We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully delicious”

Nicholas' Restaurant
Ranked #137 of 4,268 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is the original Nicholas Restaurant location, serving authentic Lebanese food since 1986.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
294 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderfully delicious”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

There is no ambiance at Nicholas' Restaurant and you need to be willing to wait for a table since it is so popular. However, the wait is worth it. We ordered 3 different dishes and all of them were fabulous. The pita bread is huge (the size of a large pizza) and they are generous with it, if you want more. It is the best Middle Eastern restaurant I've been to outside of the Middle East.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    103
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not just kebabs”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Visiting Portland for the first time and craving for something not-fancy-different and not too far from our hotel at the Lloyd Center. The place was packed, including outdoor seating, on a Friday @7pm! Loved the Lamb Sampler, which paired well with a rosé, and the Lebanese salad. Will try this place at lunch before heading home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethY347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good food , good price, tacky atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nicholas’s Restaurant on SE Grand Ave. is a place I go back to over and over. It is a fall back kind of place where we’ll be shopping on the east side and it’s lunch time and we say “let’s just go to Nicholas’s” .

Firstly the food is good and served in nice portions. The Kibbah Snack is a favorite as is the Gyro and the Vegetarian Mezza with its Spinach Pie and Manakish, YUM! They always start you out with a flat bread and dip and the toughest part is not filling up too much.

The food there is reasonably priced although the prices have gone up these last years as they have become more well known and opened the other sites. A meal with a beverage will run $13-18ish (2014)

The restaurant itself is lacking. As you walk in the door the air conditioner drips on your head. If the restaurant is full you must wait outside, if it is afternoon you will be in full sun as there is a western exposure. The interior is well worn with stained fabric (don’t look too closely) stapled over padding for the bench backs, decorative tile missing and a hole or two in the wall board, wires duct tapped to ceiling beams and a less than tidy floor. If you sit near the back check your seat as the employees regularly use the back two chairs to stand on to reach things in the food area.

The staff is nice and has always been friendly even when busy. If they are crowded it can be a bit slow but that is only because of the volume, they work pretty fast.

The parking is street parking, Grand has meters but the side street is free.

Over all I would say the food is yummy and a good deal served in a tacky place. I go back time and again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank red_sh0es2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something Different to try”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family and I wanted to try something different than our normal restaurant pick. We did a quick search using the tripadvisor search app. Wow this app is great! We found Nicholas about 8 miles away and decided based on review to give it a go.
We drove by it the first time and easily parked and walked to it the 2nd time (it is right by Andy and Bax...a Portland fun favorite itself). This was a great place to eat and the food was what we were looking for. My daughter loved the large bread/pita that they brought out and set at our table. Food was delivered fast and was tasty.
We will eat here again. I recommend this as a try for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene, OR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Fun setting. Take a friend and a cooler.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have eaten here with our younger son, and with friends. Middle eastern, starting with huge wedges of pita 16 inches across. Add several mixtures to dip into, starting with hummus.

Portions are huge; share or be prepared to take some home. Several varieties of lamb, or mixed dish platters.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauthenticmovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicholas' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nicholas' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing