We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place New PDX” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Ranked #73 of 138 Hotels in Portland
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place New PDX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed two different times at this hotel on my trip to Portland. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Public transportation is only a few blocks away, but from what I gather, it's not the best area to be walking around alone at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCIPDX, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We always attempt to give our guests outstanding service as without you we would not be in business. There are several public transportation avenues near our hotel and though it can be a concern to walk in an unfamiliar area I can say that nearly all of our front desk associates take public transportation. And even walking after 11:00pm to the Parkrose/Sumner Transit Center I have not had an employee relate any safety issue. However, for any guest uncomfortable with walking, we offer 24 hour shuttle service to the Airport. The Max Red Line (light rail) has a stop at the Airport, simply call us when you have arrived at the Airport Max Station and we will send the shuttle for you. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time you are in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    117
    65
    23
    21
See reviews for
90
89
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stay here on a Park & Fly, stayed 1 night parked car for 14 days. Got a great rate on the room, very comfortable rooms and free shuttle service to the airport. Very convenient to the freeway, easy on/off access. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCIPDX, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of your last stay. We are pleased to here that the hotels amenities and rooms were to your liking. We are fortunate enough to have long term parking space available year round and competitive package rates as we understand it can be a huge benefit to our travelers. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time you are traveling out of Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed here for a couple nights while visiting friends in the area.

Having been warned by other reviewers about the train noise, I asked and got a room over the lobby. It was certainly quiet at night!

The room was clean and well maintained. There was plenty of room for me and my two kids to spread out: there were two queen beds, a big mini-fridge, a desk, a sofa, and a small hall to the bathroom.

The pool was well maintained, but the whirlpool looked iffy. I took advantage of their tiny fitness center and was happy no one else did -- had more than two people been in the closet of a room at one time, or had someone else used the fitness machine next to the one I was using, we would have literally rubbed elbows!

The breakfast bar was plentiful, and when I asked for a banana they replenished the entire bowl. I appreciated that they had both the local paper and Wall St. Journal complimentary in the breakfast room, rather than the usual USA Today.

The staff that worked there were all very nice and friendly. Lucky for me I speak a little Spanish and was able to converse with the cleaning staff when they asked me when I would be out of the room so they could clean it.

The elevator is very slow, so use the stairs when you can. The hallway on the 2nd floor was very hot until I noticed the a/c was off (it was almost freezing on the main level). The rooms did heat up fast and took a while to cool down.

If I had to stay in hotel in Portland again, this was in a good location, near the airport, freeways, etc. and I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks. Or, if one is not available, ask for earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCIPDX, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us and offering an unbiased review. Your travel tips for our hotel were a wonderfully helpful addition for future guests, especially those relating to light sleepers. Our staff attempts to offer exceptional service and I am pleased to hear that they were attentive to your needs. Thank you again and safe and happy travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights while visiting our daughter and her husband. The suite we stayed in was roomy and pleasant. It gave us room to entertain our family comfortably. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was ample. It is located near 2 different freeways and it is a quick trip to the Columbia Gorge. We will be staying here again when we return for a family visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCIPDX, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are glad you and your family had a nice time here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, IA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on July 1 and July 2, 2012 while exploring the Mt. Hood and Portland areas. We are Choice Hotels rewards members and stay in many Comfort Inns. This was better than the average Comfort Inn. We stayed in one of the two room suites. The extra space was nice and the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. But there was a bit of a musty smell in the room that never seemed to go away. Maybe it's because the suites are not used very often. The only downside to the room was that there was no closet or place to hang up any clothes. There also was not a luggage rack for our luggage. So we had to use the coffee table or desk and end tables for our luggage and clothes. The front desk staff was wonderful--very friendly and cheerful and helpful. The location and condition of the hotel was good and for the price we paid I think the hotel was a very good value. We did not use the pool area, but the pool area did look very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drwlaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCIPDX, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review. After receiving your review I advised our housekeeping staff of your comments and they are routinely freshening up the room as I am sure you were correct and the room may not have been rented recently. Also, in case you will be renting a similar room from us in the future, there is a closet in the main room and not in the bedroom; it is next to the sink. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed one night on July 5th. I stay at a lot of hotels in the Comfort Inn "level", so I pretty much know what I'm going to get, but this was one of the best in the chain. Clean, excellent location, and one of, if not the friendliest/helpful general manager working the front desk I've ever met. I'll definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in the area. Sure - if you want uber luxury and feel like dropping a ton of cash, you can find fancier places, but overall, if you need a room for a night or three right near the airport, at a reasonable price, with a friendly staff, you just aren't likely to do better than this.

Edit: My room was near the front, so the train didn't bother me.

Room Tip: Book near the front of the property if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashvlMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Mike,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet and speak with you and I wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your loyalty to both our hotel and with Choice Privileges. Respectfully, Farrah Matthis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here after coming to Portland for the night. We have stayed here many times before and know that it will be a nice room with a good location. It's a good location to the airport and the rooms are clean and comfy. Breakfast is good and the staff is helpful. Overall a decent place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjtravels17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
I wanted to personally let you know how much we appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you again for your business and response on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#87 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Address: 5019 NE 102nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1199 (Formerly Red Lion Inn & Suites Portland Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property will provide you with a sense comfort and fulfillment during your travels in Portland. Whether business, vacation, or personal matters, we are here to make sure you enjoy your stay. We offer Park and Fly packages which can be booked directly through the hotel for long term parking guests, and free parking for guests during their stay with us. If you have any questions, please feel free to give us a call or email us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Portland International Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing