We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Northrup Station
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was a great place to stay.”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Everything about this place was great!!! We loved it and will be back next year. For everyone who makes negative comments about the funky decor go and stay somewhere else. It is a complete breath of fresh air and is proud of what it is!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the funky décor and the fresh air that goes with it. :) We try our best to make sure that everyone enjoys their stay and it certainly sounds like you did. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    270
    48
    19
    13
See reviews for
270
426
48
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Huge clean rooms. We love the location. The neighborhood gives us everything we'd want - but when we want more, the Streetcar is right outside the door and takes us downtown and to different parts of the Pearl District. Prices low for Portland - if you call them direct (versus booking online) they will upgrade your room as well.

The service is outstanding - I stepped up to the desk to ask how to pay/use the streetcar. The answer: "Here, have a free day pass, it's on us". They also are glad to recommend coffee, restaurants, bars and many destinations in walking distance.

We won't look anywhere else as long as this is under the current management team.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
We’ve worked hard to make sure every stay is as smooth and satisfying as yours so reading your review really put smiles on all our faces. Thank you for writing it and we look forward to continuing the trend of top-notch service for you and everyone else. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

stayed a few nights here in September 2010. we were very pleased with the large rooms, the cleanliness and the safe and nice location. yes, the decor is funky. once you get past that, everything is perfect about this hotel. the location is in an up and coming residential neighborhood so you feel safe walking around at night. just a few blocks north, there are a few great restaurants, bars, art galleries, etc on 23rd street. we really loved spending one afternoon having drinks on the third floor balcony. also, we appreciated the free parking. we had no problem with noise as others have described beneath me, in fact, it was always so quiet.

would definitely stay here again. not the ritz carlton, but it's great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reymic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
It sounds like you made the best of your stay, both at the hotel and out in the neighborhood. When the weather is nice, that third-floor balcony becomes the crown jewel of the hotel— a great place to relax with a cocktail and to use the gas grill for some home-away-from-home-cooked bbq as the sun goes down. When you’re in Portland again, be sure to give us a ring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This hotel is in a good location in Portland's Pearl District, and the street car runs right by.
When we made our reservation, and when we checked in, we stressed the fact that we wanted a quiet room. On the second night of our stay, people in the adjacent room had a raucous get together that really spoiled what was intended by us to be a quiet evening. My
husband contacted the front desk a couple of times, and then went down to talk in person.
This remedied nothing, and the noise continued until about 11:30PM. I always travel with ear plugs. In spite of this, I was woken up several mornings by sound (plumbing?).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MensaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
We’re truly sorry you weren’t able to enjoy the full extent of your stay. While we can't always control the noise level of fellow guests, our staff does their best to resolve any concerns brought to our attention. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My husband and I chose this hotel based on previous trip advisor reviews and were delighted with the place.

The decor is truly funky, bright, cheery and very unique, the rooms are super large with a very comfortable bed and great pillows. The location can't be beat and although we didn't use the trolley it would have been super convenient to use.

The breakfast was delicious and the little outside patio (very limited seating so come early) allowed us to enjoy a gorgeous Portland morning during breakfast.

Will definitely choose this hotel for our next visit to Portland and highly recommend it for service, location, and size of room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Thank you so much for continuing the trend of great reviews that helped you discover the hotel. We’re so happy you had a good time in your spacious suite and that you got to enjoy your breakfast on a top-notch summer morning. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

When we travel, we look for hotels that are: located well; have helpful staff; and have quiet and comfortable rooms. Northrup is a beautiful Inn with all the boxes ticked but one. Their is surprisingly little soundproofing. A bit of noise does not usually bother us but Northrup is in a league by itself. My husband could hear a man snore in the next room! I would only recommend this Inn to people who can sleep through anything, including screaming kids running up and down the hallways early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCCan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
As we read these reviews, we do recognize the noise concerns that arise from time to time because of other guests. While some serious snoring may be tough to remedy, we are taking steps to solve the noise issues and we urge all who stay with us to contact the front desk if anything (or anyone) is bothering you at any time. Our exceptional staff will do everything they can to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

It is not just the funky vibe that will make you smile it is all the extras. Free parking, breakfast and tickets to the trolley car with the stop steps away. The friendly and helpful staff is also a plus and the location is within walking distance to many nice restaurants and cute stores. We only stayed two nights and moved to a hotel close to the airport because of our early flight time. My husband said as we checked out, we are leaving why?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58thway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northrupstation, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at Northrup Station, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
And your review certainly made us smile! We believe it’s often the extras that make a stay so special and next time you’ll have to stay the whole time. In fact, feel free to sleep here as long as you want—some extended stays have lasted two to three months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Northrup Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Northrup Station

Property: Inn at Northrup Station
Address: 2025 NW Northrup St, Portland, OR 97209-1615
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#42 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Northrup Station 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Northrup Station --- Northwest Portland's only all-suite boutique hotel! Located along Portland's celebrated streetcar line, the Inn at Northrup Station features 70, full-appointed suites each complete with a marble and granite kitchen or wet-bar, king or queen beds, sitting area and executive desk. The hotel features a stunning lobby with arresting display of local artwork. A rooftop deck provides a unique setting for outdoor events during warm weather months. Off-street parking is available on a first come, first served basis. The Inn is located immediately adjacent to some of Portland finest five star restaurants and just one block from Good Samaritan Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Northrup Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Northrup Station Hotel Portland
Hotel Northrup Station
Northrup Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing