We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best independent motel experiences”
Review of Nordic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nordic Motel
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best independent motel experiences”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After looking at the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to stay at the Nordic. It is close to the airport and easy to get to. After arriving, we were not disappointed. Very nice motel. The grounds are nicely landscaped (by the owners) and the rooms are very clean/modern/comfortable. Jay (the owner) gave me a great history of the development of the motel which I found interesting. He spent nearly an hour talking to me about the area, the motel his family and the ownership of the motel.

The price point of the motel makes it a must, you will not find a better value proposition in Portland. Did I mention the rooms are clean?

We usually try to find independent or family owned motels to stay at while we travel. This is one of the best! If you find yourself in Portland looking for something different, this is it!

Room Tip: We didn't have a chance to view different rooms but after staying there I would have to liked to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    113
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
121
41
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

VERY clean! I prefer to stay here because of the friendly owners and staff...they go out of their way to make you feel welcome :) It is located close to the airport & the shops/restaurants of Cascade Station. Easy access to I-205 and I-84.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trucker142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The only thing bad about this place is the baby ants in the room we saw maybe 7-10 ants. It won't stop me from staying here again. Overall great value for what you get! The owners are awesome!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center great place if your flying out of PDX
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I felt so good when we pulled into this motel! The exterior is freshly and attractively painted, the clerk was so friendly and the room was clean and also recently painted. There is nothing special and there are some things that are outdated but it was a nice little spot where I felt really safe and comfortable. The only thing that was a bummer: we like to watch movies as a family at night and the beds were in separate rooms so that made that a little difficult. The room we had had a bed int he main room with a small kitchenette and then another bed in a small separate room. So, if you need the beds in the same room for small children or something you may want to ask if they have a room like that.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Maybe I expected too much due to the great reviews here but I wasnt quite feeling this place. The pros: it was inexpensive, it had a parking lot so great for day trips outside of the city, had the basics (hairdryer, fridge- although the shampoo was in packets so hard to reuse and no body lotion), the staff was very nice and it was relatively up to date and clean. The cons: I did think it was noisy, outside noise as well as the inside AC unit which sounded like an exhaust fan and didnt seem to cool the room off very well, only one window with only a blackout curtain, so it was closed most of the time due to privacy but then it felt like a cave, a shower that felt like a fire hose and a very firm mattress, all of these are really no big deal but the major drawback for me was it felt very far away from downtown Portland. On paper it didnt seem like a big deal but with the horrible traffic it seemed to always take longer than it should have. It really didnt have that "staying in Portland" feel. Of course, this also is only a drawback if you plan on spending a lot of time downtown. If you are simply going to and from the airport or are taking day trips, its fine.
Bottom line, I wouldnt stay here unless on a tight budget or not planning on spending a lot of time downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bailey92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This may be the cleanest of a fair number of motels I've ever stayed in. And that without the usual motel disinfectant odor. Other positives include friendly and helpful family ownership and a nice coffee, tea and caramel spread in the main office. The location is a bit distant from downtown Portland, but at least ca 11:30PM, the drive was only 15 min or so; and the airport is very nearby. Reasonable prices, so an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BodieBroadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and we were very pleased! Clean comfy rooms and a nice shower. It was convenient to all the places we wanted to go. The staff was friendly and helpful! If ever in Portland again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pugstain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
7.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
2.8 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#66 of 140 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
7.9 mi away
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Motel

Property: Nordic Motel
Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Motel is a diamond in the rough, the perfect for a place for a single night or even an extended stay. Located less than four miles from Portland's PDX airport, this is a clean and comfortable motel. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience."Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nordic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing