We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is a wonderful place to stay in Portland. The hotel provides free parking, breakfast, passes for the tram into town and a room that has a sitting area and kitchen. Loved the over-the-top decor of the hotel -- great colors on the walls, funky lamps in the rooms and interesting decorations in the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    270
    48
    19
    13
See reviews for
270
426
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I like this place. It's hard to find a laid-back, suite-oriented, non "upscale" feel without pretense. The hotel itself is nice.... sweet vibe and great rooms... considering. One thing missing in the suites are flat/LCD TV's... but they're nice rooms.... great colours, comfy beds, and a great place to unwind.

However..... the "staff". BS. If this were an ultra-high-end hotel, I MIGHT be willing to accept their attitude (might), but it isn't.... it is a medium-duty not-that-important hotel that looks cool, but should DEPEND ON SERVICE. I've been to many hotels, including the Chateau Marmont and the Le Montrose in L.A.... and I've been treated better in every other place I've been.

It's a joke. The Manager might do good to train the staff that WE ARE their bread/butter..... US... the guests. Nothing quite compares to being ignored after paying for a suite. I'd actually like sheets on my bed, and to have my calls to the front desk ACTUALLY answered.

Y'all might save money employing high-schoolers, but it's definitely reflected in the service provided (or NOT) in the hotel. There's a great potential here, but the management would be well-advised to pay stricter attention to service detail, and maybe want to think about having some form of room-service..... it's really quite a drag to have to go out at midnight to find a sandwich! There should be SOMETHING there.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Broeheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Fantastic location right on the Streetcar line (tickets provided by the hotel). Very colorful and large rooms. Hotel has a nice outside sitting area on the third floor. Breakfast looked wonderful, although we didn't partake. All the staff provided excellent service. Nice area around the hotel for walking. The sheets and bedding were very high quality. I think the hotel is old, and has been through renovations, and still had a bit of "old hotel" smell in the room, but nothing that I couldn't get past.

  • Liked — Location - we wanted to be close to the Pearl District. Being right ON the streetcar line made getting around the area so easy AND affordable.
  • Disliked — Room was a little warm and I couldn't figure out how to adjust the temperature - we just opened the balcony door.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arctic_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

What a cute little hotel!!! Room was very comfortable, loved the colors. The candy in the breakfast room was fabulous. We walked or took the trolley everywhere. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood - we had a hard time decided which one to pick.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dawnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

A fun place to stay in Portland. There are great restaurants and shops just blocks away and within walking distance. The Inn is on the Trolley line and can take you into the heart of downtown Portland in minutes. The room was a huge suite with a full kitchen, an area for working with wireless access, a large king bed, plus sitting area, and a fun bathroom decorated in great cheerful colors. There is a balcony and a great roof-top deck with grill and lots of tables with umbrellas and chairs to sit.
My only complaint is the maids wanted to clean my room at 8:45 the morning I checked-out. I explained that I would not be leaving until noon which is check-out time, The maids did not understood because they returned an hour later when I was trying to work. I called the front desk and they took care of the problem. The front desk is very cheerful and helpful.

  • Liked — Cheerful decorations
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgal2008Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Walking into the Inn, you get a sense that this place is something special. The decor is vibrant and fun. The staff was very good.
The room was just perfect for our needs. The kitchen was handy, even though several restaurants are within a short walk.
It was fun walking the neighborhoods of unique old homes.
We will surely stay here again when we visit Portland.

  • Liked — location & uniqeness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2008

The Northrup Station is between the ABC and the Pearl districts in Portland, which are two of the most popular tourist destinations. It is ON the trolley line and they give you free trolley tickets, so getting around Portland as SO EASY from this hotel. The rooms are very generous in size, and ours had a FULL kitchen, which allows for people to get their own breakfast/lunch/dinner food and save money on eating out. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynNYBrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing