We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but no service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Portland Airport
Ranked #85 of 141 Hotels in Portland
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice but no service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

it is a nice and clean hotel , only 2 miles from the airport, breakfast is minimum, but the housekeeper just leave you paper toilet and tissue box at the bathroom and you have to install it yourself. Also the parking lot lighting does not turn on at night

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXSH, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Portland Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I am guessing you might have been parked on the west side of our building, which is not our parking lot. That lot belongs to the School District off next door to us and they turn off their lights a night. Sorry again for the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    96
    51
    25
    19
See reviews for
74
58
26
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
737 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is near the airport. Shuttle picks you up at the airport and will take you to the train. The hotel staff are AWESOME. The breakfast is good. Suprisingly, it was quiet even though it is near the airport. However, the rooms and furnishings are dated.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YearoftheRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXSH, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Portland Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
All of the rooms were completly remodeled in 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's a basic airport hotel. We had a king room on the Holiday Inn side--where the light was ALWAYS on. There was one TV in the middle of the room that had to be turned towards couch or bed, depending on where we were. The room was clean and very, very basic. Nice breakfast.

The room was a bit loud. We knew whether our neighbors were showering or bathing, flushing, brushing, etc. Could hear the planes taking off and landing. Par for the course at an airport hotel.

I would say this place was serviceable.

Portland, though. Loved it. The people are so friendly.

Room Tip: Do not pick the Holiday Inn side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjen141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXSH, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Portland Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Sorry for the TV location, I agree it is a complete design flaw in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I agree with recent reviewers; avoid this hotel if you can. I stayed there for one night after a flight delay put me in Portland later than I'd anticipated. After checking several other hotels that turned out to be full... I reluctantly agreed to take the jacuzzi suite at this one.

It did smell funky. There were nasty stains on the walls and the carpet. I was so tired, I didn't bother complaining, but I won't stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kmae2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXSH, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Portland Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Sorry to here you had a bad experence. Since your stay we have repaired or replaced the carpet in this room and few others due to messy guests that had stayed before you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Checked in and they had "upgraded" our room to a suite with a jacuzzi tub, entered the room and it smelled like bad body odor, carpet filthy, took some photos of red stains on carpet and blood on the wall, hair in bathroom......asked for another room and we took a different king room, again gross stains on the carpet but at least we didn't have the smell - couldn't wait to check out.
I think the upgrade was because they had given away our double queen reservation. Won't bother going back again, staff were nice enough but didn't make up for the gross experience.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AprilRahyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXSH, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Portland Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I am sorry our attempt at upgrading you failed miserably. That is never our intent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

this has been our hotel of choice when flying out of PDX for many years. Always clean, price incl. leaving a car for up to 14 days reasonable.

the lady in charge of breakfast and also driving the shuttle is super nice and professional.
We understand she works Monday through Friday.

this time, we stayed because of a medical appointment, which necessitated 2 overnights stays
the room was clean as usual, but there were small spots of black mold on the tub surround.

breakfast was ok, as far as the offerings. Fresh fruit addition is nice.

BUT: the weekend end crew was not up to the standards we had come to expect.
They did very little checking on the serving area, i.e. neatening up and refilling. We observed several people trying to get their attention ( in the area beyond the breakfast room, where they hung out.l) to get coffeepots refilled.
When it got close to 10 AM, the 'closing time", they did not refill fruit, eggs etc. , although people were still coming in around 9:45.
the area by the eggs and oatmeal by that time was messy, with spilled stuff and even on the floor.
We were just finishing our coffee when we observed one of the servers checking the overflowing trash bins, pushing stuff down with her BARE hands..... then going to the breakfast area to check things, touching the rolls, bagels... pushing them back .... with those same hands. That is not acceptable.!!

when we checked out, the manager was unavailable, no use talking to the person at the reception desk, as she had been hanging out in the area beyond the breakfast room with the servers several times...
I couldn't find a contact number for the manager, so had to air this via trip advisor.
I hope someone from the hotel reads it and takes action.

Room Tip: if you have elite status, don't expect to be automatically put in a better room. Ask for one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

First of all, on the shuttle ride from the airport, we discovered the same people own this Springhill Suite and the Holiday Inn Express next door, which another guest didn't know (who would?) and so she didn't get on the HIE shuttle and waited 45 minutes. Very poor communication to the customer. We stayed 5 nights before Xmas. Service was shoddy as described in other recent reviews. Pool was "out-of-order" for 3 days. Nice room decor but bathroom needs refreshing, I.e. Replace grout or caulk around bathtub/shower. Cheap plastic toilet seat kept coming off, if you can believe that! Maybe should stay at Holiday Inn Express as that's about the level of treatment/value I received, which is certainly not Marriott standards!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#47 of 141 in Portland
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Portland Airport

Property: SpringHill Suites Portland Airport
Address: 11922 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1078
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing