We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, convenient, reviews to be believed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #6 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good stay, convenient, reviews to be believed”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed with family in their standard king suite. Found the hotel to be nice, employees considerate, breakfast reasonable (not high expectations going in). Location and free trolley tickets were very nice. Parking was always available. No complaints at all about our stay. Price was also reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PA_Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello there,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your family trip and we look forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    263
    46
    19
    13
See reviews for
266
418
48
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay was great! We had the first floor room facing the streetcar. It was loud at times but not unbearable.

Breakfast in the morning was a great selection. Hard boiled eggs, cheese, milk, yogurt, cereal, toast and bagels, juice and fruit. I also liked that during the day and evening the room was kept open to get water, fruit or candy.

We had a car so the free parking was wonderful!! The free streetcar passes were also a plus since we didn't take our car at times. Someone mentioned there was not a grocery store nearby, but we were able to find a Trader Joes that was walking distance.

The kitchen in the suite was also very convenient. The hotel provides pot and pans and cooking utensils. The bathroom was a good size and the removable shower head was nice since we had kids.

The only complaint to this stay was that I noticed the housekeeper didn't vacuum our room. My kids dropped some crumbs and it was there for our entire stay (3 nights). Not a big deal but would've been nice to have it vacuumed.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to everyone who wants to stay at a cool convent location in Portland.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Inn. We're happy to hear that our breakfast selection, room amenities and suite layout were suitable for you and your family. Regarding your room service, we apologize for the oversight. This has been addressed with our housekeeping supervisor and we're confident that you will find the Inn nothing short of exceptional on your next trip. Please contact me directly for assistance with your next reservation. It will be my pleasure to help.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
328 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited a second time, and it was just as good as our first visit a year ago. We will stay here when we head to Portland in the future. It's a fun change of pace from other properties. They also had gorgeous weather for us too--which is great for wine on the rooftop deck!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello Kim!

Thank you for returning to the Inn @ Northrup Station your Portland trip! We are happy that we met your expectations the second time around and look forward to many, many more trips to come. Thank you so much for your review.

Sincerely,

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A friend recommended this hotel as she said it was a charming part of town, more like being in a neighborhood than the city, and within walking distance to cafes and shops. I found all this to be true. The room was spacious, and fun with bright colors and whimsical design. There was a stocked Kuerig coffee maker in the room, and nice breakfast in the morning. If I had to find a downside, I would say the rooms don't have much in the way of a view and there was more noise from other guests than at other places we have stayed. Overall, excellent though, and I would highly recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 444Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hello and thank you for your review!
We are always happy to hear that first time Northrup guests were referred by their friends. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time in Portland and included the Inn @ Northrup Station for your trip.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

the worst of it is that the hotel has removed its beautiful cherry trees, rose bushes, and other native plantings and stuck in palms and some sub-tropical shrubs. The old landscaping screened street-side room views from the really ugly, very large apartment bldg across the street. The backside views are of parking a few dreary backyards. The palms are ugly most of the year and provide neither shade nor flowers. All in all they have made the property less distinctive and local and a lot more corporate and dull.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rtpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Director of Sales at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greetings-

Thank you for your feedback. Sadly, palm trees planted on the site many years ago did not make it through this year’s winter season. In an effort to maintain our unique setting, the palms which failed this winter were replaced and we transplanted several palms from one part of the property to more visible locations. Though we haven’t had roses on our property before, it seems only fitting to add them to our unique landscape here in the City of Roses! Thanks very much for the suggestion!

Thank you again for your review!

Lisa Vinavong
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved all the little touches, coffee, tea, office area, decks, kitchen area( great make up mirror.) ok just me for the mirror. Good location, walking distance to good eats, fun shopping. Some renovations going on, a little paint smelly... Staff were helpful and friendly. We would stay again. A hot tub on the deck might be interesting ?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twobcurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for this short and sweet review! We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again!

Thank you,
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Inn @ Northrup Station in Portland and enjoyed the stay. The front desk staff is amazingly friendly and helpful.

The rooms are big and very comfortable. They are well decorated and everything was in very good working order. You need to remember, that rooms here are actually suites and at least ours had a full kitchen. While we did not cook, it is nice to have a real sink and the refrigerator was a definite convenience. For those who travel with electronic devices, unlike in almost every other hotel we have ever stayed at, the Inn @ Northrup Station has abundant electrical outlets in multiple convenient locations. You could literally have a dozen devices and easily find outlets to charge them all at the same time.

The bathroom was ample and well apportioned. The shower was great and there were no problems with water force or temperature. One thing that was rather annoying was the bathroom sink fixture. It uses a sensor that triggers the water flow and, while the sensor worked exceptionally well, the fixture is rather high standing over the sink and water will splash all over -- even your clothes -- no matter how careful you are.

Our room was on the first floor facing the parking area. Noise from cars / traffic was not an issue at all, but the air conditioner was exceptionally noisy.

Breakfast was very good, but don't arrive late! It ends at 9:30 am on weekdays and make sure you are in the dining area by 9:25 because promptly at 9:30 housekeeping has things under control.

Location. Depending on how you look at it, location can be excellent or it can suck. The Inn is right on the streetcar line and a Trimet (bus) line(s) so it makes public transportation very convenient. And make no mistake about it, public transportation in Portland is very good. If you don't have a car, you definitely will need pubic transport. Portland is nothing like the Greater L.A. area where everything is conveniently located and every decent retail outlet has a clone on every street corner.

Still, without a car relying on public transportation sucks. While they claim there are a multitude of "fine dining" establishments located near the inn, the fact is that most of these places are either too ethnic, too overblown and of such dubious quality that they pretty much suck. If you need something from a convenience store, there are none. if you need groceries, you will be severely disappointed. Very little of your useful everyday needs can be found anywhere near the inn.

Room Tip: We had a first-floor room facing the parking lot and car / traffic noise was not an issue at all. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that our king suite suited your needs! Next time you stay you can get groceries at Safeway, it’s just a 10 min streetcar ride away from the hotel!

We hope to see you again!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing