We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Northrup Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
1 review
“Fantastic decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here - it's a really convenient place to explore Portland from (ask at reception for a ticket for the tram which stops outside the door - or simply walk around, there are nice boutique shops and places to eat in the area). The room was huge with full kitchen and two big televisions. The retro decor is bright and fun. Breakfast choice included fruit, waffles, bagels. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teggiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    255
    45
    19
    13
See reviews for
255
409
48
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

I very much enjoyed my two-night stay, my second stay at the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and nicely appointed--a refreshing surprise given the competitive rates this hotel offers.

The kitchenette was a very welcome addition to the room--perfect for prepping snacks and light meals. The room featured a sitting area and a desk with a 32" flat panel TV overhead. Another 19" flat panel was equipped on the hutch at the end of the bed -- on the nightstand was an iPod clock radio, which charged my iPod and let me wake to my own music.

The hotel offers a fantastic continental breakfast in the lobby area. Fresh fruit, cereal, coffee/tea, a variety of yogurt, and--my favorite--Belgian waffles. Yum.

The hotel is located just three blocks from NW 23rd, a charming street lined with restaurants, cafes, boutiques, and pubs. The Pearl District is about 10 blocks away, a nice walk or a quick trip on the trolley, which stops right in front of the hotel. How perfect is that?

If you prefer the traditional full-service hotel with room service, valet parking and a bell clerk in the lobby, you might want to stay downtown. Everyone else should consider this super-fun inn.

  • Liked — room amenities, location, fun style
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prinado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room is very cool with a funky, retro decorating sheme. It was very clean & large. I loved having the full kitchen as we used it to store & heat up our leftovers. I liked the way they have recycling bins under the sink too. Wireless service was excellent & it was nice having a full desk to work from. They also have laundry services & I had my trousers dry-cleaned in one day. The location is amazing with a trolley stop right out the front door. We utilized the trolley many times to go downtown & back. Many good restaurants within walking distance. We were in town for The WFTDA Roller Derby National Championship Games, so we did need to drive to the convention center & to the "happening" spots on Burnside St. and on Hawthorne St., but Portland is pretty easy to navigate. I would return to The Inn at Northrup.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombshelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardson tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Oh my goodness!
What a wonderful find. We checked out top 10 hotels
in Portland- have only stayed in 4 or 5- in any case,
from the whole list online for the city, this is the
best bang for your buck. Great for families,
a super chance to ride the streetcar for free anywhere
downtown and beyond. As for the interior,
it is so refreshing to see bold use of color.
The lobby is fun for an afternoon coffee
and great for breakfast. We were amazed
to stay 2 nights and get a third night Free-
Ask if they still have this promotion, through
end of January 2009.
Very friendly service- Hard to believe a previous
person who wrote didn;t get a refund with one
week notice on cancellation. We cancelled
SAME day during storm of December
for relatives who couldnt' make it and
they gladly refunded.
If you're ready for something a little unusual
and in a cool neighborhood- go for it!
If you insist on traditional furnishings
and a big hotel lobby, this probably isn't for you.
Again, for families its a treat.
Lots of room and small balconies make it fun.

  • Liked — the funky decor and large comfortable rooms and streetcar access
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gingerjust40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

This hotel had the most interesting, fun decor - lots of bright colors, cool lamps, funky carpet designs. Youthful appearance. Very nice continental breakfast. Free parking. Right on the public transit line. Very close to many small restaurants and sweet shops. Plush towels, clean and very spacious rooms with kitchens. The place looks like it may once have been studio apartments. Sleeping on the mattress gave me back pain, which tends to happen to me at lower end hotels or motels. That puzzled me. Big downer: horribly unfriendly, disinterested staff. Wouldn't even smile and barely looked at you. Well, that was 3 of the 4 whom we had any contact with. One young man was kind enough to smile when we spoke to him, but the other three were real downers. The house cleaning staff and woman who prepared the continental breakfast smiled when approached. Thank you.

  • Liked — fun decor
  • Disliked — lousy front desk service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

Stayed here for 1 night on Road trip up the coast and loved the Northrup. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and from the moment you walk in your blown away by just how different this hotel is.

The décor stands out a mile, and this continues within the rooms. The suite we had was huge with full kitchen, lounge area and Kingsize bed. Not sure whether the place has been modernised recently but everything looked new and bright (and in line with the funky colour scheme).

All usual appliances can be found including 2 large tv's, irons, kettles, etc..

The location is excellent with tram stop just outside hotel which can take you the few stops into the main town area. Even though these stops are outside of the free travel zone, the hotel provides tickets to get you to and from the free region (really nice touch).

There's a few good bars and restaurants close by and the walk back from the centre is pleasant passing some nice residential areas.

Can't praise the place enough and will definitely stay here on my next Portland visit.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

What everyone else says, plus: we got upgraded because we arrived late, having booked in advance, and the suite was excellent. The continental breakfast is as good as anywhere and the location is fabulous. The decor is daft, but it puts everyone in a good mood, so amen to that.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSteveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing