We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Quiet Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the front door. Couch on right and TV on left not shown in photo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the front door. Couch on right and TV on left not shown in photo.
Enjoy cool nights by the woodstove. Trundle style couch pulls out for extra bedding (queen size).. View from the backdoor. Kitchen on left, dining area on right not shown in photo.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
View from the front door. Couch on right and TV on left not shown in photo.
Enjoy cool nights by the woodstove. Trundle style couch pulls out for extra bedding (queen size)..
View from the backdoor. Kitchen on left, dining area on right not shown in photo.
Loft bedroom with wall to wall carpet, small dressers and drawers under bed for clothing.
Dining area. Washer and dryer behind curtain, next to french doors.
Fully equipped kitchen (counter/eating bar with stools opposite stove). Toaster and blender included
Bathroom with skylight, full length mirror, and dual flush toilet.
Private back area with propane grill in back of house.
Front of house
Photo of Mt Hood
Kitchen
Back patio
Back door
Bedroom window at back of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Portland, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
offthewal...
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Quiet Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I'm not a fan of traditional hotels so I always try to find a place that's a little bit unique or has a local flavour. We wanted a kitchen and this converted carriage house was a lucky find, so much more spacious than a hotel room with kitchenette. With its private entrance, dining room, laundry machines, huge skylights and loft bedroom it feels like it's own little house and the neighbourhood is so quiet, we had the windows open for a nice breeze. It is so much nicer to fall asleep to the sound of crickets than downtown traffic.

Not being familiar with Portland, we were a little worried about being outside of the downtown area. It's no problem. The transit here is fantastic and the #75 bus on NE 42nd is only a half block away. It takes us right to the light rail system and we have gone to many different areas of the city easily. And the 7-day transit pass is a great value at just $26. No need for taxis, rental cars or parking.

The owners were very nice. They supplied plenty of towels, coffee etc so we really didn't need to ask for anything. The kitchen was stocked with some basics like spices and cooking oil and tin foil which was great for Barbecuing. There was even laundry soap provided and it was great to be able to do our own laundry mid-week.

This is a quiet home-away-from-home and can accommodate more than 2 people making it a great value. If you want daily maid service, a cookie-cutter room and noisy traffic, stay downtown.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, private, great kitchen
Liked least: watch your head on the sloped ceilings in the loft bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david a
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cully Carriage House was amazing!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Cully Carriage House was perfect! The accommodations were exactly what my teen-age daughter and myself needed/wanted. The house was spotless and equipped with everything one would need to call it home for a few days. Very cozy! Dana, Eric, and the girls were friendly, inviting, and respected our privacy. The organic coffee they leave for the guests is wonderful, as is the chocolate bar. The back courtyard is wonderful for morning coffee. Say "hi" to the bluejay and make sure to pick some fresh blackberries. Although we didn't get an opportunity to use it, there is also a neat, wood-burning, fireplace.....if your there when it is chilly. Also, it located in a nice neighborhood.....close to Whole Foods, restaurants etc... All in All we could not have picked a better place to stay in our first trip to Portland. We created some special memories, and the Cully Carriage House was part of them. We highly recommend that you stay at the Reid's" little slice of heaven" on your next trip to Portland. David Anton August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage feel
Liked least: proximity of neighbors
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being Australian an Aussie loo ! Not used to the USA high tide toilets !!
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Taylor B
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis - Great place for a getaway.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My now wife and I honeymooned at the Cully Carriage house. Its quiet, clean and has a coded lock, allowing guests to come and go as they please without having to keep track of a key. This beautiful home is surrounded by flowers and lavender. I can't wait for our anniversery so we can stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fresh flowers and privacy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worlingworth UK
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BigBigAl
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“They thought of everything”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A nice user-friendly place. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed. A quiet location. Recently remodeled. pleasant and private outdoor area. Helpful owners. Best for a couple, not a large family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jak72tek
DeKalb, IL
1 review
“Comfortable spot at a good price.”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Cully Carriage House. It was comfortable and very clean and had been designed well by the pleasant young couple who own it. Coffee they supply was excellent and chocolate bars were a nice touch. Only drawback is loft bedroom which has no place to put clothes if you want to take them out of your suitcase. Would also be helpful to have a shelf in closet which is downstairs. We plan to return to this rental when we visit our family in Portland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and living room spaces
Liked least: Lack of a place to put clothes in loft bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;