We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch is fabulous”
Review of Tasty n Alder

Tasty n Alder
Ranked #5 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brunch is fabulous”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a popular place on Sunday mornings for brunch, and reservations are only taken for very large parties for dinner. After not being able to get in one week without a long wait, we arrived the next Sunday about 1/2 hour before they opened. We were the second group in line, and a long line that filled the restaurant formed quickly. The Whole Toad, a soft baked egg bread pudding, was outstanding and filling. My friend enjoyed the Pork Schnitzel​ with sunny side up egg, ham, havarti & mustard braised cabbage. Very busy place with close tables and an energetic pace.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AZgirl4092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    216
    54
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Unique Dishes, Treat for the Pallet and Fantastic Customer Service”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We ate breakfast for 2 hours. If you are in a hurry, slow down. This restaurant offers unique dishes served family style. We ordered too much but enjoyed every bite of it. The staff was very accommodating and attentive. I would come back to this popular restaurant often if I lived in Portland.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We came here after a long day on the road, and boy did we love it!
The tomatoes are delicious, but the salmon was better than anything I had ever tasted! Wow! This place is awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Abi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went with our family to Tasty and Alder on a Sunday around 6:00 and had an hour wait but it was well worth it. Everything we had was delicious. Food is very eclectic and imaginative. This was one of our best meals in Portland.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimkf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

What an interesting restaurant! It's not everyday where you can have a meal with Spanish, Korean, and German influences. For appetizers, we had potatoes brava, then for entrees, we had Korean fried chicken and kimchee and pork schnitzel. Everything was really good. Restaurant has big open windows so it was nice to sit inside but still have a breeze. Unique place not to pass up!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mu-Hung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasty n Alder also viewed

 

Been to Tasty n Alder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing