We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, but not unconditional love...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Rather than repeat all the many virtues of this great place to stay that have been catalogued by other reviewers, let me add a few that haven't been mentioned:

Electricity: As one who travels with many gadgets, I get tired of crawling under desks and nightstands in search of free outlets. Inn@.. provides scads of them, in all parts of the room.

Quiet breakfast room: For some reason, most hotels that offer free breakfast have a giant blaring TV in the dining area, watched intently by a few slack-jawed bozos and annoying everyone else. This hotel has no such thing, and it's a blessing

Everything sparkles: Great design is fine, but if it's allowed to deteriorate it can turn into a mess. At Inn@.., everything is crisp and clean and they don't let esthetics get in the way of comfort.

And a few cons:

Heightism: The Portland Trailblazers would be right at home here (and maybe they are). There's an extension pipe on the shower bringing the shower head and its companion hand-held shower and controls out of the reach of people below average height. In the kitchen wall cabinets, we could reach only the lowest shelf. We're short, but not freakishly so, but this place made us feel like Lilliputians.

Suggestion: Provide an additional mounting bracket for the handheld shower lower on the wall. Cheap, and very helpful.

Noisy refrigerator and icemaker: The fridge in our room, like the other appliances, was a full-size model suitable for an apartment. Nice in many ways, but a little too close for comfort when the compressor is running, and especially when it drops a load of ice. The ice maker can be turned off if you don't need it.

And the BIG problem, resulting in 4 rather than 5 stars:

We checked in with the outside temperature at 96, and the temp in our room felt like about 92. The room AC unit was pumping out warm air. When we complained we were told that "they're all like that" and that it would (magically?) get better.

We complained again the next morning, ready to decamp for another hotel for the rest of our stay. This time instead of the "whatever" attitude, the desk clerk dispatched a maintenance guy who immediately replaced the unit with a brand new one, still with manufacturer labels on it. We never had a problem after that.

This happened on a Sunday, so clearly they have actual working air conditioners stashed away somewhere. They really need to do a wholesale replacement. In the meantime, if you're coming to this trendy place during a heat wave make sure to ask for a room that's "cool" as well as "cool".

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. The streetcar is charming, but not when you want to sleep. Ask for a...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tangible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

We really were not sure what to expect from the Inn, but were THRILLED by our accomodations here! The front desk staff were very very helpful, and all their recommendations were perfect. We expected our room to be colorful, and it was! As well as large and roomy with a very comfortable bed, sofa, swivel chair, 2 tvs, desk and full kitchen. We heard no noise and slept soundly (Our room was on the backside of the hotel). The breakfast room is smallish and tables fill up fast - Fortunately, they offer trays so it is easy to carry items back to your room to dine. I could imagine some visitors may find the location a little far from downtown, but we loved it because of its proximity to 23rd street and convenient trolley/bus access (and Portland public transportation is exceptional). They also have a parking lot (versus street or valet parking only, as is the case for many of the downtown hotels). We discussed and agreed would not try someplace different on our next trip but definitely return to the Inn - Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnCan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hello there!

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! So glad that your first stay with us was a pleasant (and colorful) one! Although our lobby can get busy during our morning breakfast rush, we offer trays so you can also conveniently enjoy breakfast back in your spacious suite or even up on our 3rd floor rooftop terrace and soak in some sun!
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Walked into the room, then bathroom after having had a LONG drive. WOW - hot pink! It was GREAT! Loved the color scheme of purple, chartreuse and white -- but it was not garish. My room had a full kitchen w/everything needed if you wanted to cook your own meal. The furnishings were stylish, the carpet colorful. It was not your ordinary hotel room and I LOVED it! The parking was free, and the continental breakfast good. The location couldn't be beat -- 23rd St. has all the restaurants, shops, bars that one would ever need within walking distance. The only drawback was that the A/C in the room didn't cool very well, but I didn't complain because I wasn't in my room until later in the evening. By then it had cooled off. It is a little spendy, but not horribly so. Would I recommend this hotel? Would I stay here again? Youbetcha!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNBSGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for choosing the Inn @ Northrup Station for your recent trip in Portland! We're glad you enjoyed our spacious suites and unique color scheme. We sure look forward to having you back the next time you are in town!

Thank you again!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a great time in Portland and the staff and accommodations at the Inn @ Northrup only made it better. Great location, free parking, breakfast and next to a street car stop, easy access to the Pearl and downtown. The Northwest Portland location is in a great safe walkable neighborhood with shops, and restaurants. Columbia River Gorge is a short 20 min drive, lots of great hiking. Will definitely visit Portland again and stay at the Inn @ Northrup Station.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Hi Keith!

Thank you for your kind review! We're happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you got to explore the unique neighborhood we're in. Looking forward to having you back soon!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel, we could tell this was not your ordinary, bland chain hotel. The lobby/common area is colorful and each table had a huge jar of colorful candy (Starbursts and salt water taffy). The hotel/front desk staff was very friendly and had a couple of good recommendations for dinner. The room was a good size, and had a kitchen with a dishwasher, stove, large refrigerator. It would be the perfect place if you had to stay more than a couple of nights on a business trip.
The complimentary toiletries were wonderful, and whatever that mint conditioner was, I need to know, it was amazing and made my hair smell so good.
I slept on the sofa bed one night, and I must say it was probably the most comfortable sofa bed that I have ever slept on.
There were a couple of negatives, our air-conditioner wasn't working very well, we had it turned down to about 60 and it was still very stuffy in the room. However, when we told the front desk about it, they were very fast in coming to check it out. Whatever they did worked for awhile, but, then it stopped working again. They did offer to move us to another room, but to be honest, we were kind of lazy, and just stayed where we were, but it was nice of them to offer.
We stayed on the first floor, and I have to admit, I had a little balcony envy. Our room looked out onto the parking lot, so it was quiet, but when requesting a room, if possible request something with a balcony. We weren't in the room much, so I don't know if we would have ever used the balcony, but it would have been nice to have.
A continental breakfast was offered every morning, and they had a good selection of cereal, bagels, waffles, fruit, etc. My roommate was thrilled that they had a Kuerig in the room, which came with coffee or tea.
If you get a chance, go up to the terrace, it is very quaint, colorful, quirky. Sit up there relax, and have a drink. Also, they have free parking, so that was a plus.
Overall, it was a very pleasant stay, and the neighborhood is quiet, but plenty of bars, restaurants, shopping within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel, and in fact already have!

Room Tip: Suggest a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karebear3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for your feedback and for spreading the word about the Inn! We sure appreciate your review and are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, we are definitely not your "ordinary" hotel...from our giant candy jars in the lobby, to our custom made sofa sleepers and mattresses...we take pride in being unique and quirky! Most of our suites do include a patio or balcony so please contact us directly on your next trip to Portland and we would be happy to accommodate your request...as long as we're not sold out of course! :)

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were in Oregon for a wedding on June 15th, and decided to come early and spend a few days (arr 6/7, dep 6/10) in Portland before heading down the coast and eventually inland to the wedding location. We chose the Inn at Northrup Station based on the recommendation of friends of ours who had stayed there, and we were not disappointed. The room was quite spacious, with a separate seating area and FULL kitchen including dinnerware and a dishwasher. There was also a balcony which we did not really use because ours happened to overlook the parking lot and had no chairs on it, but if we had gotten a room overlooking Northrup Street we may have dragged out a couple stools to sit out there. The decor was very colorful and funky (see my pix), which was pleasing; they even had the same lime green Bodum toaster in the kitchen that we have here at home! My only -- VERY minor -- complaint with the room decor was that there were (as is now often the case in hotels) way too many extraneous decorative pillows and bolsters that had to be dealt with before using the bed, but UNLIKE many hotels the service staff here earned an extra star from me by leaving the extraneous pillows wherever we had left them rather than putting them back in their original locations when the room was made up.

The staff was friendly and efficient, eager to acquaint us with the neighborhood and the rest of Portland beyond. The immediate neighborhood is great, with a ton of restaurants two blocks over on 23rd St, and the Pearl District a short walk (and even shorter streetcar ride) in the other direction. Each guest is entitled to one free streetcar ticket per day (just ask for them at the front desk), which is great as the loop goes all the way down to the south riverfront and back again giving you easy access to a huge swath of Portland.

Breakfast is included in your room rate, and in addition to the typical cereal/yogurt/fruit offerings they also have a couple waffle making machines, so you can start your day with a yummy freshly made waffle! The grab-and-go (yogurt, milk, juice) seemed to be available all the time in the dining room, along with big glass containers of Starbursts and salt water taffy if one was in need of a sugar fix, and ice water with lemons when you arrived back at the Inn hot and thirsty.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again when we return to Portland!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Northrup Street, there are tiki torches lit at night! Be aware that is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puggeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hi there!

Thank you for choosing the Inn @ Northrup Station! We appreciate your feedback and hope you come stay with us again the next time you are in Portland...after all, we do have the EXACT same lime green Bodum toaster that you have at home. (I must say, you have great taste in kitchen appliances!)
And please make sure to call us directly and request one of our street facing suites so you can enjoy the view of our funky tiki torches in the evening.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to having you back!

Take care!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This suburban hotel is a welcome change from the bland chains which dominate American cities. It looks as if it has been designed and decorated by a person and not a computer. The communal areas are full of colour and 'funky' art, the rooms are stylish and attractive. They are well equipped including a kitchen and are very comfortable, each with a small balcony. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Despite its position in the suburbs there is a tram stop just outside. Breakfast was one of the best continental selections we have been offered. Our only complaint was that the free-standing fridge in the bedroom was extremely noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Hello there!

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is much appreciated! We're glad you enjoyed our unique style, fun colors, quirkiness, and eclectic location. It's wonderful guests like YOU that has made us #3 ranked hotel in Portland!

Thank you again and we look forward to having you back!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £126 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing