offer a cooler of water with ice and fruit slices at the front desk, 24/7. Very refreshing. Even encouraged us to fill our own water bottles with this...
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyVoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi SandyVoit: thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay with us and we appreciate your “touching all the bases” on the amenities and restaurant offerings. Next time in you might try a couples pedicure at the Spa, maybe even with a glass of wine! Best wishes for a great summer season. Best regards, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Washingston
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thought I had booked River Place Hotel in Portland, but got there and no reservation. Rivers Edge in not as central as River Place, but they offer a shuttle to downtown, and the trolley runs right by it. The staff was what made the stay a delight. Very caring and funny and friendly young people. The river trail was right out our window and the river beyond, even though hard to see through all the trees. The restaurant and bar next door was lovely and once again great staff! It is always nice when something "unplanned" turns out better than you would expect!

Bed was comfy and towels were cushy! Real coffee cups, so I say this was a good deal for the money!

Room Tip: Choose river side. We were on the first floor, but I would suggest higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaKingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Ms. Kingsley, it was serendipitous for us that you spent your Portland visit with us. We shall pass along your kudos to the staff for their friendly service and hope to see you again in the future, maybe not by mistake next time. Best wishes, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed one night at the River's Edge and found it to be clean, comfortable and conveniently located, just a couple of blocks from a Portland Streetcar stop. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Union Station upon departure. Staff was generous with their information about the city. The gym/workout area was phenomenal. Our room did not face the river but we didn't expect it as we booked through Priceline at a great rate. We would recommend and stay again if in Portland in the future.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a riverfront, although on the opposite side of the hotel, where we were, the scene w...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have the usual practice where they ask you to save on having towels washed.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
sdyoung: Thanks for writing your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes for continued safe travels. Best regards, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed at the River's Edge from July 9th through July 12th. We arrived at 10:00 in the morning and were able to check in right away, which was great. The room was comfortable, modern with really comfortable beds. Our room had a big screen flat tv and a really nice, clean bathroom. If you reused your towels, you got a $5 voucher each day for breakfast, which was nice. The hotel was right on a very nice biking/walking path that was right along the river. We were close to the NS Streetcar, which was great, because (and this would be one note of warning to people), this hotel is not close to downtown Portland, if you don't have a car, which we didn't. The hotel does have a complimentary SUV that will take you to the west side of Portland, which we used on two different occasions. This was a very nice service and the driver's were all very friendly. Great place!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sunshine071085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello Sunshine071085: thank you for sharing your comments regarding the hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed the setting. Given our location here in the South Waterfront we have the Portland Streetcar Lowell stop two blocks away and our Navigator provides a drop-off shuttle service to the downtown areas to help our guests maximize their Portland time. Thanks for staying with us.
Best regards, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had an unexpected stay in Portland and chose this hotel solely because I needed a base in SW Portland. The hotel is lovely, sitting on the Willamette only steps from the river trail. The view from my balcony was calm and beautiful (2nd floor, facing the river), the rooms are comfortable as are the balcony chairs (pads are in the closet).

I'm probably the only one ever to visit this hotel and not try the spa. It looked wonderful, but my time was tight. The hotel also has bikes for the trail. Lots of people, dogs, joggers and cyclists are on the river trail. I walked by myself early in the morning and felt very safe. There is also a car which drives you into downtown Portland. I did not use this service.

The bed was a little soft for my taste, and the walls just a little too thin; I could hear my neighbors. I'm not a big fan of valet parking ($25/night -- the only option), but the valets were competent, friendly, and quick. These are small quibbles. I'm coming back with my husband and dogs. (Dogs are an extra $50 charge, total for the stay.) They'll love that river trail.

Room Tip: I loved my second floor room facing the river. The balcony juts out further than on the other floors...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel has recycling in the rooms -- excellent -- and the standard "save your towel" policy. They also had one other program I haven't seen. If you opted not to have your room cleaned, they gave you a $5 coupon for the restaurant. (Good only if you stay more than one night.)
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Lois2272: thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the hotel and your stay with us. We appreciate the kind words for the staff and pointing out our recycling efforts. We look forward to welcoming you and your 4-legged friend back. Have a great summer season.
Best regards, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Made our reservations, for 3 nights, three months in advance, Upon arrival was offered a "river view" room for an additional $10 per night, declined and was assigned a room, on the 3rd floor, with a view of an large building air conditioner, overnight parking is $25 per night (no offsite parking available), all parking is via Valet.
Staff on the day and evening shifts were very friendly, Third shift, over three nights, didn't even look up let alone greet me.
Strange, in an expensive hotel, to find a room with an old fashion TV (flat screens were supposed to be installed "next week").
All this and the Hotel was not even close to being crowded (wonder why) THEN the detached restaurant we found out that "Happy Hour" has discounted drinks if you take a table without the view of the River - if you want to view the River drinks are full price.

Room Tip: Given their price and my experience I haven't the foggiest idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine A, General Manager at River's Edge Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear G9238FOjohnr: so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The hillside rooms do not have the river view but we encourage our guests to walk the river path or take a complimentary bike out on one of the riverfront bike trails to enjoy the setting of the hotel. Upon reading your review some time ago we spoke with our night desk and lobby staff regarding their service and with the restaurant Manager stressing that while the happy hour is “bar and lounge centric” and there are floor to ceiling windows to the river, if a guest wants to sit in the restaurant or a restaurant patio we should extend the happy hour courtesies to them also. Thank you for sharing your experience and comments regarding this situation, my apologies for that oversight. Thank you for selecting us for your accommodations, we appreciate and value your patronage. Best regards, Russ Abell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 141 in Portland
1,933 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,037 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Hotel & Spa

Property: River's Edge Hotel & Spa
Address: 0455 SW Hamilton Ct, Portland, OR 97239 (Formerly Avalon Hotel & Spa)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Portland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#30 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#52 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River's Edge Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River’s Edge Hotel & Spa is an environmentally-friendly, 99-room luxury boutique hotel located at the edge of Portland’s South Waterfront District, an emerging mixed-use neighborhood integrating alternative transportation, parks and trails, green building practices, retail, restaurants and healthy living with art and design. Perched on the banks of the Willamette River just minutes from downtown Portland, River’s Edge offers travelers the sophistication and warm hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. Guests and visitors enjoy classic service, modern amenities and comforts expected from Portland boutique hotels, making River’s Edge Hotel & Spa a favorite among all Portland waterfront hotels. Among the hotel’s valued amenities are its luxurious two-level, 13,000-square-foot full-service spa, salon and fitness center as well as Aquariva restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River's Edge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel And Spa
Avalon Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing