We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in village type neighborhood ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #7 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in village type neighborhood ”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Yes the hotel is bonkers in terms of decor, but after a week in corporate hotels this is a lovely change. It feels vibrant and fresh. The air con is a bit old and clunky but it does the job. The bed is massive and really comfortable and we had a large separate seating area and a fully functioning kitchen - although we didn't use it. I did turn the fridge off as I found it too noisy to sleep near it.

The staff at check in were friendly, although they didn't tell us about the free wine and nibbles on Wednesday which I think is a nice touch. Free internet and tram passes are a nice bonus and overall I would recommend this hotel if you want a lovely big room and are bored of the generic beige hotels everywhere !

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your colorful suite! Hopefully you were able to explore the neighborhood and check out some of the great restaurants and shops nearby.

See you next time!

Iliana Tovar
Group Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    276
    48
    20
    13
See reviews for
278
434
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and since the reviews were so positive we had hoped for a positive experience. But...
We arrived a bit earlier than usual check-in time, so the room wasn't ready which is understandable. Without even trying to look for a ready room they wanted us to come back later. Since we had been traveling for over 22hours and a baby which needed a fresh diaper I asked them to look again if they really can't give us a room earlier. It worked.
The room went out to the backside which was luck because we can't imagine how noisy it would have been on the other side. The rooms seem to be poorly insulated against noise, the ac was so loud that we had to turn it off and when the compressor in the refrigerator turned on, sleep was not possible. Additionally we had a problem with ants in the bathroom and we noticed them about it. But they didn't do anything against them.
When we checked out and told them about the noise, the other receptionist got really annoyed and gave us the look.
The hotel is situated right at a stop of the streetcar which is very convenient and you even get free tickets from the hotel. That's nice. The streetcar is very cheap too. The hotel offers free parking for guests and the wifi is good. The location of the hotel in the Northwest district a neighbor district of the pearl district is very good. Little, independent restaurants are close and going out is easy.
The rooms and the hotel itself are very color- and pattern-full. Less might have been better. When we walked along the corridors we thought the architect must have been on a LSD-trip when he designed the hotel.
Our room was spacious and fully equipped with a small kitchen but the water is unfiltered and you taste the chlorine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristinMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We take all feedback seriously and your comments regarding noise are being considered. Overall it sounds like you enjoyed your trip to Portland and were able to take advantage of the Streetcar and the many locally owned restaurants and shops nearby.

Thank you again for your review and we hope that you will consider us again in the future!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Northrup Station on May 18th (one night). I booked the room 2-3 months before our stay. The week of our trip, I took a look at the website and it was $20 lower than when we originally booked it. I called and the person on the phone honored the lower price. (awesome!)

We checked in at about 5pm. There was plenty of parking (free). The people at the front desk were very professional and nice. They went over the basics; check out time, breakfast, umbrellas, streetcar passes, etc. No issues at check in (that's always nice).

We had a premium king suite on the 2nd floor facing the street. The decor was vibrant, bright, and fun. It was like Willy Wonk and Candyland decided to have a slumber party! They provided anything and everything you could imagine. We had two TVs, one in the living area and one in the bedroom. They are setup to turn one on when the other is turned off lol trying to get them to both turn off at bedtime was interesting. Their advertising was on point... night light, shampoo, conditioner, pens, wine opener, everything had their log on it! The bed was fluffy, pillows were great, the iPod alarm clock was for the lightning connector (newer version), everything was just fabulous!

Breakfast was great. Coffee, juice, waffle maker, hard boiled eggs, cheese, bread/danishes, cereal, the basics.

The area is perfect. We walked a few blocks away and had dinner at the Red Onion (Thai) then walked down the street to McMenamins and had a few drinks. I recommend both places.

Overall I'm very satisfied with our stay. The only thing I regret was not staying in Portland longer. Hopefully there will be a "next time" and if there is we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: From what I can tell, they're all suites and they all pretty much look the same in all the photo...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for this thoughtful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Portland. Hopefully your next visit won't be too long from now!

Thanks again,

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was a second time staying at the hotel, last time I was mostly impressed, with one small downside. This time, I have no such criticism. We felt welcomed back by the reception staff who bent over backwards to help us out, even though we were only staying the one night this time. I am so impressed by this place, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
Thanks to everyone there...we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello!

First of all thank you for being such a wonderful repeat guest. Second, thank you for writing such an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear that your last stay with us was nothing short of your expectations and we look forward to your future visits with us!

Until then...

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Inn @ Northrup Station is a true neighborhood gem. I have stayed here before but never have taken the time to post a review..This property is in the middle of the busy Northwest Portland. It is easy walking distance to many interesting sights as well as shopping and restaurants. It's the type of place you should stay if you want to really get to know a city on a personal level.
All of the rooms are full studio suites with true fully equipped Kitchens. Aside from the wonderful rooms that they have, what really sets them apart from many of their competitors is the quality friendly customer service. They have a real "can do" attitude. In particular, I was helped securing accommodations in New York for a friend of mine where I was paying the bill for my friend, without the help and assistance I received from Rachel Winterton I truly believe I would not have been able to handle the issue in a timely fashion
The entire staff is friendly and knowledgable about the area as well.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have balconies or patios which are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello Joe C.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us time and time again. Also, thank you for your kind comments on our exceptional staff! Rachel truly is wonderful, isn't she!?

We look forward to your next visit!

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a true find for those with a little bubbling bohemian blood in their veins! The neighborhood is eclectic, the near-by (read walkable) restaurants and services are eclectic and the rooms in this fine hotel are eclectic - like a fun marriage of Austin Powers and the Jetsin's.

The room was comfortable and very quiet, for a city neighbrohood, the service was just as you'd expect in Portland - friendly, relaxed and sincere. I highly recommend this hotel for vacationer's and visitors on business who don't mind taking the trolly (stops out front) into downtown!

I don't often mention value, as I'm not a value traveler - but, the rate was truly a value and then you add free parking which alone can save you $30 over downtown hotels.

Room Tip: I took a room in the back on the second floor it had a lovely balcony that looked into some's ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuretyPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I think you definitely nailed it on our funky style, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

We will see you next time
Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My 16 yr old daughter and I drove the coast last week for our birthdays. We stayed in Portland along the way and were happy we found this cute place and wished we could have stayed longer. Upon arrival the lobby was brightly decorated and had bowls filled with taffy and Starbursts.

The staff was friendly and helpful and provided us with travel advice for our adventure.

The continental breakfast was good - coffee, juice, yogurt, cheese, cereal, bagels with cream cheese or peanut butter or fresh waffles. This was great and saved us money and time so we could continue on our drive.

Room Tip: Dishes, Fridge, dishwasher, microwave, toaster - all the amenities for a long stay. Room was cute an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatharinaApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Sales and Marketing Assistant at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello and happy late birthday CatharinaApple!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are especially happy to know that you and your daughter had a wonderful birthday trip! Hopefully you treated yourselves to some tasty desserts at Papa Hydan, because a birthday just isn't complete without cake!

Hope to see you again.

Iliana Tovar
Sales and Marketing Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing