We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nordic Inn and Suites
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

At first glance, this motel seems a little sketchy. However, I was pleasantly surprised with my stay here. The room was very nice and very clean. It looked newly remodeled, and had everything needed for a great stay (mini fridge, microwave, AC unit). Previous reviews I read about this motel talked a lot about the neighborhood and the noise coming from the tire shop and train. I won't argue that the surrounding neighborhood isn't the greatest, but it's really not that bad. I did hear noise from the shop and the train, but it was hardly an issue, in my opinion. For the price and location of this motel you really can't beat it. This motel is a great example of not judging a book by it's cover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 89kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful stay at the Nordic. As this was my first time staying at a motel, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. There were a couple of bad reviews on here which I was worried about; bed bugs, noise and neighbourhood. We hadn't had bed bugs and there wasn't any constant intolerable noise. I don't know the neighbourhood so no comments on that but I felt safe at the motel. I'm glad I did not listen to those bad comments.
I did not care about having the fridge and the microwave at first but they did come in handy for breakfast. Our room was big, tidy, spick and span. The bed was comfy. There was a good heating/cooling system. Clean shower and big bathroom. Every comfort and even more than you can get at a good hotel. Great service from friendly and helpful staff.
You just can't beat the price, the location and the service. Will definitely recommend it to others and if we swing by Portland again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights on our first visit to Portland. I had discovered this motel on the internet and was impressed with the numbers of positive reviews it had received. We weren't disappointed. We liked the location, the staff, the service, the accommodations (queen size bed, microwave, DVD player, fridge, cable, etc). The staff were especially helpful in giving us advice about how to get around on the mass transit system and made our stay and exploration of Portland an easy, stress-free, and extremely enjoyable and memorable experience. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I spent a week at the Nordic and it was a wonderful experience. It was very clean, we always had plenty of towels. There was a full size stove and refridgerator which helped cut down on our food expenses. There is a train nearby, but I really did not hear it at all. Someone else left a comment about the neighborhood not being the greatest, but I felt quite comfortable walking through the neighborhood on my own. I was there with my daughter and we had a room that had two seperate bedrooms which gave us each our privacy which was an added bonus. Very happy. I would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Full size fridge, and stove, but no dishes, pans, or silverware. So, if you're planning on staying her because of these item's... bring the essentials. Train's a few times throughout the night, and they run behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelloInMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I came across this wonderful motel while on travel, The owners Jay, and Lena greeted me when I arrived with a genuine humble, and appreciative greeting. I stayed there for three weeks. The rooms are personal, clean, and quite cozy. There is daily cleaning of the rooms, and the staff is also very personal. I have stayed at some of the worlds most mentioned hotels like The Heathman ,The Governor, The Benson, as well as The Waldorf. I would highly recommend the managers of these establishments visit The Nordic, and clone there way of serving the public in the hospitality genre. I will never stay anywhere else when in need of a hotel other than The Nordic. I can't say enough about my experience here. In fact there isn't a word in the dictionary to perfectly describe this establishment!! But don't take my word for it, go and experience it for yourself. $337.00 for seven days, a fraction of the cost of the other hotels with much larger rewards. So if you are looking for a GREAT MOTEL. Look no further, there is only one. THE NORDIC!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room number 25 is on the corner and is close to anything you may need or want. I love this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dvidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I cannot understand the "good" reviews this motel has received. I reserved a room here for two nights, but started questioning it when I saw the neighborhood. I drove by used tire shops, motorcycle repair shops, smoke shops, and light industry, and began to wonder. When I finally found the Nordic, in between two disreputable-looking no-tell motels, I knew I would not be spending ANY time here at all.Not only was the neighborhood industrial and run down, there was what appeared to be a prostitute doing business in the parking lot...at 5 p.m! I got out of there as quickly as I could. This is no place for a woman traveling alone, or for anyone who values their safety! If I could have rated this worse than terrible, I would have. Awful neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WolfCreekWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
7.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#18 of 144 in Portland
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Inn and Suites

Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Inn and Suites is a diamond in the rough. Because of it's central location, strong amenities, and quality in decor, this charming Inn is the perfect place for a single night, or even an extended stay for business or pleasure. Located less than 4 miles from Portland International Airport and just 10 miles from downtown Portland, Oregon, Nordic Inn & Suites is also within 45 minutes of the world-class outdoor adventure of Mount Hood and the Columbia River Gorge making Nordic the perfect choice to accommodate a wide assortment of travel plans. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience, which is why we say our goal is to be "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nordic Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing