We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We arrived at the hotel at about 2:30 PM and the room wasn't ready. Since we had never been to Portland before, it might have been nice if the front desk could have inquired if we had somewhere to go for that time and made some suggestions. Other than that, WOW!!! what a cool place. The breakfast area was really funky. The colours, the furniture, the decor. Loved it. The rooms are superb. Very art deco. Loved everything from the king sized bed to the beautiful kitchenette. The 2 flat screen t.v.'s were a definate bonus.
The 3rd floor patio proved to be the perfect place for a night cap with my favourite person.

The hotel is within walking distance to some very quaint shops and restaurants. It is also on the streetcar line. The front desk provided us with free passes, which allowed us to ride for the day, This was fantastic as we make our way to the Pearl district for dinner. Overall, a fantastic place to stay,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Isn’t that 3rd floor patio great during the warm summer months? There’s even a huge gas grill out there for guests to use—something to remember for next time in case you don’t feel like eating out. We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities the rooms have to offer. Call us again when you’re back in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    263
    46
    19
    13
See reviews for
266
418
48
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This was my second stay. Great spot in NW Portland at the corner of 21st and Northrup. Just two blocks from all the shopping and good food on 23rd. Paid about $158.00 per night (that includes tax). The rooms are all suites and have beds, small sitting area with a small sofa, chair, coffee table, small kitchen area along one wall that has sink, dishwasher, fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Kitchen is stocked with dishes. Sitting area makes it feel like you are not crammed in a hotel room. There is a computer with printer and internet on the second floor.

The decor is "fun" bright colors .... orange, purple, green. Kinda feels like staying in a hotel made for the Jetsons...cartoon. Hotel is clean.

Breakfast is included and is a good variety... bagels, eggs, waffles...fruit. Coffee in the lobby is GOOD. Can't say enough about the staff... they are beyond helpful with directions and suggestions for places to eat.

The trolley stops at the corner so getting around is super easy if you don't want to walk. Trolley can get you to within a couple of blocks of the Max (tram that runs all over Portland and out to the burbs). Hotel will give you free trolley passes.

Starbucks is one block away. Anna Banana (good local coffee spot) is around the corner. Trader Joe's is about 5 blocks. Tons of good eating all around hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmeliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Thank you for posting such an informative review! We hope it helps paint a (brightly colored) picture of our hotel for everyone who reads it. It was great having you back a second time and we look forward to the third...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This hotel is a remodeled hotel built in the 70's. They must have torn out some walls because the suites were really roomy, with a full kitchen. The color scheme is really bright, funky and interesting. There is a terrific breakfast and free wifi. Within walking distance of Pearl District and hip 23rd street. friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyNTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
We’re pretty sure at least one out of every three reviews of our hotel includes the word “funky,” and we’re definitely ok with that! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review; we’re glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Good NW location near excellent restaurants and shops. Paleys is around the corner. Wildwood and Seranos are a block or two away. We stayed in a room on the third floor with kitchen. Great to stop at the neighborhood Trader Joe's and stock the frig with snacks and wine. Breakfast was good...the bagels were real! They provide streetcar tokens...nice touch. We enjoyed the roof top deck complete with grill if you wish to eat in. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
We’re truly lucky to have so many world-class restaurants just a hop, skip, and a jump from our front door (though you’re welcome to walk, of course). Much of the menu at each of the places you mentioned comes from local growers, making everything that much better. Can’t wait to have you back the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Loved this place, just loved it. I won't go into details describing the funky decor (photos do a better job) but I will say that the Inn @ Northrup Station was everything we needed and wanted on our one-night stay in Portland.

First off, the location couldn't have been better for us. While it wasn't in downtown proper (I am told it's located in what's considered "North Portland") the city is small enough that it didn't matter at all. More importantly, the hotel is around the corner from dozens of superb restaurants. The reception staff was helpful with recommendations and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Wildwood, which was mere steps from the hotel.

The room itself was enormous, with a separate sitting area with TV and kitchenette (there was a second TV for viewing from the bed. The bathroom was also generously sized. There was a computer with internet access on the floor we were on (third) for guest use, free wifi, free parking, and a very generous free breakfast (although the kids were more enthralled with the free taffy offered around the clock). The room price was reasonable, especially for a major city. What else could I have asked for?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eohippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Just to avoid any confusion, The Inn @ Northrup Station is actually in Northwest Portland. We love our location too, especially since we’re on the streetcar line and have so many great places within walking distance. We’re thrilled you had a great stay and thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walla walla washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I love this Hotel. The staff where friendly and helpful. The Location was perfect and I slept great. My Wife thought that the bed was too hard but in contrast it was perfect for me. The rooms have great size and comfort. This is the hotel that we will be staying at when we visit the Portland area! I had fun and the breakfast was simple yet tasty. The kitchen was a real kitchen and the wi-fi was easy to use.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chia_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
So glad you both enjoyed your stay enough to write a review. We appreciate each and every one. The Inn @ Northrup Station looks forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

There is so much to love about this place: location is perfect and with the streetcar (and free tickets!) just outside the door, you can go anywhere. Parking, internet and breakfast are all free as well. Other pros: plenty of mirrors in the room including a full length one; very good lighting in the bathroom; brand-new bathroom fixtures, all very clean; full kitchen with a bar counter and stools; furniture on wheels (this sounds like a minor detail, but when staying in a hotel, nothing is ever exactly where you want it, so having the coffee table on wheels is so convenient!); the bed is very comfortable; the public computer is very fast and clean (not so in all hotels!); and staff were very efficient, helpful and responsive. For example, if asked the route to the coast, they produced a printed handout with full directions. A few cons that the hotel should pay attention to: the thing that bothered me the most (even though I would stay here again) is that the windows, which open, do not have screens. The AC unit is very loud, yet when I turned it off and opened windows, immediately a large mosquito came in. So, in summer, you have a choice of a noisy AC unit or open the windows and take your chances. This is something the hotel could easily remedy by installing screens on the windows. The refrigerator was also a little loud. Maybe one is just not used to having a frig just a few feet away from the bed. Also, the people in the room next door were loud, so the walls might be a little thin...but when I called the front desk, they took care of this right away. One more thing that surprised the heck out of me for green-loving Portland: a noisy polluting leaf blower being used by the gardener right outside my window at around 11 am. The gardener continued even though he saw the shock and dismay on my face! But overall, a great place and a great value. Maybe the management will respond to my few negatives. This is not the Nines, or the Benson, or even the Hotel Deluxe, but it is fun and convenient! You do everything yourself (like fetch breakfast and coffee and get your car), and you have all the amenities of home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieJ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
From a detail-oriented hotel, we thank you for the very detailed review, including your keen eye for noticing some of the little things that make this place great and even some of the things that we’re currently working on to make it even better. We appreciate your ideas and plan to do our best to remedy your concerns. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing