We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nordic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nordic Motel
Ranked #28 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Visited here for one night. The room was clean, staff friendly and pace was very up to date and safe looking. We were given a free upgrade to our room which was fantastic. Would highly recommend this place to any traveler, but particularly the budget traveler obviously.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    110
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
117
41
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nordic Motel was a most pleasant surprise. Probably not for those who require elegance, it is definitely a star for budget travelers. This motel has been completely renovated, inside and out. It is clean, fresh, spacious and comfortable.

It is not particularly convenient to downtown Portland, but doable, and it is near the airport. Morning coffee is available in the lobby where you may be greeted by the very personable owner. We are glad to have found this nice little locally owned motel during our road trip through the Pacific Northwest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BSA1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took two rooms as we were two couples traveling together and both rooms were very clean and updated. WiFi signal was strong and fast. Beds were comfortable. Shower was very nice...in hotels, often shower heads are dingy and gross. Towels were thick and soft. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSpudd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Clean and newly renovated. Close to the airport as well as an easy drive to the eclectic parts of Portland. Front desk was very accommodating and they have very good coffee. We enjoyed our stay the first time so much that we stayed there on our way back to the airport. Unexpectedly awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GooberDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
649 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

As advertised.
Clean.
Everything works well.
Lots of good cable channels on the crystal clear flat screen TV.
WiFi is fast and included in the FAIR rate.
Standards are high and value is well documented by other reviewers.
We second that emotion and recommend Nordic Motel unreservedly.
well done, Jay! 'Top of the class'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The place is very clean and tidy. We were very pleased that the room has a nice set up. We went with the two bedroom because it was only a few dollars more. The beds are separated by a room so there is more privacy. The people were also very friendly and kind. The parking is also very nice because it is directly in front of all the rooms. I definitely know where I'm staying next time I'm in the PDX. The beds are also very comfortable and the two bedroom comes with a kitchen. There is a refrigerator, microwave, sink, and dining table.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This motel looks modest but has all the amenities needed for a stay in Portland at an exceptional good rate. The room was sparkling clean and had a full kitchen so I was able to save on food costs during my three day visit. The complementary coffee is excellent, the room was well lighted, the outlets were plentiful, the bed was perfect, and the room even came with an easy chair. I will return here the next time I come back to Portland.

Room Tip: If you book your room directly with the motel, you will get a better rate, the owner (Jay) told me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 623David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#66 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
7.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Motel

Property: Nordic Motel
Address: 11942 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-1489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nordic Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nordic Motel is a diamond in the rough, the perfect for a place for a single night or even an extended stay. Located less than four miles from Portland's PDX airport, this is a clean and comfortable motel. We truly care about providing you with an affordable and enjoyable lodging experience."Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Nordic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing