We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind Owners and a Great Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nordic Inn and Suites
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at the Nordic Motel for several weeks while my home was having some renovations. I had a wonderful experience and I encourage anyone looking for a longer term stay at a motel to stay here.

Pros:

-Kind owners who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

-Great price! $450 weekly rate and about $60 nightly.

-Room is small but clean and everything looks very new.

-Amazing, huge flat screen TV with full cable, HBO and Showtime.

-Decent internet connection and, best of all, it's free!

-Very responsible front desk people who will take care of noisy guests.

-Rooms are kept practically spotless.

-Bed was very comfortable and seemed brand new.

Cons:

-Daily maid service that is mandatory can be a little annoying.

-Location is a little out there but not awful.

-Front desk lady who was not related to the owners gave me a little bit of attitude but the owners more than make up for that with their kindness.

-The cheapness attracts the occasional scummy guest but the owners are quick to act if they are noisy or threatening.

Overall, I had an amazing experience and the Nordic felt very much like home. If you need somewhere to stay long term or don't care about staying anywhere fancy then this is the place for you! I also stayed at Motel 6 and this was a much better experience, can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: They have rooms with full kitchens, so be sure to ask if you need that feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

5 star, 4 star, 3 star !!!!! Tough to rate. 5 Star would be a Hilton. A Hilton this ain't BUT if you want value an hospitality, this hotel rates 5 stars. So I rated on value and hospitality. Take the time to look inside one of the rooms. Every thing is new and bright and clean. It's family run and independent. Coffee in the office and great conversation with Jay. I was comfortable with the mix of the other residents. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 2 br for an extra $20 / night. I'm old and crotchity so I need my personal spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TLIPPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

About a 15 minute drive to downtown, close to the airport. Great value, really clean rooms one of the cleanest motel we have ever stayed at, powerfull shower! Helpful staff, next time We are in Portland we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleks P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The owner is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very clean with a flatscreen TV, fridge and HD channels including HBO. The location is very close to the airport and the interstate. The only downside is the walls are a little thin and there are train tracks nearby so it can be a little loud.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The room was clean, rudimentary and tiny. The staff was exceptionally nice and completely helpful. The walls were thin so that outside noises could be heard (including trains, planes and cars) but the neighbors were all quite quiet.

However, the neighborhood is dicey at best and some of the patrons at the hotel (some of who looked long-term) made me a little uncomfortable. It definitely felt "low-rent" and I was edgy while staying there. I think it would be fine for couples and families and big broad guys traveling alone. But for me, a small woman who happened to be traveling solo -- I don't think I'll stay there again.

But the price was right!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathyhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We (2 adults, a 6yo and a 9yo) spent 5 nights here visiting friends in Portland and Hillsboro, and we were very satisfied. Finding a place with separate bedrooms -- divided by a door no less -- for under $100 a night is a real find. Include the full functioning kitchen and free parking and we were sold.

We caught on through other reviews that the kitchen doesn't include pots, pans, dishes, etc. we arranged with a friend to borrow the basics, and it was fantastic having a full size fridge, oven, stove, and microwave. We saved a fortune on eating out.

Also, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and definitely a cut above what you think of when you imagine motel beds.

We never heard a peep from neighbors, and everything was very clean. Our room was nonsmoking and smelled fresh. There was a security camera directly outside the room and there always seemed to be someone in the office and we felt very safe.

A little coffee stand is directly across the street and once I went for espresso, but usually got the free coffee in the office.

There is a really well reviewed breakfast place, The German Bakery, just down the street but they were closed Sunday and Monday. We definitely intend to go there next time.

The owners were very nice and extremely accommodating. They are always there to help when you need them.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, which was nonsmoking and further back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tailyp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The proprietors are very friendly. The rooms are newly renovated and clean. Plenty of parking. Close to the expressway. I even had a good jog in the nice neighborhood down the street. Yes, I definitely recommend this place. It is a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuffaloDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,724 reviews
Hampton Inn Portland East
#21 of 146 in Portland
535 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Inn and Suites

Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Inn and Suites is a diamond in the rough. Because of it's central location, strong amenities, and quality in decor, this charming Inn is the perfect place for a single night, or even an extended stay for business or pleasure. Located less than 4 miles from Portland International Airport and just 10 miles from downtown Portland, Oregon, Nordic Inn & Suites is also within 45 minutes of the world-class outdoor adventure of Mount Hood and the Columbia River Gorge making Nordic the perfect choice to accommodate a wide assortment of travel plans. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience, which is why we say our goal is to be "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nordic Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing