We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as good as a hostel can be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friendly Bike Guest House
GreenLeadersGold level
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“as good as a hostel can be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

while doing a motorcycle trip round the u.s, both Portland hostels were fully booked. i tried this one as a long shot as i new it was mainly for cyclists. the owner, Chris was very accommodating for my motorbike - advising a sheltered area for it and even a kick stand! really clean, small and friendly. free laundry service, good quality beds and furnishings, modern quiet. in short, a good stay and good value at 36bucks.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertrudge44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'm a 22 year old Australian and I LOVED this place. Stayed here 4 nights and was blown away by the coziness and friendliness of Chris (the owner). With only 4 bunk beds it's certainly not a hostel, but for those looking for a peaceful, effortless stay in portland - this is the place. Highly recommended! - Sebastian

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oohbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just stayed here for a week with my husband and it was definitely the best hostel either of us have ever stayed in. Super clean, neat, and comfortable. It's in a good location for exploring Portland by bicycle. We stayed in the private room which has a bathroom right next to it which was nice. Chris was very friendly and approachable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hgwright .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Seven of us stayed here a couple of days ago and we loved it! The top floor has a kitchen, couches, bathroom and three bedrooms and it was fantastic having the whole space to ourselves. It's great being a little away from downtown Portland but there are still so many options for restaurants, cafes, cute shops and brew pubs nearby. The owner Chris was so friendly and helpful and had great restaurant tips and made sure that we were comfortable and well looked after. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to Portland!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klhughes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

my BF booked this place for us to stay during our birthday trip to the pacific northwest. because we are both cycling enthusiasts, we wanted to truly experience Portland ("bicycle capital") instead of just staying at a hotel. Chris, the owner, was super nice to us from the very start...everything from booking the place to being a great concierge the moment we arrived.

We were able to use their loaner bikes here, which helped save some money. they weren't the best bikes but they were doable and we got around on them without any issues. my BF did have a small mishap with one of the tubes on his bike, but Chris recommended a small little bike shop down the street where we could get a replacement tube. (that's another review).

The guesthouse is REALLY clean and totally upgraded. from the outside, it looks like any other cottage in the neighborhood but once you step inside, it's like stepping into ikea. we met a few of the other house guests staying there and they were all really nice. the bathrooms and kitchen were all kept really clean. we stayed in the private room near the kitchen, never had any issues with noise from other house guests. the weather got pretty cold but the wall heaters (which apparently are pretty common in the northwest) worked so well that it even got a bit too hot in our room.

Portland isn't very big and we were able to cruise on the loaner bikes up to Mt Tabor and into downtown (financial district) and into china town and pearl district all in one day. the location of the guesthouse is just perfect. it's a short distance to downtown, by short i mean either public transit or ride bikes. the block where the guesthouse is located has a good variety of eateries including a Hopworks Bike Bar (our favorite), a peruvian restaurant, deli, ice cream shop and a few other little places. there's also a REALLY good ethiopian restaurant just a short walk down the block too. if you want to walk a little further, go to Mississippi street (about a 10 min walk) and there's a strip of restaurants and shops including Amnesia Brewery.

we had a really nice stay here and highly recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gurltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Bike Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Bike Guest House

Property: Friendly Bike Guest House
Address: 4039 N Williams Ave, Portland, OR 97227-1446
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Portland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Bike Guest House provides cyclist oriented accommodations for individuals and groups in one of Portland's most Bike friendly close-in historic neighborhoods. Surrounded by numerous pubs, restaurants, farmers markets and nightspots on Williams Ave and the nearby Mississippi Ave and Alberta Arts District, Friendly Bike Guest House is ideally situated to explore the unique and eclectic community for which Portland is famous. Friendly Bike Guest House has become a respite from the road for numerous travelers from around the country and around the world. Although the facilities have been developed with cyclists needs in mind, many travelers arriving on transit or four wheels of their own have found comfort and camaraderie here in the center of Portland culture. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing