We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Convention Center
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The room itself was recently redecorated nicely. The man at the desk was very nice. But the stairs down to the parking lot, that whole thing, was depressing. Plus, It was extra $5 to park,and $20 per night for doggie. I hadn't anticipated those charges.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlandbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We picked it based on location to the convention center. The location was good, but the Red Lion and Quality Inn are just as close - and the Courtyard by Marriott is also within walking distance. So where to start. How about the fact that the glass in the windows is so thin, that you feel like someone picked up your bed and set it down in the middle of the street below. Then there are the horns (boats? trains?) that go off at 3 in morning and again at 4 in the morning. Only one of two elevators worked. Not unusual to wait for 5+ minutes. No internal stair option. The good news is that you can ask for ear plugs at the front desk Ugh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I wanted to just park and use street car to get to Pearl District for dinner.
This place was right there.
Street Car is $1 for 2 hours, it runs 2 "trains" all over the area on a fixed loop. Great system.
I did not look into the light rail, but it's probably good too.

Sure, the hotel a bit older and tired, but the room was clean. The towels and soap were better than a lot of budget hotels. The price was fair for downtown Portland.

I read reviews complaining about cleaning product smell. I am pretty sensitive to "Fabreze bombing" and I did not notice any smells at all. So that complaint seems isolated to me.

They were painting and doing many other upgrades when I passed through. They seem to be putting money back into it as cash flow allows. A much harder task than a huge chain with unlimited budgets.
I think some small things might bother sensitive travelers. But if you want to spend $30-$40 more a night to avoid that, go to a Hyatt or something.
I would rather save that money, and not care about a torn piece of wall paper.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I just asked for a "quiet area" and she put me towards the end on the 4th floor. I was ple...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I came to Portland a couple of months back in search of a job ( and new life), and took the advice of the tourism desk at the airport, which led me to this fine hotel. It is located near light rail and bus stops, up the street from the big sporting arena and next to the convention center. But the convenience pales in comparison to the friendliness of the staff and management. They actually care about the guest's well-being, being helpful in not only the standard ways ( room, comfort, etc,), but also in individualized areas.
The first time, they helped me with job listings, touristic points to see and how to get there, where to get food, what areas might be best to see during the A.M. hours (which as a female I very much appreciated). They were friendly and patient, never tiring of my endless questions and mapped out excursions (thanks Clayton).
The second time I checked in, it was with my nephew who was moving me up here to live. I would have been happy with rooms on the same floor, or even side by side, but Dave went the extra mile to get us adjoining ones, with fantastic views. And when it came time to move the beast of a moving truck, Paul was ever ready to help with the flow of traffic onto the busy street.
All in all, the staff from front desk to housekeeping, to maintenance, and not least of all, to management, are friendly, caring professionals. Mark, the GM, has led by example and should be proud of his staff. I would recommend this place be it for one night or for an extended stay. And I would definitely check in family and friends here.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the convention center; it lights up at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAM5072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Full disclosure: We stay here at least once a year. But that does not mean you should. Proximity to the Lloyd Center as well as the Garden is wonderful. The views of the city from the south side of the hotel are nice.

But really that is it. There is one place closer to the Garden that is a tad less expensive but we still come back here cause we know to expect little more than the basics and are never disappointed. What ends up drawing us is the covered parking that is well lit and pretty secure. The rooms are basic but clean.

It is a great place to crash but do remember that if there is an event at the Garden or the Convention Center, the prices go up.
Low expectations will get you far here :o)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have stayed at the Inn for years and they are friendly nice forks. Recently they have changed management and have renovated the rooms and the beds are wonderful. The MAX Transit system is just across the street as well as the Portland Convention Center, The Rose Garden for the Trail Blazers and the Memorial Gardens are within easy walking distance, about 5 city blocks. The MAX also serves the whole Portland area including the Portland Airport PDX and goes from Gresham to Hillsboro east and west and Kaiser Sunnyside Hospital to the south and Multnomah County Expo Center at the Columbia river to the north.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a beautiful view of the city
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#12 of 144 in Portland
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 144 in Portland
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Convention Center

Address: 420 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £83 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, moderately price, free WIFI, limited service, free 24-hour per day lobby coffee, interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Hotel Portland
Inn Convention Center Portland
Hotel At

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing