We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly motel for a brief stay in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nordic Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on the reviews and it didn't disappoint!

We turned up on a Friday afternoon and got a 'double' double room for $94. The room was huge: had 2 comfy double beds, a huge fridge, stove with an oven, microwave, sink and cupboards. There was also a clean bathroom with a: toilet, sink, a small bath with shower over it. Everything was spotless and smelt clean and fresh.

The location is a good 20 minutes from downtown in a car so bear that in mind if you're thinking of staying here without transport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura_Cariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Nordic Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 August 2013

After looking at the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to stay at the Nordic. It is close to the airport and easy to get to. After arriving, we were not disappointed. Very nice motel. The grounds are nicely landscaped (by the owners) and the rooms are very clean/modern/comfortable. Jay (the owner) gave me a great history of the development of the motel which I found interesting. He spent nearly an hour talking to me about the area, the motel his family and the ownership of the motel.

The price point of the motel makes it a must, you will not find a better value proposition in Portland. Did I mention the rooms are clean?

We usually try to find independent or family owned motels to stay at while we travel. This is one of the best! If you find yourself in Portland looking for something different, this is it!

Room Tip: We didn't have a chance to view different rooms but after staying there I would have to liked to...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

VERY clean! I prefer to stay here because of the friendly owners and staff...they go out of their way to make you feel welcome :) It is located close to the airport & the shops/restaurants of Cascade Station. Easy access to I-205 and I-84.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trucker142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The only thing bad about this place is the baby ants in the room we saw maybe 7-10 ants. It won't stop me from staying here again. Overall great value for what you get! The owners are awesome!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center great place if your flying out of PDX
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I felt so good when we pulled into this motel! The exterior is freshly and attractively painted, the clerk was so friendly and the room was clean and also recently painted. There is nothing special and there are some things that are outdated but it was a nice little spot where I felt really safe and comfortable. The only thing that was a bummer: we like to watch movies as a family at night and the beds were in separate rooms so that made that a little difficult. The room we had had a bed int he main room with a small kitchenette and then another bed in a small separate room. So, if you need the beds in the same room for small children or something you may want to ask if they have a room like that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Maybe I expected too much due to the great reviews here but I wasnt quite feeling this place. The pros: it was inexpensive, it had a parking lot so great for day trips outside of the city, had the basics (hairdryer, fridge- although the shampoo was in packets so hard to reuse and no body lotion), the staff was very nice and it was relatively up to date and clean. The cons: I did think it was noisy, outside noise as well as the inside AC unit which sounded like an exhaust fan and didnt seem to cool the room off very well, only one window with only a blackout curtain, so it was closed most of the time due to privacy but then it felt like a cave, a shower that felt like a fire hose and a very firm mattress, all of these are really no big deal but the major drawback for me was it felt very far away from downtown Portland. On paper it didnt seem like a big deal but with the horrible traffic it seemed to always take longer than it should have. It really didnt have that "staying in Portland" feel. Of course, this also is only a drawback if you plan on spending a lot of time downtown. If you are simply going to and from the airport or are taking day trips, its fine.
Bottom line, I wouldnt stay here unless on a tight budget or not planning on spending a lot of time downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bailey92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
7.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#16 of 144 in Portland
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Inn and Suites

Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £70 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Inn and Suites is a diamond in the rough. Because of it's central location, strong amenities, and quality in decor, this charming Inn is the perfect place for a single night, or even an extended stay for business or pleasure. Located less than 4 miles from Portland International Airport and just 10 miles from downtown Portland, Oregon, Nordic Inn & Suites is also within 45 minutes of the world-class outdoor adventure of Mount Hood and the Columbia River Gorge making Nordic the perfect choice to accommodate a wide assortment of travel plans. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience, which is why we say our goal is to be "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nordic Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing