We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, colorful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quirky, colorful!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay away from downtown in the Nob Hill district, this is the place to stay. Quirky furnishings, and color, color and more color. The front desk was very helpful. They give you a streetcar ticket each day and helped us with our rental car return. Breakfast is included and it's just OK, but the coffee is very good. And each room has a full kitchen, but the neighborhood has a million restaurants.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hello Esther R,

Thank you very much for this great review. You are absolutely right about the Nob Hill neighborhood, it’s got just enough going on without the fast pace of downtown! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all our bright and cheery décor as well. Thank you also for your comment about our delicious coffee, we couldn’t be more happy with our classy new machines. Sound like you also explored the neighborhood and were able to get a good look at the several delicious restaurants in the neighborhood! Did you make it to Café Mingo? They have a splendid happy hour menu!

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again next time!

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    283
    51
    20
    14
See reviews for
287
443
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The place is cute. I mean, seriously adorable. It has candy colored walls and decor, complemented by the jars of saltwater taffy sitting out everywhere. But cute only gets you so far. The place is lacking the basic level of service and amenities that one would expect for the fairly steep price. The most glaring example was the failure of housekeeping staff to clean our room, and the response when we noted this. We came back after a day out and found our room exactly as we had left it. The desk attendant expressed vague mild sympathy and offered to bring us fresh towels; and when we asked them to make it right at checkout, they offered 10% off our bill- which I gathered is the standard response to any sort of complaint, be it noisy neighbors or hair in the drain or whatnot. Aside from that, there were deficiencies in the room -- a double queen suite -- that one would excuse in a roadside Holiday Inn, but not so much here. E.g., the lack of a nightstand on both sides of the bed, and the lack of any separation at all between the couch/kitchen/living portion of the room and the beds. I will say that proximity to transpo was great, and the staff had good advice about the neighborhood and answered lots of questions. But all in all, save your vacation dollars and spend them elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LoraxLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for sharing this candid review. We again apologize for the circumstances involving the “do not disturb” sign and the resulting absence of housekeeping during one day of your stay. We do endeavor to respect the privacy of guests and, as you mentioned, it wasn’t until our housekeepers had completed their shift that we learned of the mix-up. Though we are pleased you were able to take advantage of the streetcar service and enjoyed the recommendations from our guest services staff, we certainly would have hoped for a better outcome for someone traveling to Portland. If you travels bring you back to Portland, we certainly hope to make a better second impression!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Inn is conveniently located in North West Portland with trolley and bus connections. If you drive parking is included. The rooms are mini suites with plenty of seating.The staff are very helpful and really know the city. Good variety of fruit,yogurt,hard boiled eggs and excellent coffee at breakfast.And the beds are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie & Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for this excellent review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast! Thank you also for your comments on our staff and our mattresses, they were custom made just for us and we are happy that you liked them!

Thanks again for the review.

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I rely a lot on TripAdvisor and find it very helpful, but in this case the hotel was far worse than expected. Where to begin? The room had a noisy wall-mounted air conditioner, never something I've seen in this price range. This machine was broken so that it ran at only one speed: high. At least it partially masked noise from the parking alley tight against our window. The situation of the room afforded no privacy, making it necessary to leave curtains closed at all times. Furthermore there was a lot of guest and hallway traffic noise. Wireless was undependable. The hotel is located in a transitional area, close to the streetcar but a hassle for business or pleasure stays. It was worth it to forgo the free breakfast (identical to a budget motel) and visit authentic Portland coffeehouses in the vicinity. One of the worst features was a terrible fecal smell in the room - which needed to be ventilated or have new drapes or carpeting, or something. Staff were oddly distracted or disengaged and seemed to only appear when dealing with complaints. The building seems like it was retrofitted from some kind of institutional purpose (or maybe it was an early Howard Johnson or Travelodge?) and no amount of loud-colored paint was going to conceal this. It felt like a very low-end chain motel just with brighter colors and higher prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steelkilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We appreciate the feedback we receive from all guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions.

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Great spot! Rooms are nice. Funky and fun property, Simple but nice. Just missing a funky, tasty restaurant or bar. Coffee is really good-it is Portland.-Breakfast is just ok but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for this short and sweet review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent travels to Portland and your funky suite!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This quirky place is in a wonderful location in NW Portland (Nob Hill area). Located on a pretty quiet street, but the streetcar line runs right in front of the hotel. We were there for about a week total in 2 different stays in street-facing rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors, and were not disturbed at all by noise. The decor is fun and funky. Rooms are large with full kitchens, desks, and lounging area. Good beds and linens, including plenty of towels. Closet size is skimpy, but welcomed the in-room safe. Breakfast every morning with a reasonable variety of offerings, and a wine and snack reception on Wednesday nights. Only complaint there was that they had no white wine, and I am allergic to red. Staff was knowledgeable and helpful, and the free 2-hour streetcar passes offered daily were a great help in getting around the city. Close to many good shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZgirl4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you for this fantastic review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your colorful and funky suite. Thank you also for your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast and noticing one of the newest additions to our rooms, in-room safes! We are also glad to hear that our staff was able to lead you in the right direction to explore Portland via streetcar or walking.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again!

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I stay at the Inn@Northrup Station at least 10 times a year. It's set up for long stays with oversized rooms, full sized kitchens,sofa,chairs,full sized desk and king sized bed. However they take one night reservations also. There is a full hot breakfast every day,newspapers and free tickets for Portland's wonderful streetcar. The decor is bright and colorful and the staff are excellent. We have been staying here for years when we go to Portland Center Stage.

Room Tip: Ask for street side room--better view, other side faces back of houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Group Sales Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for this great review and for your comments regarding our excellent staff, spacious suites and delicious complimentary breakfast. What a treat to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us time and time again. We are so grateful for such wonderful repeat guests such as yourself!

We will see you next time, Pete S.

Iliana Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,488 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing