We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot”
Review of Piazza Italia

Piazza Italia
Ranked #92 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Pearl
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
292 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

At lunch, there's not the long dinner wait. For lunch, I think it's a good value though pricier than a typical lunch. The food is authentic and delicious. The service is good and the atmosphere is very quaint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    95
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Crowded Italian Restaurant Still Serves Up a Great Meal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at a packed Piazza Italia a little after seven on a weeknight without a reservation. All of the outside tables were taken, but we were able to be seated immediately at a table right by the bar, so close in fact that I was looking over my shoulder constantly when waiters came for drinks in fear that one would inevitably find itself spilling on me. That didn't happen, but a wayward falling spoon did strike me a glancing blow. That said, I would still take the table again rather than wait to get seated, although some would not.

I think the relatively crowded table set-up makes Piazza Italia a less than perfect romantic dinner spot, but if you're not planning to propose and you just want a fun place to spend some time together, enjoy the buzz of a lively crowd and eat some really good Italian food, this is a good bet. In effect, if you're inside it's an Italian sports bar/restaurant with a soccer jersey theme and big screen televisions.

The food was really good. We started by sharing the Bruschetta Monferrina, which had a delicious mushroom, pancetta and cheese topping. One serving (six pieces) is more than enough for two people about to order main dishes. Somewhat strangely for an Italian restaurant, Spaghetti and Meatballs was the daily special, so I had it and it was very nice if not spectacular. My wife ordered the Pappardelle al Cinghiale (wild boar meat sauce) and was absolutely delighted. Her serving was huge and she couldn't finish it, but that's what I'm there for. When we return to Piazza Italia, I will order this dish.

We ordered a carafe of the house red, which was a Sangiovese and we enjoyed it too. The dessert menu looked tempting, but we were both completely full.

This felt like one of those dependable restaurants that people return to again and again. It delivers unpretentious good value and great food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flynn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family recently visited Oregon and ate at this restaurant as a walk in. It was so good that we went again at the end of our trip. We live in the NYC metropolitan area which has a lot of great Italian restaurants. We loved this one so much that I was compelled to write.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernAtHeart2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
455 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a relaxed setting”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The food is really good and the prices are hard to beat. Our waiter did a great job and the people watching on the tables outside was quite something

I took a client here and we were both impressed with how effortlessly the staff performed. The food service is not fast but definitely worth the wait..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great balance of delicious food, pleasant service, and comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was here with a group of 10 people in July. Wonderful and helpful service. Menu selections from comfort Italian done right with fresh ingredients to gourmet specials that showcase the creativity and blend of flavors of the chef. It's a small spot with an atmosphere that can serve a romantic dinner for two as easily as a group of 10. Don't miss the ceiling decorations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazza Italia also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing