We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a good place to stay when flying out of PDX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Portland Airport
Ranked #82 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stay here when we head out on a trip. We can leave the car for up to 14 days for free - of course, paying a bit more for the 'package'. The staff has always been friendly and welcoming. The breakfast crew, shuttle driver all professional and pleasant. The room and bathroom are always spotless, there is lots of hot water, the beds are comfy. Love the triple sheeting!
We never bother looking elsewhere. Its a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: get a room at the top, so the folks above you won't wake you when they start clog dancing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

We've stayed here a number of times on driving trips to Portland. It's comfortable, well furnished, decent free breakfast, free newspaper (The Oregonian), good rooms, nice pool and hot tub, functional workout room (though the universal gym was missing an attachment that rendered half the exercises unusable), free parking, etc. No, it's not a JW Marriott, but it's certainly not priced like their higher end properties either. The staff's always been friendly. There's a shuttle to the airport or Cascade Station TriMet red line. We travel to Portland a few times a year, and this has become our standard hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guildenstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I've stayed in this vicinity at other Marriott properties (they have more "brands" than General Motors did before the bankruptcy), and they were better, I don't think I really want to come here again, even though the rate was lower than a typical PDX Marriott stay.

For starters, the front desk seems to be unmanned a fair amount of the time, like when we checked in. You might have to wander around to hunt someone down. The room was clean, etc. but this property has the slippery half-pipe style of tub/shower, I wish they would at least give you a rubber mat to put down if you feel you need it. Water pressure was adequate, but not superb. The bath towels were not the larger, plusher, softer ones that I've become accustomed to on a Marriott or Hampton stay, but I guess you have to cross the $100/night barrier in order to expect that. Also, no blow dryer, the missus missed that.

Breakfast was typical, but what was annoying was the crowded feel of the breakfast area. There's some fancy lit-up table in the middle of the dining area, and the rest of the tables/chairs have been placed in such a way that you really can't get past people, and they're always brushing up as they pass, I kept worrying about getting whacked in the head by some swinging purse every time I took a swig of the (weak) coffee. There are only two visible points of entry to the breakfast foods/beverages, and if someone feels they really need to fully balance the cream/sugar ratio of their hot beverage at that counter, they'll plug up one of those entrances.

On the positive side, they did have a refrigerator in the room, which makes it convenient to keep your beverages cold, without having to walk to another floor for ice, if the ice machine is broken on your floor. But that's tonight's Marriott Fairfield review, and you can read it when I post it up. Also, there was no discernable aircraft noise until the next morning, but PDX is pretty dead most nights, and this was Thanksgiving, most who were going to travel for the holiday had probably made it by that point.

If you land here, it will be OK, but if you have some choices, you might want to check around first for rates and availability.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunter112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Portland airport has a strip of hotels nearby and SrpingHill Suites is one of them. It's a nice, well furnished place, convenient to services as well as the airport. Parking is a bit tight, but the property works very well for business travel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nampa_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We LOVED this hotel, it was clean and even had Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner. The bed and pillows were so comply. We slept like babies. We had a king suite. The only thing that was funky in the room no chest of drawers and tiny garbages. But not a real biggie for us. The shuttle took us to the cascade station and picked us up very quickly so we took the red line dwtn every day. very great light rail system. only five bucks per day. Friendly staff and yummy lollipops.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank K s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on the way to the coast. Checking in was fast and easy! Parking is free and the breakfast was great. The normal items (fruit, bagels, cereals) but also hot cooked eggs, sausage and waffle makers to make your own waffles. Nice selection! We got a deal we felt, $89 a night. Room was modern and clean - loved the ipod clock/dock! The couch wasn't that comfy but the desk and mini kitchenette were handy. Bed/pillows were very comfortable. Not a lot of drawers and closet felt cramped but we lived out of our suitcases for the short stay. Would recommend!

Would stay here again! Requested the top floor and it was super quiet except for people in the halls. Wifi worked but you had to login constantly (a pain.)

Not far is the Columbia River Gorge, for walking or running. Eateries within walking distance were Subway, a chinese restaurant and an american restaurant. Not that far a drive is Costco and Round Table Pizza.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, less street noise. If you would like fridge, request it when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

That's a direct quote from my husband and if he can't sleep in a hotel, it's LOUD. I'm a picky sleeper, but he is not and he got even less sleep than I did because I always travel with earplugs. Not that I got much, myself. I wish I had noted the traveler tip that said rooms ending in 1, 2, or 3 were noisy. We were in 403. To give them the benefit of the doubt, perhaps other rooms are quieter, but given all the design flaws we saw, we weren't willing to try another room. Also, the door slamming probably affects any room, which was one of the main issues.

We were swayed by the description of the rooms as being all suites and being 25% bigger than standard hotels. Well, the living area was huge, but it was largely empty, which made it an echo chamber. We joked that we should go to Target and buy a soccer ball. Anywhere where you'd want the space to be used - bathroom, dresser, closet, bar area - were all small. The "privacy" wall separating the living and sleeping areas was basically just the tiny bit of wall containing the closet. Didn't really keep out any light or sound from the other area. The TV was flatscreen, but a small one, and it was hung from a moveable arm on a bit of wall that would have provided a poor viewing position from either the bed or the sofa (it was 10-15 feet away from the sofa), we didn't even bother trying.

Since we weren't watching TV, we actually spent the night on our laptop looking for another place to stay as soon as we could leave in the morning. And this was BEFORE the night of nonstop noise. As soon as we came in after dinner, it was the door-slamming Olympics. My husband jokingly wondered if the hotel was actually picking up noises from nearby hotels - we couldn't figure out how there were that many people slamming and stomping around. Perhaps the people above us had gotten a Target soccer ball and decided to play from at least 2:00 a.m. until my husband couldn't stand it any more around, 8:00 a.m. Overall, from the time we got in the room to the time we left, there was maybe an hour of quiet. And the funny thing is - it wasn't airport noise, we didn't really notice that, it was the actual noise within the hotel.

Other disappointments:
- The mini fridge had no temperature control, so it barely cooled our pop. I wouldn't have wanted to keep actual food in there.
- The bathroom light was connected to the (unsurprisingly) extremely loud exhaust fan, so using the bathroom in the night meant even more noise.
- While the room was clean, the bathtub grout definitely had some dirty patches, including one quite large black patch that was off-putting.
- My husband found the bed okay, but I didn't find it up to hotel standards - it was maybe a notch above our 10 year-old mattress at home. Both of us agreed the pillows were flat and awful.
- Other reviewers are right about the parking, there's very little and it's hard to tell which is for this hotel.

I don't know when the building was originally built, but this hotel had the feel of an attempted rehab/modernization on the cheap. I will say I liked the colour scheme and the attempt at retro-cool design, but that's about it. Breakfast was standard hotel stuff, fine to get you started.

I think the staff must get a lot of people leaving in a hurry and probably complaints - the greeting when we checked in was professional enough but no zero warmth or eye contact. When we checked out, a different girl was professional but blank. She didn't ask how our stay was and when we added "Early" to "We're checking out" she just said, "Yes." She clearly could not have cared less.

We only have a few days in Portland for our vacation and had to spend our first one dragging ourselves around exhaustedly because of this hotel, not to mention the inconvenience of finding somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose any, if you can help it! If you must, try the other reviewer's tip about avoidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinylibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#48 of 144 in Portland
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Portland Airport

Address: 11922 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1078
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £93 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing