We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great plays in an intimate setting - discounts for preview audiences”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Artists Repertory Theatre
Ranked #166 of 448 things to do in Portland
Attraction details
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great plays in an intimate setting - discounts for preview audiences”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

WE have the season pass to all plays in the preview package. We get to see all the plays the day before they officially start. These are not stop and go performances, but fully staged productions. Twice we have been in the same row as the director, once with the production manager reviewing the show before premiere. Even got to make suggestions during intermission or at the end! You can change performances if necessary. Going to full regular scheduled productions will cost a little more. We have seen a number of world premieres and even two plays with Oscar winner William Hurt. Also, if you get the season package, you get a free parking voucher good for each show and a major discount! Plus, as you keep the subscription longer, you can improve your seating at no additional charge. We love where we are now at!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
734 reviews
354 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Artists Repertory Theatre”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have attended several programs at ART over many years. Generally they are quite good and well produced. The current show, Xmas Unplugged, is a sad exception. It is two, one-act plays and the first was so poor that I did not remain for the second. The actors were unable to speak loudly enough to be heard in the relatively small theatre. When they did speak it was to utter profanity that seemed to be purely for the sake of being profane. The play was very disappointing. If the tickets did not clearly state:"No Refunds," I would have asked for my money to be returned.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great regional theater”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

These guys are the Avis of Pacific Northwest theater--not the first, but trying harder. Inventive shows with strong repertory and visiting artists. Looking forward to the 2013-2014 season.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank W0X0F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Acoustics for Play”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The play we say had good acoustics and a general good view of the stage. Seats were comfortable and the theatre is convienently located in downtown.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 594PaulSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artists Repertory Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Artists Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing