We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people, great location! ”
Review of Hotel Lucia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lucia
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place, great people, great location! ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel with kind, friendly, helpful staff! The effusive front desk staff went above and beyond with directions to transit and suggestions for local spots. The king bedroom was roomy and oh, so quiet, despite the hotel being full.

The only wee critique I have is the tiny bathroom and wide sink made maneuvering difficult and the sink less easy to use.

Taking walks to Powell's and Voodoo donuts at night is fantastic. The great room, staff and location will have me returning soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nightsinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Great place? Great People? Great Location? Great Review!! Thanks for letting us know how we are doing. We truly appreciate the kind words.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    359
    121
    48
    8
See reviews for
186
538
102
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
600 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Yes, this sounds odd, but there are so many boutique hotels around now that some of them are starting to look the same. Not the Lucia. The rooms are fine, the linens great, the amenities are many and good, top- notch this and that, check, check, check.
Typical Boutique, so far.
What’s different, then? The lobby and the hallways are bursting with art – sculptures, paintings, etchings, lithographs, photographs – which represent many different styles, all interesting, some provocative. It could be a museum. Viewing in the lobby and basement is available to anyone, but a room key is needed to get to the guest floors, whose hallways are also crammed full of photos -- a huge number of David Hume Kennedy photographs with many famous figures as subjects, often in whimsical situations. No wonder Kennedy won a Pulitzer Prize for his art.
I had an extremely busy schedule but nonetheless I took the time to explore the photos on several floors (many duplicates but some one-offs on each floor). One of the employees told me that the art belongs to the hotel’s owner, who has made it a point to focus on Northwest artists (Kennedy is a Portland native.) Hats off to this person. They have created a real treasure for the hotel’s guests.
Oh, yes, the hotel – excellent rooms with top notch appointments, exceptional service and tasty food make it worth going regardless of the above. Chargeaholics will especially appreciate 3AC outlets and two USB charge points on the desk, plus two bedside lamps, each with an AC outlet and a USB charge point. I had room 914, which was spacious and had a decent view. Some of the rooms are small, so if space is important to you, there are nice suites available. One plus which I value is windows which opened enough to let in the cool, fresh evening air.
The hotel’s location is perfect to get out and enjoy this great city.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner court will be quieter but with no view at all. Go for an outward- facing room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Art is really the focus at the Hotel Lucia. Thank you for taking the time to enjoy the professionally curated works and for noticing the important photography of David Hume Kennerly, a Portland native and former White House Press Photographer. Thank you also for your kind words about the rooms, staff and for noticing the small, but important touches like the extra plug -ins and USB ports for those traveling with multiple devices. A lot of purpose went into our recent room renovations and we appreciate you noticing.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everyone at the Lucia - from the front door to the front desk to the restaurant to the facility staff (!) - was extremely friendly and helpful. Our daughter has celiac disease so we were particularly pleased with how well the restaurant took care of us. Beyond the people, the hotel itself has magnificent artwork in the most unlikely of places. I've never been so distracted by artwork on a simple walk to the bathroom! Finally, the location was ideal. Easy walking distance to everything. I highly recommend Hotel Lucia!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelFun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We truly appreciate both your business as well as your kind words. Our restaurant team works hard at providing quality, locally sourced and sustainable ingredients with an eye toward accommodating the specific needs and tastes of our guests. We were pleased to be a part of your family trip to the Pacific Northwest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Due to work, I recently spent over three weeks at the Hotel Lucia in downtown Portland. While the rooms are on the smallish side (ala NYC), there are in excellent shape, have a sophisticated vibe, and very comfortable bedding. The bathrooms have a stainless steel bowl sink, which looks great but isn't the most functional.

The rooms are quiet, the housekeeping staff is terrific, and any requests I made were handled quickly and with a smile.

The staff is generally outstanding, though the late night desk help can leave something to be desired. The valets are outstanding, bring your car around quickly, and are always ready with directions or dining/activity suggestions.

The restaurant (The Imperial) is absolutely outstanding - so good that my 4-star rating was nearly 5-star. The food is locally sourced, and very "Portland" - but what sets The Imperial apart from other PDX eateries is flavor. I sampled nearly everything on the menu during my stay and never had a meal that wasn't superb. My only disappointment is that the room service menu is maybe 40% of the full menu, and that hurt on several evenings when I needed or wanted to stay in my room.

If you drink alcohol, the bar inside the restaurant is the best in all of downtown Portland. If you're there, ask for John, tell him Paul sent you, and you'd like to order a "GuyotStorm" - a drink that was invented for, and named after, me.

The prices for the Lucia are in line with most other area hotels in its class, and I will stay there again anytime I return to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizzTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris b, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a solid review. Thank you also for your business and for putting your trust and loyalty in us. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you visit Portland. I am not sure we have had another guest have a drink named after them. Congratulations, very original, like you and the Hotel Lucia.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Amazing location, very tasteful and interesting art/decor, and outstanding customer service. We arrived early on the first day and our room was already ready at noon despite check-in time normally being at 3. Our room was small, but included all the amenities we needed including a nice large closet to keep all of our gear in. The staff were more than happy to keep all of our luggage at the front desk on the day we checked out so we could enjoy the rest of the day in the city without worrying about leaving things in our car. I would definitely come back to Hotel Lucia.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do everything we can to accomodate early arrival requests and we are pleased that things worked out so well.

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. Please consider us again the next time you travel to Portland.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
247 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is a conveniently located hotel in downtown Portland. Although our room was small, it was well decorated and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The reception staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. The valet parking staff and doorman were also pleasant and efficient. I appreciated the selection of complimentary newspapers. This is a terrific hotel and with the exception of the room size I would give it my highest endorsement.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aquadroplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We really appreciate the favorable review. Words like "fashionable, comfortable and quiet" truly capture the essence of the Hotel Lucia where Delivering Calm is the name of the game.

Thanks for the business as well as the great review. Both are truly appreciated.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here recently during a family vacation with our toddler. They were very accommodating and even had a crib available, although it did make our quaint room a bit more cramped. The room itself was clean and modern, as well as a clean spacious enough bathroom. The bathroom could have used a bigger shelf for toiletries. Loved the FREE Wifi in the room - nice added touch! The mini-bar/snacks were well stocked with a wide variety and you were able to order KURE juice smoothies to your room each morning. Yummy! We enjoyed brunch at the Imperial Cafe (on location) - delicious food and again very accommodating to a couple travelling with a young child. The transit station, coffee shops, shopping and restaurants are all within a short distance of this beautiful hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGM529, General Manager at Hotel Lucia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
What's a family vacation without great food and shopping, right? Very happy to hear that it was "Mission Accomplished" on your recent visit to Portland. The Hotel Lucia is honored to have been a part of what sounds like a great family experience.

Regards,

Chris Bebo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,775 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucia

Property: Hotel Lucia
Address: 400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Business Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#28 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucia Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing