We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Decor and Near Restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #7 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma WA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Fun Decor and Near Restaurants”
Reviewed 12 January 2009

This hotel had the most interesting, fun decor - lots of bright colors, cool lamps, funky carpet designs. Youthful appearance. Very nice continental breakfast. Free parking. Right on the public transit line. Very close to many small restaurants and sweet shops. Plush towels, clean and very spacious rooms with kitchens. The place looks like it may once have been studio apartments. Sleeping on the mattress gave me back pain, which tends to happen to me at lower end hotels or motels. That puzzled me. Big downer: horribly unfriendly, disinterested staff. Wouldn't even smile and barely looked at you. Well, that was 3 of the 4 whom we had any contact with. One young man was kind enough to smile when we spoke to him, but the other three were real downers. The house cleaning staff and woman who prepared the continental breakfast smiled when approached. Thank you.

  • Liked — fun decor
  • Disliked — lousy front desk service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    277
    48
    20
    13
See reviews for
279
435
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

Stayed here for 1 night on Road trip up the coast and loved the Northrup. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and from the moment you walk in your blown away by just how different this hotel is.

The décor stands out a mile, and this continues within the rooms. The suite we had was huge with full kitchen, lounge area and Kingsize bed. Not sure whether the place has been modernised recently but everything looked new and bright (and in line with the funky colour scheme).

All usual appliances can be found including 2 large tv's, irons, kettles, etc..

The location is excellent with tram stop just outside hotel which can take you the few stops into the main town area. Even though these stops are outside of the free travel zone, the hotel provides tickets to get you to and from the free region (really nice touch).

There's a few good bars and restaurants close by and the walk back from the centre is pleasant passing some nice residential areas.

Can't praise the place enough and will definitely stay here on my next Portland visit.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

What everyone else says, plus: we got upgraded because we arrived late, having booked in advance, and the suite was excellent. The continental breakfast is as good as anywhere and the location is fabulous. The decor is daft, but it puts everyone in a good mood, so amen to that.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSteveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We LOVED the Inn at Northrup Station. The decor was funky, colorful, and cheerful, boosting our mood as it was the first day of cooler, grayer weather in Portland. Great location and FREE parking. We even got a free upgrade because we were going to see a show -- not sure where my husband found that deal but I'm not complaining. Free trolley tickets too.

Breakfast was typical continental -- which for us means good stuff but never filling enough. Their lobby was a fun place to eat breakfast though. However, we could have cooked all our meals in our room, as all the rooms there are suites with full kitchen. The room was plenty big too, and could have accomodated more than 2 of us.

Staff was average -- in general friendly but mixed in terms of how knowledgeable and helpful they were.

Another bonus -- we could have stayed there without a vehicle as everything we needed was in walking distance or accessible by public transportation.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The Inn's value starts with the accommodation and amenities for the traveler who wants a comfortable base (call directly for best rates). The suite has enough storage, seating and spread-out space for preparing and planning (free wi-fi) a Portland visit. And it's all within walking distance - my wife and I walked to and around Nob Hill, Downtown, the Pearl District - and from the Rose Garden Arena after a late-night (overtime) Trail Blazers game (room 'upgrade' available with tickets to Rose Garden event). When we didn't walk, we rode the free (ask for pass at desk) Portland Streetcar - it stops right outside the Inn's doors. Finally, if you rent a car, like we did for side trips to Mount Saint Helens, Oregon Coast, and Columbia River Loop, the Inn offers free parking. We walked, drove and otherwise passed other Portland hotels listed - very happy that we chose the Inn @ Northrup Station.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This is a wonderful place to stay in Portland. The hotel provides free parking, breakfast, passes for the tram into town and a room that has a sitting area and kitchen. Loved the over-the-top decor of the hotel -- great colors on the walls, funky lamps in the rooms and interesting decorations in the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I like this place. It's hard to find a laid-back, suite-oriented, non "upscale" feel without pretense. The hotel itself is nice.... sweet vibe and great rooms... considering. One thing missing in the suites are flat/LCD TV's... but they're nice rooms.... great colours, comfy beds, and a great place to unwind.

However..... the "staff". BS. If this were an ultra-high-end hotel, I MIGHT be willing to accept their attitude (might), but it isn't.... it is a medium-duty not-that-important hotel that looks cool, but should DEPEND ON SERVICE. I've been to many hotels, including the Chateau Marmont and the Le Montrose in L.A.... and I've been treated better in every other place I've been.

It's a joke. The Manager might do good to train the staff that WE ARE their bread/butter..... US... the guests. Nothing quite compares to being ignored after paying for a suite. I'd actually like sheets on my bed, and to have my calls to the front desk ACTUALLY answered.

Y'all might save money employing high-schoolers, but it's definitely reflected in the service provided (or NOT) in the hotel. There's a great potential here, but the management would be well-advised to pay stricter attention to service detail, and maybe want to think about having some form of room-service..... it's really quite a drag to have to go out at midnight to find a sandwich! There should be SOMETHING there.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Broeheem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing