We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This is one of the best places I've stayed in. The rooms are large and oh so brightly colored and easily accommodate 3 people with a king bed and a sofabed. Room basics were good--plenty of light, dark at night, comfortable bed. Despite the room's large size, ventilation is a little limited, there's one window in the room and a door to a balcony. This led us to run the air conditioner/fan more than would be ideal (but "green" points to the hotel for putting a recycling bin under the kitchen sink, and for putting a note on the counter about it).

Our room had a full kitchen, not that we used much in a neighborhood brimming with restaurants. I would describe NW 21st Ave., which is next to the hotel, as Portland's "Gourmet Ghetto." We had a meal at Wildwood, literally around the corner from the hotel, a northwest cuisine restaurant that reminded us very much of Berkeley's Chez Panisse. The hotel breakfast with bagels and waffles and good coffee was quite good as hotel continental breakfasts go.

The hotel is located on the famed Portland Streetcar, and they'll supply you with tickets to ride the streetcar free all day. The Streetcar gets you to the Pearl District (though you could walk there) to Powell's Bookstore and Downtown. There are also several bus routes and the hotel had a map, very unusual. But parking is also free.

What's not to like?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 14 July 2009
Oh there’s at least one thing not to like around here… checking out! AmIright!? Ahh, ok, maybe two things: checking out and cheesy humor. But we’re really glad you had such a pleasant stay as we do try very hard to make it so. We’re also rather smitten with your alliterative new name for our little stretch of land, though there’s something altogether bay area-visitor about it (and we say that with all the love in the world). :) Make sure to come back and see us sometime soon, mmkay? We’ll give you directions to the slightly less visited “Gourmet Grotto.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    270
    48
    19
    13
See reviews for
270
426
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Stayed here 5 nights in mid-June. Beautiful rooms: flat screen tv, balcony, nice beds and bedding, sink, coffee maker, fridge, nice bathroom. Good continental breakfast: bagels, waffles, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, milk. Very friendly staff, very clean. Great location: a few steps from the streetcar (hotel provides free streetcar passes), close to many restaurants (recommend Bridgeport Brewpub and Laughing Planet for families with young children). No complaints. Not problem with noise or anything else. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for and fair for a nice hotel in a city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beezneez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
Mmmm, if there’s one thing we Portlanders like it’s a tall microbrew, and having Bridgeport right down the street is a nice stroke of luck for all of our guests. Staying in a hotel for five days may not be your first choice for fun, but we’re really pleased to hear that you liked staying with us enough to write such a nice review. Flattered, really. You can’t see it right now, but the hotel is actually blushing. Those bricks weren’t always that shade of red. If you ever return to our fair city, whether for the beer, the food (Laughing Planet was a good choice—they’re very “green” and tasty), or whatever… let us know and we’ll have a room waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Went to Portland for a play and decided to stay at this unique and super cool boutique hotel. This hotel is clean, well appointed, interesting, fun and different. It is amazingly affordable and the staff is smart, attractive and attentive. If you go to the theater you will get an upgraded room besides the complimentary trolley tickets. This hotel is a must. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one2run2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
Smart and attractive, huh? “How *you* doin’?” Thanks so much for the kind words. Portland is a great place to see a play and we’re happy you considered our colorful hotel a great place to stay. We’re good at rhyming too! Any time you want to come back, just give us a ring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I echo all the positives of previous postings but really wanted to compliment the excellent service I received. After reading some of the older posts, I was a little concerned - but I've interacted with many different employees over my 6 day stay and all were fantastic! Friendly, helpful, accommodating and knowledgeable. Perhaps they had problems with service in the past -but it certainly isn't a problem now and travelers should disregard these old postings.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Services at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
After six days you certainly get to know almost everyone here and we’re thrilled you had such a positive (dare we say, “super-mega-awesome”?) stay. We’ve worked hard to tie up any loose customer-service ends and it’s postings like these that let us know we’re doing our job. Come back any time, we’ll be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We loved the stay here and found the room both generous in size and fun for the kids in colour aswell. Two TVs and ideal for young families as there was a full kitchen area with fridge, microwave and dishwasher and all the crocery etc so you can provide late night/early morning snacks for little ones or easily heat baby food etc. We found the location great as were happy to jump on the streetcar which does leave from right outside and explore downtown as well as the Nob Hill area which we liked best. Hot water for teas and hot coffee always in the lobby as were plentiful supplies of taffy and sweets!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesKirkland_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

After staying in chain hotels the past few visits, we decided to check out the Inn at Northup Station. What a wonderful surprise! The hotel is perfectly located and because of the free trolly tickets from the front desk, we have not used our car since we arrived last night! Many restaurants within walking distance, or just a cable car ride away. We had a room facing the main street and I was amazed at how quiet it was. No noise to be heard whatsoever. Great breakfast which included bagels, cereal and waffles. The decor is wonderful. Colorful, trendy and the unusual color scheme is fun. Staff was very friendly and helpful as well as knowledgable about the area. We will make this hotel a regular part of our frequent trips to Portland!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveloveseaotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Really enjoyed our stay here - it's a really convenient place to explore Portland from (ask at reception for a ticket for the tram which stops outside the door - or simply walk around, there are nice boutique shops and places to eat in the area). The room was huge with full kitchen and two big televisions. The retro decor is bright and fun. Breakfast choice included fruit, waffles, bagels. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teggiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing