We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
32
52
26
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
52
26
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food carts portland state transit options close to public transit street cars small hotel excellent location water pressure in the shower place to sleep within walking distance the max light rail pearl district room was clean and comfortable downtown area motel streetcar psu
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Bad customer service. Location is ok. Cleanness is ok. Breakfast is not. One minute passed checkout time, we were remembered to leave the place while we were packing everything in the car. Not rude or impolite but a little weird. Leaving the car for one more hour in the parking lot was a problem even with parking spots left empty. Considering they charge a $10 parking fee, I would have expected I could have left my car a little. Again, not rude or impolite but once the business is over, they want you out from the place.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, General Manager at Econo Lodge City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

I do apologize for the behavior of our new front desk agent. We have a new agent, and apparently he took the check out time a little too seriously. Our intentions are to remind the guest of the check out time, and allow them a little extra time to get ready. If requested in advance, we do allow a late check out up to an hour. However, after 12 there is a late fee charged. We do charge another day of parking after check out time, but again an hour is fine. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, as I will definitely be using this as a reminder to my agents. We hope you will give us another chance and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. It has very clean rooms in the staff here is awesome. It’s located in a good area of town within walking distance to many bars and restaurants. I enjoyed this hotel and will definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita P, General Manager at Econo Lodge City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The location is convenient for a inexpensive trip to Portland. Close to public transit. It’s right across the street from a small food truck pod.

Rooms have a microwave and small fridge. Breakfast is bad bagels & toast and fresh fruit.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

What we liked:
The motel is clean, comfortable and secure. The WiFi is strong. The rooms were basic, good sized and quiet. The water pressure unrestricted. Food carts right across the street, a few stayed open late. Located at PSU and near OHSU also near Max and trollies. Guaranteed late checkin any time during your reservation which was great as we were expected to arrive after 9pm. We booked online on the choice hotel website and got a better rate.

What we didn’t like:
The Parking fee took us by surprise. Note: There is on street parking on 4th street that is free after 7pm. The motel is located between max lines and trolley so the building shook when max and trolley goes but it did not keep us awake. Our room overlooked 4th street so there was some road noise. The 2nd floor doesn’t have an elevator -stairs only. Continental breakfast wasn’t ready when we left at 7:45. The breakfast is pretty minimal toast, bagels, a toaster couple pots of coffee some fruit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel has a great location but that is pretty all it has going for it.

The owner/manager will tack on various fees when you check in that are not clearly indicated at the time of booking - number of people in a room (even though booking showed 4 people occupancy), fee for parking. All these fees are added once you are at the desk and you cannot cancel your reservation.

Breakfast was cleaned up at 10 am - again no mention of this at check in.

The room was clean, smelled okay and had the basic amenities.

I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Aditya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews