We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Center
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“management”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I just love Cindy!! She is the manager here and I found her to be very informative, knowledgable and VERY friendly! If there is anything you need to know, or if you need any kind of accomodation, she is the one!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
39
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Friendly, family-run spot right downtown.

The bathroom was clean and had abundant very hot water for the shower which was fantastic, and the bed was nice and comfortable.

It is indeed a motel, but it didn't feel like a point against this place at all... our car was safe parked overnight, and we were walking distance from the Saturday Farmer's Market which was perfect (LOVE that market!).

The desk staff were helpful with everything. A perfect stop on a roadtrip :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicyradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

If you would like clean, reasonably priced, basic, friendly staff and a place that is situated downtown then this is the place for you. We rolled into town and found this Econo Lodge, I have nothing bad to say about it. If you're looking for a more high end, modern decor, etc, than this is not the place for you. I like that public transportation is all around. Worked out well when we went out for "refreshments". I would go back.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main street, that's all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

The check in process was easy and for the price a nice hotel. The location is perfect. You do have to pay 10 dollars for parking which I think should be encluded with room purchase, but I guess the price could be worse. I am only staying 1 night so this hotel worked for me, the only thing is the beds are not too comfy but if I were staying longer I would have wanted a different hotel. I would recommend this if you are just passing thru.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattlebound12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

If all you are looking for is a clean and no frills place to stay close to Portland's transit and downtown area, this is definitely the place for you. Basic and simple is it. There are only twenty rooms in this small hotel which fill up very quickly. The standard amenities available are free wi-fi, tv, microwave, a fridge, and a bathroom almost equal in size to the room. The continental breakfast is also simple, but ample, providing juice, coffee, bread, bagels, condiments, and fresh fruit, along with trays to carry your food to your room. Run by pleasant staff, who are friendly, helpful, and willing to accommodate. We would have stayed more than one night had the hotel not been booked. We really appreciated the proximity to downtown Portland and being able to walk, albeit a number of blocks away, to places such as the library, Powell's books, the theater, etc. Right near Portland State University, the hotel has a block of fast food type vendors parked across the street catering to students in need of cheap food. We were most impressed with how clean and odor free we found our room. No lingering smells, no long dingy hallways, a spotless new carpet, decent bedding, and a bathroom that could sleep a twin size bed. I would not hesitate to recommend this facility to anyone looking for a simple and clean "base" from which to explore the wonderful town of Portland. If you're into second hand clothes or costumes, make sure to check out Portland's many thrift and vintage shops in town. They are amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Friendly and helpful owner. Stayed in upper floor room with plenty of space and very clean. The location was very convenience to public transport and those trucker food pods. Breakfast was very limited and only 1 or 2 seats there. The price was a bit high but considering it's during the 100th roses festival so it's reasonable then. Overall pleasant experience.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Solosojina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

While there are plenty of hotels with more character in Portland, they all were substantially more expensive or outside of the downtown area. The best thing about the Econo Lodge is its location. While it is not right in the heart of downtown (i.e. the area close to Powell's Books and such), it is either a long walk or quick transit ride away. Portland's public transit system is excellent and free within the downtown core, including the area where this motel is located. It is a few short blocks from all of the various types of transit, which made our trip to the airport and to other areas of the city quick and painless. Also, it is a short walk from the big Saturday Farmer's Market in the park blocks by PSU and there is a pod of food trucks (including the excellent Portland Soup Company) one block away. The room itself is not fancy, but it was clean. The bathroom was surprisingly nice with granite countertops. The owners were very nice and helpful with directions and let us store luggage for a few hours after check out. The biggest downside was that our ground floor room was a little dark. Next time I return to Portland, I'd stay here again, unless I was in the mood to splurge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amyakabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 143 in Portland
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#28 of 143 in Portland
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Center

Property: Econo Lodge City Center
Address: 1889 SW 4th Ave, Portland, OR 97201-5303 (Formerly Fourth Avenue Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge City Center is located near PSU, and walking distance to the downtown area. We are 1.5 miles from OHSU, VA Hospital, Doernbecher, Shriner's Children Hospital and the Casey Eye Institute. We are 4 blocks from the Keller Auditorium, where they have musicals, operas, and concerts. Public transportation is within 2 blocks from us. We have 25 of the famous food trucks located across the street from us. Our rooms are not fancy, but we are clean and comfortable with 42" TVs, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron/board, and have complimentary wifi and a continental breakfast to get you started in the morning. We pride ourselves with our customer service; we want you to enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hotel Portland
Econo Lodge Portland
Portland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing