We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tierra Soul Urban Farm Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is really staying in someone's house with them and their two children. It's okay. Kind of lacks privacy, is very noisy, and overpriced for what it is. Next time I would stay in a hotel or a full B&B that is a little more service-oriented, cleaner, and quieter. If you're looking to just stay in a room at someone else's house, this is fine. It would be better advertised as that type of situation, rather than as a guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountainlover558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    6
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first trip away from home with our 8 week old baby, and the Arias family were amazing. They made us feel instantly at home, gave us a crib for our little boy, and were a delight to be around. We stayed in both the caravan, and in the main house and can recommend both - quirky, offbeat, beautifully, uniquely decorated, homelike and peaceful. If you want a hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want a unique Portland experience in an urban farmhouse with an adorable family to talk to, this is your place. I love it, and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RF217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were looking for a weird Portland experience, for our first time to Portland, and this place fit the bill perfectly. We loved that the kids were running around, (sometimes screaming, sometimes telling us about the different kinds of tea they had made) early in the morning. We loved the small amount of time we spent with the family and got a tour of their house and yard when we asked. And I thought the house was beautiful, and our room was comfortable, but not super fancy. I think they do a good job of describing what you're getting into on their website.

Some of the notes that others have made ring true though - we were looking forward to conversing with the family and other travelers over breakfast, but I guess we went during an off-season, because we were the only occupants and breakfast wasn't served, even though one of the information sheets in-room said that they sometimes have breakfast? It didn't end up being a big problem because we got to go to some great Portland restaurants for breakfast. I think we would have liked to have felt more communal or more welcomed, but it was more of a "come and go as you please, and we're here if you need us" vibe. I think we wanted to be more interactive with the owner's family, but didn't want to overstep our bounds or intrude on them. Maybe that's more indicative of our own hesitation than their lack of willingness, but it was something I noticed!

Overall, I would encourage others to stay there - it was a really cool, different experience, and we would do it again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gracej630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My family stayed at Tierra Soul, and we got along so easily with the family that runs the B&Bee that it was like staying with friends. Our son got along wonderfully with their two kiddos, which meant a lot more peace for us parents as we could sit back and let them all play. I love the furry sheep, the help-yourself coffee/tea setup and Fia's mini piano concert. We definitely plan on staying again on our future trips to Portland. We were there in the off-season, so it was really just our family and the family that owns the BB, which felt very friendly and intimate.

It is also walking distance from lots of great shops and restaurants. We were able to get there from the airport via public transportation with no problems, and then we could walk all around the neighborhood to eat and buy souvenirs.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We came to pdx for an extended weekend. Loved the house and farm tour. Felt like there was a few too many rules about when to shower and washing our own dishes. I don't go on vacation to do my own dishes. Comfy bed and cool vibe but the naked baby running around the house was a little much. Overall worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in 2012 on my last leg of a Vancouver, Seattle and Portland trip. I wanted somewhere to stay that wasn't a generic chain hotel, or an out of the way, stuffy B&B. I truly enjoyed the unique feel, chatting with other travelers over coffee in the morning. I was walking distance from cool shopping and public transit that took me right into downtown in about 10 minutes and was provided with maps and tips for getting around.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Diamond, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I forget what I Googled to find this place. Possibly hippy bed and breakfast or maybe it was authentic Portland lodgings. Whatever the query, we sure got what we came for; four nights in a real family home and a glimpse into our hosts’ daily lives and routines.

If all you’re seeking is a place to lay your head then keep looking as you probably won’t be happy with Tierra Soul. If you want a unique and truthful time with people who welcome you into their home but aren’t going to make a fuss about it then go ahead and book your stay.

I’ll finish this post in list format as that seems to be how most like to consume information.

The Great:
• The Tierra Soul children are hilarious. Both precocious and cute the brother and older sister kept we and our young son entertained and well informed about the urban farm animals and upkeep.
• The mattress is quite plush. It’s a very comfortable space age foam thing. We stayed in the Loft and were pleased with the king size bed for us and the single for our son. It also has a private bath, the only room in the joint that doesn’t have shared facilities.
• The hand made soap found in every room is a rich and lathery treat. The secret according to Krista, co-owner of Tierra Soul, is FAT. Soap made with animal
fat is a luxury that really must be experienced.
• The first hand look at how this family functions in their daily lives is an adventure in itself. Not much is hidden here, from their philosophy on child-rearing to what they eat and drink and how to prepare it is all on display and open to questions, discussion and sharing. Both Krista and David have a lot of knowledge about food; both the production and preparation.
• The goats, ducks and chickens are a wonder. We come from a place where farming happens on a much larger scale so to see gardening and animal husbandry on a standard city lot is an eye-opener.

The Cold Hard Truth (according to us)
• There is a lock on the front door but it doesn’t get used. I was a little unsettled about falling asleep with no lock between my family and the outside world but in all fairness I’m still alive and well.
• They do ask you sort your garbage into recyclables and landfill/compost waste. I tried my best but there was only one bin with no bag so we did have a bit of a mess on our hands at the end of our stay. I travel with garbage bags so I didn’t mention this issue to our hosts as it wasn’t a huge deal. I’m certain they would have remedied the situation if I’d bothered to bring it to their attention.
• Your socks may get wrecked. The house boasts the original floorboards. They are a little rough in spots and have a tendency to hook onto sock threads. Either bring slippers or keep your shoes on.

You would be hard pressed to find another family who will welcome you into their home, warts and all, like the Arias family at Tierra Soul. They are not phony and won’t try to kiss you as you arrive but hopefully you’ll leave having created a few genuine friendships.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vavak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.3 mi away
McMenamins Kennedy School
McMenamins Kennedy School
#33 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monticello Motel
Monticello Motel
#87 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#22 of 36 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
1431 NW 53rd - a Bed and Breakfast in Forest Park
1.9 mi away
Lion and the Rose Victorian B&B Inn
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Soul Urban Farm Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Soul Urban Farm Guesthouse

Property: Tierra Soul Urban Farm Guesthouse
Address: 4614 N. Michigan Ave, Portland, OR 97217
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are currently transitioning from renting rooms out B&B style to hosting creative and healing retreats. If you are an Urban Farming pioneer, enthusiast, or gonna-be, a Cultural warrior, jammer, or creator or perhaps a Thinker, Poet, Artist or Dreamer. Then GREAT! We want to meet you and share the wonders of how being connected to one's food creates community, beauty, healing and security. We can't wait to meet you!!!However, we are not a hotel with air conditioning, nor are we a Bed & Breakfast with doilies and syrup-ey sweet hospitality. We are a clean simple Farm community and we love meeting warm, open and creative people. If this all sounds fine to you then this might be a really good fit and we look forward to hosting you. If not, you might be happier somewhere else. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing