We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Convention Center
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly comfortable”
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We have stayed here about 3 times now and have been really happy with the service and quality/comfort of the rooms each time. We were looking for a fairly comfortable budget option in Portland and struggled to find anywhere which looked OK and wasn't too pricey. When we stumbled upon this place, we looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and were a bit wary of booking as there are quite mixed reviews.

However, we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. The beds are really big and very comfortable, the rooms are spacious and it has pretty much everything you would expect/want from an average hotel room. The rooms are a bit worn, with carpets coming away a little and other wear and tear in other parts of the room. However, although a little shabby, the rooms are not at all depressing in the way that some budget rooms can be. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly and are a great source of information about Portland. The MAX is about a 30 second walk and so you don't feel stuck out of Portland. There's also a big mall about 4 blocks away.

So all in all I would highly recommend this place if you need a budget option but don't want to stay in a dive. Apparently this place is going to be knocked down at some point in the next few years no doubt to be replaced with something big and fancy. But until then it's a really sound place to stay.

  • Liked — The price as compared with the room quality and the great staff
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBritOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    77
    84
    41
    66
See reviews for
49
63
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2006

We booked our room using Priceline and were prepared to get what we paid for. However, upon arriving, we were pleasantly surprised to find a decent hotel with incredible service. The front desk agent, Zack, was extremely helpful with directions and ideas for fun in Portland. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome and his advice proved quite valuable during our time in Portland.
The rooms are dated but clean. Noise is somewhat of an issue, but this can be said of any city hotel.
Next to the great service, perhaps the best part of the hotel is that it is just across the street from Portland's free tram service that will take you into and all over dowtown for free. We didn't have to use our car once!

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svoirfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

I've been staying here once or twice a year for the past 4 years and let me tell you, this place is a nice kept little secret. I hope more people don't find out about this place, because then they'll probably raise the rates!

Yes, it is a little dated (read: 1980's !);however, for the location, you WILL NOT find a better price. Trust me I've looked. It's right on the MAX light rail line and minutes from downtown. It's also close to Highway 205 to the Airport or the MAX line to the Airport. Very convenient. It is also right next to the Convention Center (duh!), so there are plenty of amenities nearby.

My advice: Get a non-smoking room on the south side of the building as high as possible for a cool view of downtown at night. All rooms feature large glass walls. Steer clear of the rooms on the north side (Grande St), unless you want to hear the MAX train go by all night!

  • Liked — Great location, very frienly staff, low rates compared to other hotels in the area.
  • Disliked — No balconies and some of the windows are sealed shut in certain rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — For a great view, get a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing downtown and the river!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank knickatknite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2006

Great location, right by the free MAX train. We basically just wanted a clean room to crash in and did not want to stay at a hostal. This place is old and tacky, and has loud water pipes that woke us up in the morning. However, it had a great staff, was pretty clean, and perfect location. Good for the budget concious.

  • Liked — close to downtown and cheap
  • Disliked — Just old, ugly, rundown.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunny_traveler_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

This is a great place to stay if you want value. We spent very little time in our hotel room - we prefer to be out and about in the city, and to have a clean place to crash at the end of the day. The Inn provided just that. The rooms are clean but not fancy, bed was comfy. Service is limited to vending machines. Great view of the city! The hotel was a bit run down, but the price couldn't be beat ($59/nt).

The hotel is right next to the MAX light rail station, inside the fareless zone (You can travel all over downtown Portland on no fare!). The trip to downtown Portland is less than 5 minutes, and the trip to the airport took 30 minutes. The airport train runs every 15 minutes and the fare is $1.65 from the hotel.

The restaurant adjacent to the hotel is closed, but the Red Lion is right across the street if you're desperate, and downtown is just minutes away.

  • Liked — Close to train station
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dbarnese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2006

We had a great stay. TV channel selection was good, nice view of the city, and convenient access to the light rail line. The shower had excellent water pressure. Not a lot of amenities provided, but they do offer a discount at the Red Lion restaurant across the street.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lotus14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2006

The Inn at the Convention Center is located right across the street from the Tri-Met and within walking distance of the Convention Center and the Rose Garden so the location is great (love the Starbucks across the street). However, the towels, toilet paper and tissues were like sandpaper - I would highly recommend bringing your own towels if you are going to stay here. The rooms could use a bit of a facelift as well. All in all, a decent value.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Finaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#63 of 140 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Convention Center

Property: Inn at the Convention Center
Address: 420 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location, moderately price, free WIFI, limited service, free 24-hour per day lobby coffee, interior corridors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Hotel Portland
Inn Convention Center Portland
Hotel At

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing