We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planes, Trains...........and Noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Ranked #84 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Located in the NE quadrant, right near the airport, but we never heard the planes. Trains? YES! Lots of them, and a crossing is nearby, so they're always sounding the horn. If you are a light sleeper, don't stay at this hotel.
The room was very nice, very clean and a decent size with the sink outside the bathroom. Lots of lights, too. Wi-fi was a good speed. Towels need to be replaced; in 3 days, none of the towels we got were nice and fluffy. The clothes hook positioned at the very top of the almost 7' bathroom door was out of reach and useless to me. Would have liked a small safe in the room, although we did not have any problems without it.
Breakfast consists of the standard muffins, waffles, a few bananas, 3 cereals, crumbly scrambled eggs and sausage patties. Not too exciting. The waffle iron was positioned unsafely too close to other stuff you had to reach for. If you want something more tasty, take a short walk next door to Elmer's Restaurant, which has an extensive menu and great food at reasonable prices.
The hotel staff friendliness was non-existent, never a greeting from any of them. The desk clerk, who checked us in, was quick, but not really pleasant. The breakfast person could not be bothered to utter a "good morning."
If you plan to spend most of your time downtown or in the other popular tourist areas in the city, note that you are a good 30-40 minutes away at this hotel. It is very convenient for travels east toward Multnomah, though. And then, our price was very reasonable in the $90's per night, which is considerably less that city prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103PatD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a tough review to write. My wife and I stayed here the night we arrived in Portland and the night before we left. The night we arrived I would give a 5 star review and the last night I would give a 1 star. So I have averaged these two and will give the hotel 3 stars. The location is excellent and the breakfast was good both stays. Our first night was a very nice clean room. The airport shuttle took awhile, but traffic was bad so it was understandable. The staff went out of their way to help us with a rental car for which we were very grateful. The last night found us in a room that had been converted from a smoking to a nonsmoking room. Even with major cleaning, the room still smelled of smoke. There were cigarette burn holes in the curtains. But the worst part was the shuttle to the airport in the morning. We were waiting (there was also another family waiting) to go to the airport at 8:45 AM. (This was arranged the night before.) We did not leave until a little after 9:00 AM. Needless to say we were both stressed and upset about the delay. So, if you stay here, hopefully you will have the 5 star night instead of the 1 star night.

Room Tip: Careful if you use the airport shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rblethun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is paper thin, next to the airport, train tracks and the road. The building shakes when the train passes by. The furniture and carpeting has been upgraded to today's taste however, there were many wholes in the wallpaper were previous fixtures used to be. I mean, if you are going to redecorate, might as well go all the way. Because of it's surroundings the hotel offers no view and few restaurant options close by. The breakfast was horrendous. Diluted apple and orange juice, overcooked powder eggs, super salty biscuits, tired oranges. I heard many people complaining in the breakfast room. The laundry room door was continuously open which I find is unprofessional. The gym overs two machines. The bed is comfortable. However, this seems robe a trend going on in hotels right now: a duvet sandwiched between a flat sheet and a decorative spread. I dislike these because they always come undone and it's unhygienic. The hotel staff we dealt with weren't particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MissForv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Starts with breakfast... Nothing was ever ready. The bed, needs to be replaced, crater in the middle. Sat on the couch once, sank within 4" of the floor... This couch is not worthy of a yard sale and should go strait to a land fill.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Exterior presentation of the hotel was very appealing. This carried on into the lobby area and into the restaurant area. The hotel certainly gave the presentation of being well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful, a pleasant experience. Our room was very acceptable. There were no lingering smells and there was a general impression that care was taken to clean the room. The bed was fresh and very comfortable. The bathroom was tired. The water tap was in bad need of replacement, I wasn't sur e if the tap handle was going to come off in my hand when I pulled it to turn the water on and the tub where the surround meets the tub needed attention. This bathroom had the sink in the main area, which I thought was convenient. We needed slightly later time for departure and the folks in the front desk were more than helpful in this regard.

Room Tip: The restaurant was very good. There is a good selection on the menu and the service is what one wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was a good size, the beds were comfortable. The room had to be cooled down which took several hours. The toilet was found to be very slow in functioning to none functioning. The toilet plunger provided fell apart. The refrigerator felt warm so we did not use it.

The breakfast area - waffle maker required assistance to understand how it worked.

We were grateful for the shuttle service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The rooms were clean (and I'm picky), the linens were great and the beds were very comfortable. The front desk staff was just so-so...not overly friendly but not rude. The location is not at the Portland Airport but an exit or two away in a very sketchy part of town. Our room overlooked a very sad and run down trailer park. The pool looked nice and we left too early to enjoy the breakfast. I heard from other guests that the airport shuttle is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nursebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#91 of 144 in Portland
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport

Address: 5019 NE 102nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220-1199 (Formerly Red Lion Inn & Suites Portland Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property will provide you with a sense comfort and fulfillment during your travels in Portland. Whether business, vacation, or personal matters, we are here to make sure you enjoy your stay. We offer Park and Fly packages which can be booked directly by calling the hotel for availability and rates, and free parking for guests who are staying in house with us. We have courtesy shuttle that runs to and from the airport. Limited hours between 3:45 AM and 12:15 AM. Please contact the hotel for more details. If you have any questions, please feel free to give us a call or email us! We are under a renovation. Operation hours between 9 AM and 6 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Portland International Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing